Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2012, 10:22 PM   #1
unoplayer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Boot Camp Installation - Boot from Windows or EFI?

Boot Camp Assistant took a long time partitioning my hard drive, so I took a shower and when I came back, there was a black screen with a horizontal flashing cursor. I shut down my Mac by holding the power button.

Now I want to install Windows but do not know where to boot from. When I hold the option key at startup, I am given two boot options from my DVD, EFI or Windows. Which one do I select?
unoplayer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 12:25 AM   #2
Fishcake21
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by unoplayer View Post
Boot Camp Assistant took a long time partitioning my hard drive, so I took a shower and when I came back, there was a black screen with a horizontal flashing cursor. I shut down my Mac by holding the power button.

Now I want to install Windows but do not know where to boot from. When I hold the option key at startup, I am given two boot options from my DVD, EFI or Windows. Which one do I select?
Chances are you have an older macbook pro that doesn't support the new EFI standard boots that the Windows 7 discs now have installed.
There are 2 ways to fix this, see if you can grab an older version of windows 7 installation disc (before the Sp1), or using another Windows machine and imgburn you have to do some file modification and install boot loader.

I forgot how to do it though
Fishcake21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 09:04 AM   #3
arjen92
macrumors 65816
 
arjen92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Below sea level
Uhm, wouldn't it be logical to select "windows" if you want to install Windows 7?
__________________
i7, 16GB RAM, 4TB RAID, GTX660 | Macbook Pro 2010
arjen92 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 05:43 AM   #4
Bloodsmasher
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Australia
Whenever something stuffs up, I'll clear the PRAM (Command, Option, P, R). Then when it restarts hold down option to go to the boot menu and choose the WIndows external device. Proceed with setup.
Bloodsmasher is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot Camp problem simon360 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 16 Mar 6, 2013 07:04 PM
Early 2008 Mac Pro Overheating in Windows XP from SWTOR? atthesing Mac Pro 29 Jan 18, 2012 12:42 PM
Boot Camp Assistant makes my Mac crash horace528 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Sep 2, 2011 08:24 AM
Windows 7 boot camp installation - ~14 gigs!?!? thesmoth MacBook Pro 9 Jul 11, 2009 06:48 PM
Boot camp installed but can't install windows gman777 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 18 Jun 16, 2006 04:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC