Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Old Jan 17, 2012, 05:29 AM   #1
cs.iris
macrumors newbie

converting Java to Objective-C

Hello
I am a student that is currently converting a java program into Objective-C. It was kinda hard, but I need to do it to pass my subject. I have a little problem regarding the ".add" of Java. I read a lot of posts and books just to understand it. But I still have a hard time understanding. I would like to check if what I did was correct and if someone can lend me a hand in converting. Help please? thanks.

Here is the java code:
Code:
ArrayList cid = new ArrayList();
ArrayList sid = new ArrayList();
ArrayList<String> sol = new ArrayList<String>();

public mainProgram() {
initComponents(); //.add (cartesian product principle)
sid.add("sink");
cid.add("1 /x");
here is my solution in objective-c:
Code:
NSArray *cid = [[NSArray alloc]init];
NSArray *sid = [[NSArray alloc]init];
NSMutableArray *sol = [[NSMutableArray array];
(my first trial in .add) cid addObject: @"1/x"; -----but it shows an error: "Expected ';' before 'addObject'"
(the other trial is) [sid addObject: @"sink"]; -------but it also shows an error:
"Local declaration of sid hides instance variable"
"NSArray may not respond to '-addObject'."

Last edited by robbieduncan; Jan 17, 2012 at 05:50 AM. Reason: Use code tags not italic tags
cs.iris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2012, 05:48 AM   #2
jiminaus
macrumors 65816

We will not do homework/assignments for you. So don't expect anyone to give you an explicit, straight-up answer here. However do expect people to help you understand enough for you to be able to do it yourself.

Let's start of with two thing.

Firstly, what the difference between NSArray and NSMutableArray? If you don't know, check out the class references at http://developer.apple.com/library/m.../NSArray_Class and http://developer.apple.com/library/m...bleArray_Class.