Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 1, 2012, 01:20 AM   #1
peteullo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scranton, PA
HELP: OS X Installation Issues / Kernel Panic on iMac G4

I've been trying to do a fresh install on an iMac g4 700mhz I just picked up. I had problems getting the install to take on the system no matter what I do. I have formatted the drive, used new ones etc.

Basically whether tried to install Panther or Tiger I constantly get a failure about 20 minutes into the process and it asks me to try reinstalling again. Tried about 15 times and same thing every time.

I am now getting a kernel panic when trying to boot.. Here is the picture attached.

I have reset the PRAM/NVRAM and repaired the disk. I'm starting to pull my hair out Any help would be appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2345.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	841.8 KB
ID:	322482  
__________________
Macbook Pro w/ Retina Display 2012
iPhone 5S
iPad Air 128GB w/ LTE
peteullo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2012, 02:49 AM   #2
tom vilsack
macrumors 68000
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
-you replaced the harddrive?

im gonna rule out that there grey disks (and both panther and tiger are retail?) as your getting 20 min into install

when you first got G4 did it boot to osx np?

alot of kernel panics are because of bad ram or harddrives

more info plse
tom vilsack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2012, 07:50 AM   #3
peteullo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scranton, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom vilsack View Post
-you replaced the harddrive?

im gonna rule out that there grey disks (and both panther and tiger are retail?) as your getting 20 min into install

when you first got G4 did it boot to osx np?

alot of kernel panics are because of bad ram or harddrives

more info plse

I am going to have to assume ram then.. The OS X disks are not retail but they have been used recently on other systems(Power Mac G4 & iBook G3) with zero issues.

I'm pretty sure the previous owner left the original ram in there which was 128mb on the logic board and There was a 512mb stick in the user accessible slot. I didn't have luck when removing the 512mb and leaving the 128mb.

My next questions is: Can you leave the ram slot on the logic board empty and have ram inserted in the user accessible slot? Will this work or not?
__________________
Macbook Pro w/ Retina Display 2012
iPhone 5S
iPad Air 128GB w/ LTE
peteullo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2012, 10:23 AM   #4
MAC MAN JW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buffalo,Ny
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by peteullo View Post
The OS X disks are not retail but they have been used recently on other systems(Power Mac G4 & iBook G3) with zero issues.
This Disc will not work with your iMac g4 being it said "unable to find driver for this platform" This means that the disc does not have the drivers for your imac G4. You will have to Get a retail Tiger Disc Or if you use LeopardAssist You can install Leopard if you have 512MB Ram i am almost 100% sure it is your install disc. just because it works on one G4 does not mean it will work on every one
__________________
MacBook Pro 2010 i5 15in Mavericks (Waiting For It To Come In The Mail), PowerMac G5 Dual 2 GHz,4Gb Ram,1+TB storage Leopard,iPhone 4S Verizon
MAC MAN JW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2012, 10:50 AM   #5
peteullo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scranton, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAC MAN JW View Post
This Disc will not work with your iMac g4 being it said "unable to find driver for this platform" This means that the disc does not have the drivers for your imac G4. You will have to Get a retail Tiger Disc Or if you use LeopardAssist You can install Leopard if you have 512MB Ram i am almost 100% sure it is your install disc. just because it works on one G4 does not mean it will work on every one
I used this same install disc just yesterday on a iBook G3 though. But will leopard take? I have the ram and I have a retail copy of Leopard.
__________________
Macbook Pro w/ Retina Display 2012
iPhone 5S
iPad Air 128GB w/ LTE
peteullo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2012, 12:18 PM   #6
MAC MAN JW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buffalo,Ny
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by peteullo View Post
I used this same install disc just yesterday on a iBook G3 though. But will leopard take? I have the ram and I have a retail copy of Leopard.
Yes, Leopard will work but only with this trick http://lowendmac.com/osx/leopard/openfirmware.html Leopard needs a G4 867+ CPU but this hack makes it think that it is 867MHz+ LeopardAssist won't work With out os x 10.2+ installed so you will have try what is in the link if you want leopard to work Why the disc did not work is that it does not have the drivers for "PowerMac 4,2" that is your iMac G4. It most have had some drivers for the ibook g3 and powermac g4 but not the imac. Let us know how the install goes
__________________
MacBook Pro 2010 i5 15in Mavericks (Waiting For It To Come In The Mail), PowerMac G5 Dual 2 GHz,4Gb Ram,1+TB storage Leopard,iPhone 4S Verizon
MAC MAN JW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2012, 03:56 PM   #7
minifridge1138
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I got that same error using a restore disk from an intel mac on my PowerPC G4 iMac.

If it was simply from the wrong model, it should make it much further in the install and fail after you select the language.

Since you have a PowerMac G4, just put the iMac in target Disk mode, connect a firewire cable, and boot the PowerMac off of the disk. Install onto the target disk.



Good luck!!!
minifridge1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2012, 06:17 PM   #8
peteullo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scranton, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAC MAN JW View Post
Yes, Leopard will work but only with this trick http://lowendmac.com/osx/leopard/openfirmware.html Leopard needs a G4 867+ CPU but this hack makes it think that it is 867MHz+ LeopardAssist won't work With out os x 10.2+ installed so you will have try what is in the link if you want leopard to work Why the disc did not work is that it does not have the drivers for "PowerMac 4,2" that is your iMac G4. It most have had some drivers for the ibook g3 and powermac g4 but not the imac. Let us know how the install goes
Trying it out now.. Thanks for the help!
__________________
Macbook Pro w/ Retina Display 2012
iPhone 5S
iPad Air 128GB w/ LTE
peteullo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2012, 07:21 PM   #9
MAC MAN JW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buffalo,Ny
Quote:
Originally Posted by peteullo View Post
Trying it out now.. Thanks for the help!
Let us know how the install goes
__________________
MacBook Pro 2010 i5 15in Mavericks (Waiting For It To Come In The Mail), PowerMac G5 Dual 2 GHz,4Gb Ram,1+TB storage Leopard,iPhone 4S Verizon
MAC MAN JW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2012, 09:10 PM   #10
peteullo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scranton, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAC MAN JW View Post
Let us know how the install goes
Didn't go well.. No kernel panics but I keep getting the message that shows in the background of the kernel panic. "You need to restart your computer"

I think that method won't work for me because the drive in the iMac seems to be a cd-rom and the Leopard install I have is a DVD. I was using an external drive so that script doesn't seem to work with that. Is there a script that is meant for an external?
__________________
Macbook Pro w/ Retina Display 2012
iPhone 5S
iPad Air 128GB w/ LTE
peteullo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2012, 10:50 PM   #11
MAC MAN JW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buffalo,Ny
Quote:
Originally Posted by peteullo View Post
Didn't go well.. No kernel panics but I keep getting the message that shows in the background of the kernel panic. "You need to restart your computer"
That is a kernel panic as well

Quote:
Originally Posted by peteullo View Post
I think that method won't work for me because the drive in the iMac seems to be a cd-rom and the Leopard install I have is a DVD. I was using an external drive so that script doesn't seem to work with that. Is there a script that is meant for an external ?
Is it a USB or FireWire external DVD Drive? USB dvd drivers don't work well with powerpc macs.
__________________
MacBook Pro 2010 i5 15in Mavericks (Waiting For It To Come In The Mail), PowerMac G5 Dual 2 GHz,4Gb Ram,1+TB storage Leopard,iPhone 4S Verizon
MAC MAN JW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2012, 11:07 PM   #12
minifridge1138
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Did you try target disk mode?
minifridge1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 02:34 PM   #13
HookedonHD
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Help!!!

I have the same screen on my mid 2011 iMac (i5 cpu) 27". I was just googling my error and it took me here. Last night I upgraded my 1tb hd to a 2tb and I also installed a patriot pyro 120gb ssd drive. I have snow leopard 10.6.6 and every time I put the disc in and hold down the "C" key I get a cpu not supported error on the screen just like the one shown above. Any help getting snow installed would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!
HookedonHD is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac Kernel Panic nsnodgrass73 iMac 5 Oct 24, 2013 09:20 PM
Kernel Panic after Mountain Lion attempted installation? chamomile1800 MacBook Pro 2 Aug 21, 2012 08:32 PM
Kernel Panic after installation of 10.8 Killerbob OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 7 Aug 17, 2012 07:41 PM
Frequent Kernel Panic at startup after ML installation? ijha OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Aug 6, 2012 09:51 AM
iMac kernel panic Ver.bal iMac 4 Jul 30, 2012 09:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC