Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 20, 2012, 03:48 PM   #1
Tee2eye
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
4S Jailbreak: NO Phone Icon , No Service

Alright, Im on a VZW 32gb 4S, and jailbroke about an hour ago using the OSX method. Everything was working fine, I even made a few calls AFTER the jailbreak.

I tried installing SBsettings, and tried messing with adding it to the Notificnation Center, and all of a sudden I didnt have any service. Went to the homescreen, and noticed that my Phone app is not there anymore.

Can anyone tell me whats wrong? I didnt backup, should I just go through the Jailbreak process again?
__________________
'11 MBP 15" i7 2.0GHz, 8GB ram / iPhone 4S 32GB, White. VZW / Canon T2i gripped, 18-55mm, 50mm, 55-250mm, 70-150mm
YouTube / SUBSCRIBE!
FlickR
Tee2eye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 03:51 PM   #2
jredecop
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tee2eye View Post
Alright, Im on a VZW 32gb 4S, and jailbroke about an hour ago using the OSX method. Everything was working fine, I even made a few calls AFTER the jailbreak.

I tried installing SBsettings, and tried messing with adding it to the Notificnation Center, and all of a sudden I didnt have any service. Went to the homescreen, and noticed that my Phone app is not there anymore.

Can anyone tell me whats wrong? I didnt backup, should I just go through the Jailbreak process again?
Seems to be a common problem. Mine did it too. I restored and it's all fine now. Using intelliscreenx though. I heard that resetting network settings fixes it. But don't use sbsettings again.

Edit...I set up as new phone.
jredecop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 03:56 PM   #3
Tee2eye
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jredecop View Post
Seems to be a common problem. Mine did it too. I restored and it's all fine now. Using intelliscreenx though. I heard that resetting network settings fixes it. But don't use sbsettings again.

Edit...I set up as new phone.
GOT THE PHONE APP BACK, it was simply disabled in Springtomized2's Capabilities section, but I still have no service?

If I go and re;jailbreak, will I lose info? How do I go about doing it? Just plug the phone in and click Jailbreak again or is there a certain process?
__________________
'11 MBP 15" i7 2.0GHz, 8GB ram / iPhone 4S 32GB, White. VZW / Canon T2i gripped, 18-55mm, 50mm, 55-250mm, 70-150mm
YouTube / SUBSCRIBE!
FlickR
Tee2eye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 03:59 PM   #4
menotiko
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reboot
menotiko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 04:00 PM   #5
Tee2eye
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by menotiko View Post
Reboot
Did multiple times, just tried to Reset Network Settings and there still 'No Service'.

Should I re-JB?
__________________
'11 MBP 15" i7 2.0GHz, 8GB ram / iPhone 4S 32GB, White. VZW / Canon T2i gripped, 18-55mm, 50mm, 55-250mm, 70-150mm
YouTube / SUBSCRIBE!
FlickR
Tee2eye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 04:00 PM   #6
M Quick
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tee2eye View Post
GOT THE PHONE APP BACK, it was simply disabled in Springtomized2's Capabilities section, but I still have no service?

If I go and re;jailbreak, will I lose info? How do I go about doing it? Just plug the phone in and click Jailbreak again or is there a certain process?
As you didn't backup prior to first jailbreak, then you have put yourself in a dilemma.. Because if you do a backup now, it will be worthless as in being used as a backup to restore your files, as it will give you the same problem as you are experiencing atm, but it will get all your files back. I'm sure there is a way to save whatever you want to, so i'd advice to google for solutions depending on what kind of files you are looking to save..
__________________
Black/Spacegrey iPhone 5S 16GB - iOS7.0.4 JB
RIP Steve Jobs 1955-2011
M Quick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 04:04 PM   #7
Tee2eye
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Quick View Post
As you didn't backup prior to first jailbreak, then you have put yourself in a dilemma.. Because if you do a backup now, it will be worthless as in being used as a backup to restore your files, as it will give you the same problem as you are experiencing atm, but it will get all your files back. I'm sure there is a way to save whatever you want to, so i'd advice to google for solutions depending on what kind of files you are looking to save..
Well, the only things it will save is Photos, Apps, and thats it right? I can save the photos, and always re-download the apps right?

I see everyone else re-JBing, can I do it? And how do I do it?
__________________
'11 MBP 15" i7 2.0GHz, 8GB ram / iPhone 4S 32GB, White. VZW / Canon T2i gripped, 18-55mm, 50mm, 55-250mm, 70-150mm
YouTube / SUBSCRIBE!
FlickR
Tee2eye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 04:11 PM   #8
Europa13
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tee2eye View Post
Well, the only things it will save is Photos, Apps, and thats it right? I can save the photos, and always re-download the apps right?

I see everyone else re-JBing, can I do it? And how do I do it?
Everything is saved in the backup (contacts, media, settings, game saves, etc.).

Your apps are still in iTunes on the computer. You simply sync them back on after a restore to factory settings.
Europa13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 04:15 PM   #9
Tee2eye
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Europa13 View Post
Everything is saved in the backup (contacts, media, settings, game saves, etc.).

Your apps are still in iTunes on the computer. You simply sync them back on after a restore to factory settings.
My contacts are linked with my gMail account, so those will be saved correct?

I NEED to use my phone, like NOW. Can someone help me out with re-JBing? Why, if I re-JB, does it erase data, when I originally JB it didnt delete any data?
__________________
'11 MBP 15" i7 2.0GHz, 8GB ram / iPhone 4S 32GB, White. VZW / Canon T2i gripped, 18-55mm, 50mm, 55-250mm, 70-150mm
YouTube / SUBSCRIBE!
FlickR
Tee2eye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 04:28 PM   #10
Europa13
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tee2eye View Post
My contacts are linked with my gMail account, so those will be saved correct?

I NEED to use my phone, like NOW. Can someone help me out with re-JBing? Why, if I re-JB, does it erase data, when I originally JB it didnt delete any data?
Yes, your contacts that are backed up in your Gmail account can be synced back on. Rejailbreaking doesn't erase data; restoring to factory settings does. If you are experiencing problems due to the jailbreak, you'll need to restore and then rejailbreak. This is why it's important to do an iTunes/iCloud backup prior to jailbreaking.

Can you access the phone app with Spotlight? Maybe it's just hidden.
Europa13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 05:00 PM   #11
Tee2eye
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Europa13 View Post
Yes, your contacts that are backed up in your Gmail account can be synced back on. Rejailbreaking doesn't erase data; restoring to factory settings does. If you are experiencing problems due to the jailbreak, you'll need to restore and then rejailbreak. This is why it's important to do an iTunes/iCloud backup prior to jailbreaking.

Can you access the phone app with Spotlight? Maybe it's just hidden.
I found the Phone app, it was disabled in Springtomization2.

My problem is that I have NO SERVICE. How can I fix this?
__________________
'11 MBP 15" i7 2.0GHz, 8GB ram / iPhone 4S 32GB, White. VZW / Canon T2i gripped, 18-55mm, 50mm, 55-250mm, 70-150mm
YouTube / SUBSCRIBE!
FlickR
Tee2eye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 05:10 PM   #12
jredecop
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tee2eye View Post
Did multiple times, just tried to Reset Network Settings and there still 'No Service'.

Should I re-JB?
That is really weird. That has fixed it for most. Did you uninstall sbsettings and try resetting network settings after that?
jredecop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 05:14 PM   #13
sddabrow
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
No service for me too.. on Sprint.

Seemed to happen after installing SBSettings and then toggling the "3G" tab. Not sure.

I am restoring now and will try to re-jailbreak.
sddabrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 05:14 PM   #14
Tee2eye
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jredecop View Post
That is really weird. That has fixed it for most. Did you uninstall sbsettings and try resetting network settings after that?
Yup, just tried it again in fact, no go. AGHHHHHH I need to use my phone! What should I do? I didnt do a backup, so would Restore to Factory Settings work? And then Re-JB?
__________________
'11 MBP 15" i7 2.0GHz, 8GB ram / iPhone 4S 32GB, White. VZW / Canon T2i gripped, 18-55mm, 50mm, 55-250mm, 70-150mm
YouTube / SUBSCRIBE!
FlickR
Tee2eye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 05:23 PM   #15
jredecop
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by sddabrow View Post
No service for me too.. on Sprint.

Seemed to happen after installing SBSettings and then toggling the "3G" tab. Not sure.

I am restoring now and will try to re-jailbreak.
This must be a CDMA iPhone 4s thing. That's what broke mine as well. Except with intelliscreenx. After a restore as new and reinstalling intelliscreenx, it works fine! Note though the first time it broke I did have sbsettings installed as well playing with both. I never did the reset network settings thing though cause I didn't know. I just restored my phone and rejailbroke.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tee2eye View Post
Yup, just tried it again in fact, no go. AGHHHHHH I need to use my phone! What should I do? I didnt do a backup, so would Restore to Factory Settings work? And then Re-JB?
You will need to restore and set up as new. Just sync all your photos with iPhoto. You cannot restore from backup unless you did a backup before this all happened.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sddabrow View Post
No service for me too.. on Sprint.

Seemed to happen after installing SBSettings and then toggling the "3G" tab. Not sure.

I am restoring now and will try to re-jailbreak.
Did you try resetting network settings before you did the restore?
jredecop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 05:26 PM   #16
sddabrow
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jredecop View Post
This must be a CDMA iPhone 4s thing. That's what broke mine as well. Except with intelliscreenx. After a restore as new and reinstalling intelliscreenx, it works fine! Note though the first time it broke I did have sbsettings installed as well playing with both. I never did the reset network settings thing though cause I didn't know. I just restored my phone and rejailbroke.

----------



You will need to restore and set up as new. Just sync all your photos with iPhoto. You cannot restore from backup unless you did a backup before this all happened.

----------



Did you try resetting network settings before you did the restore?
I did try resetting network settings and no go. Of course.. I backed it up.. but now it can't find my back up.. weird things always seem to come my way lol
sddabrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 05:30 PM   #17
jredecop
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by sddabrow View Post
I did try resetting network settings and no go. Of course.. I backed it up.. but now it can't find my back up.. weird things always seem to come my way lol
Hey happened to me to. I was impatient with waiting for the restore from my backup and unplugged my phone just to see if my signal was back and that ruined my backup! Oh well.
jredecop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 05:35 PM   #18
Tee2eye
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Well, DLing 5.0.1 and restoring through iTunes. Hope this works
__________________
'11 MBP 15" i7 2.0GHz, 8GB ram / iPhone 4S 32GB, White. VZW / Canon T2i gripped, 18-55mm, 50mm, 55-250mm, 70-150mm
YouTube / SUBSCRIBE!
FlickR
Tee2eye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 05:38 PM   #19
sddabrow
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jredecop View Post
Hey happened to me to. I was impatient with waiting for the restore from my backup and unplugged my phone just to see if my signal was back and that ruined my backup! Oh well.
Yeah.. I thought I backed it up.. but maybe it didnt complete?

Just a pain to put all my email addresses, apps, and the settings back to where it was.

Oh well..I will hold off on the JB until this no service thing gets fixed.
sddabrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 05:56 PM   #20
0r30
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
same thing happened to my 4s it went under "no service" after toggling the 3g the problem occured . I reset the network settings then turned off Voice roaming and data roaming and cellular data. then turned them back on and had service back up and running.
__________________
rMBP 15"
Ipad 1 64GB 3G Jailbroken
Iphone 5s 64gb
0r30 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 06:07 PM   #21
pjvedder
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Phone Needs Activation

Tee2eye... this happened to me as well, soon after I installed SBSettings. I did a full restore to factory settings, and nothing. Didn't work. A friend then told me to try calling *228, which brings you to Verizon's automated phone activation service. After you hit 1 to activate, it will put you on hold and activate your phone again. It took a little while after I got off the phone, but eventually you'll get a message saying your phone was activated. Please note I haven't tried this yet WHILE I was jailbroken, but I did it after my factory settings were restored.. either way, it worked and got my phone service back. Pretty scary though for the few hours I was down...

Hope this helps!
pjvedder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 08:47 PM   #22
Tommywalton
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Moon lake mississippi
Same thing as above. I toggled off cell data, voice, data roaming and service returned. Then cydia was stuck and would not open. Reboot fixed that
Tommywalton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 09:15 PM   #23
smiffer55
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Thank you. Your fix worked for me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0r30 View Post
same thing happened to my 4s it went under "no service" after toggling the 3g the problem occured . I reset the network settings then turned off Voice roaming and data roaming and cellular data. then turned them back on and had service back up and running.
smiffer55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 11:36 AM   #24
Iphone4Swag
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
This works! Read and your problem will be solved

Thank you, this was the only thing that worked as I did not want to be at work until 7pm without any service! READ and magic will happen. Thanks again!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0r30 View Post
same thing happened to my 4s it went under "no service" after toggling the 3g the problem occured . I reset the network settings then turned off Voice roaming and data roaming and cellular data. then turned them back on and had service back up and running.
Iphone4Swag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 01:28 PM   #25
adamant628
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0r30 View Post
same thing happened to my 4s it went under "no service" after toggling the 3g the problem occured . I reset the network settings then turned off Voice roaming and data roaming and cellular data. then turned them back on and had service back up and running.

This fix worked for me! Thanks, I'd already restored once, then reinstalled SBSettings and did it again.

I used it several times before toggling the 3G button the first time, so it was very tough to narrow down what I had done to mess things up. Resetting network settings didn't do it by itself, but toggling the cellular data and roaming worked!

I tried to replicate it again, and simply toggling the cellular data and voice roaming buttons was sufficient. Resetting network settings was not necessary.

Last edited by adamant628; Jan 21, 2012 at 01:40 PM.
adamant628 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iOS 5 location services Problem Macgeeza iOS 5 and earlier 11 Sep 12, 2013 03:40 AM
I'm officially pissed off (old phone has no service, new iPhone 4S is a brick) bollweevil iPhone 11 Oct 15, 2011 07:38 PM
Do you think Apple.com will release a factory unlocked iPhone 4S? iSari iPhone 2 Oct 5, 2011 02:36 PM
itouch location services... HOW? bevhoward iPod touch 2 May 12, 2011 12:54 PM
Restored and jailbroke and now my phone has no service, Help Please acidraindrop Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Apr 11, 2011 08:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC