Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 5, 2012, 02:56 PM   #1
azm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
using iphone with no data plan?

I've used a 3gs from july 2010-august 2011 without any data plan on at&t. had just bought it from craigslist and was using it just fine. After that i upgraded to the Iphone 4S and gave my old iphone to my mom. She used it from oct-dec 2011 without data. However, last month at&t added data plan and its been a hassle for me to get it removed ever since. One rep said if the phone didn't use data the plan wouldn't be re-added and another rep said that if they system saw any smartphone it would automatically add. So I had to have them add another imei and remove the plan.

Has anyone else successfully used an iphone without data plan? If so do you have any tips for me?

I don't mind paying for data, but its just a waste bc my mom will never use it at all. She doesn't even use it on wifi.
azm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 02:59 PM   #2
andyx3x
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by azm View Post
I've used a 3gs from july 2010-august 2011 without any data plan on at&t. had just bought it from craigslist and was using it just fine. After that i upgraded to the Iphone 4S and gave my old iphone to my mom. She used it from oct-dec 2011 without data. However, last month at&t added data plan and its been a hassle for me to get it removed ever since. One rep said if the phone didn't use data the plan wouldn't be re-added and another rep said that if they system saw any smartphone it would automatically add. So I had to have them add another imei and remove the plan.

Has anyone else successfully used an iphone without data plan? If so do you have any tips for me?

I don't mind paying for data, but its just a waste bc my mom will never use it at all. She doesn't even use it on wifi.
I always thought you had to have a data plan with the iPhone. How did you get around it?
andyx3x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 03:02 PM   #3
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
The easiest option might be to switch to another carrier that doesn't force a data plan upon you. When you switch these days they let you keep your original number, and a new SIM only costs $20 or so
mrsir2009 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 03:05 PM   #4
lordofthereef
macrumors 603
 
lordofthereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Everyone's mileage varies on this. Some people are able to get away with using the smartphone, some are not. What I have heard is you usually get a text stating you need to be on a data plan. After that, the will just put you on the cheapest one, if ignored. I know people that used the $20 iPhone 2G data plan with their 3G devices for months before it switched over. In all cases, that I am aware of, it did eventually switch over.
lordofthereef is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 03:05 PM   #5
azm
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyx3x View Post
I always thought you had to have a data plan with the iPhone. How did you get around it?
Well i always kept 3g and data disabled on the phone. the at&t website would show i had an iphone but it never automatically added the plan. What I don't understand is why it added it now after 1.5 years to my account.
azm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 03:06 PM   #6
lordofthereef
macrumors 603
 
lordofthereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by azm View Post
What I don't understand is why it added it now after 1.5 years to my account.
This is what is supposed to happen. Honestly, the fact that you had it 1.5 years is pretty pehenomenal if you ask me. That's got to be a record, or close!
lordofthereef is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 03:07 PM   #7
azm
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordofthereef View Post
Everyone's mileage varies on this. Some people are able to get away with using the smartphone, some are not. What I have heard is you usually get a text stating you need to be on a data plan. After that, the will just put you on the cheapest one, if ignored. I know people that used the $20 iPhone 2G data plan with their 3G devices for months before it switched over. In all cases, that I am aware of, it did eventually switch over.
actually...it added the 2gb data pro automatically. they said their system will always add the 2gb plan. But it charged me $39.96 for some reason so they did a 1 time refund for that since there was 0 data usage on that line
azm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 03:18 PM   #8
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by azm View Post
Well i always kept 3g and data disabled on the phone. the at&t website would show i had an iphone but it never automatically added the plan. What I don't understand is why it added it now after 1.5 years to my account.
Maybe the policy wasn't in effect when you first signed up 1.5 years ago?
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 03:22 PM   #9
lordofthereef
macrumors 603
 
lordofthereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsir2009 View Post
Maybe the policy wasn't in effect when you first signed up 1.5 years ago?
With ATT, it always has been. When the 3G launched I wanted to go without a data plan since there was no 3G in my area. They wouldn't even let me go down to the 2G only plan, which was $20 at the time.
lordofthereef is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 04:41 PM   #10
sweetbrat
macrumors 65816
 
sweetbrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Redford, MI
As someone already said, I'm surprised you got away with no data plan for as long as you did. AT&T makes you have a data plan if you have an iPhone. They didn't catch on to you right away, but when they did they added the data plan. Unfortunately, you're stuck with it if you stay on AT&T, whether your mom uses the data plan or not. Be happy that you got away with not having it for a year and a half.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2.2GHz i7, Crucial M4 SSD (Early 2011); 15" MacBook Pro (late 2008); Mac Pro 1,1 2.66GHz Dual-Core Xeon; 32GB iPad Mini; iPhone 4S 32GB; 6th gen iPod Nano
sweetbrat is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 04:53 PM   #11
godori
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I think Red Pocket have prepaid or montly plans for 4/4S without data. They have 250 minutes a month for $20.
godori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 05:12 PM   #12
gaanee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Well, I'm using 3GS without data plan since 2009 on AT&T. I bought it from them at full price so didn't have to sign up for data and turned off 3G option under Settings->Networking. I use wifi whenever I want to connect to the internet and they they haven't automatically added the data plan and they should not add it automatically without asking because I don't need it. Although when I log in to my account on AT&T, it does show iphone photo under my device, so they detected that I switched from a feature phone to iphone.

OP, did you turn off 3G option under networking?

At that time Apple store didn't offer an option to buy iphone without signing a contract but (ironically) AT&T did sell iphone at full price without a contract, but obviously its locked to their network, and at Apple store they told me to turn off 3G option so as to make sure that iphone doesn't try to use data on AT&T network, and it worked.
gaanee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 05:33 PM   #13
lordofthereef
macrumors 603
 
lordofthereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by godori View Post
I think Red Pocket have prepaid or montly plans for 4/4S without data. They have 250 minutes a month for $20.
You can do the same thing on ATT's go phone service, ironically.
lordofthereef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 10:26 PM   #14
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by azm View Post
Well i always kept 3g and data disabled on the phone. the at&t website would show i had an iphone but it never automatically added the plan. What I don't understand is why it added it now after 1.5 years to my account.
Because you got lucky for 1.5 years and now they finally detected it and added the mandatory iphone data.
I know it sucks and even if you dont want it or use it you have to have it on AT&T post paid accounts with an iphone.
Its their rules. Only way to avoid it is to go prepaid AT&T or another carrier.
Even if you remove it they will readd it eventually.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaanee View Post
Well, I'm using 3GS without data plan since 2009 on AT&T. I bought it from them at full price so didn't have to sign up for data and turned off 3G option under Settings->Networking. I use wifi whenever I want to connect to the internet and they they haven't automatically added the data plan and they should not add it automatically without asking because I don't need it. Although when I log in to my account on AT&T, it does show iphone photo under my device, so they detected that I switched from a feature phone to iphone.

OP, did you turn off 3G option under networking?

At that time Apple store didn't offer an option to buy iphone without signing a contract but (ironically) AT&T did sell iphone at full price without a contract, but obviously its locked to their network, and at Apple store they told me to turn off 3G option so as to make sure that iphone doesn't try to use data on AT&T network, and it worked.
Their policy is to automaticly add it to your account when their system detects it. They dont need to ask you and wether you like it or not you have to have one on a post paid AT&T account with an iphone. You're lucky they didnt catch on to you yet but they may eventually add it. It doesnt matter if you turn off 3G or purchase the phone full price.
Their system detects what device you're using to acess their network the minute you put your sim in and turn on the phone.
Its only a matter of time.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2012, 03:31 AM   #15
MsBeauty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by azm View Post
I've used a 3gs from july 2010-august 2011 without any data plan on at&t. had just bought it from craigslist and was using it just fine. After that i upgraded to the Iphone 4S and gave my old iphone to my mom. She used it from oct-dec 2011 without data. However, last month at&t added data plan and its been a hassle for me to get it removed ever since. One rep said if the phone didn't use data the plan wouldn't be re-added and another rep said that if they system saw any smartphone it would automatically add. So I had to have them add another imei and remove the plan.

Has anyone else successfully used an iphone without data plan? If so do you have any tips for me?

I don't mind paying for data, but its just a waste bc my mom will never use it at all. She doesn't even use it on wifi.
JOIN T MOBILE.. I dont think they will force you to use the data plan.
MsBeauty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2012, 11:54 AM   #16
azm
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MsBeauty View Post
JOIN T MOBILE.. I dont think they will force you to use the data plan.
lol i'm under contract bc I have a 4S. also 3G doesn't work on tmobile for iphones
azm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2012, 01:38 PM   #17
PerplexShyt
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
any 3g smartphone will get a data plan sooner or later.

there is some sort of "sweep" the system does to tack data plans on smart phones.

My mom also uses the iphone, because it is very user friendly, but I had to get her an ORIGINAL iphone 2g, since it only works with the Edge network. So they didn't force any plan on hers. Because she never uses any data whatsoever.

I bought a like new iphone 2g on ebay, and put a brand new battery in it. and shes good to go.
PerplexShyt is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2012, 01:51 PM   #18
cyks
macrumors 68020
 
cyks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Westchester County, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by azm View Post
lol i'm under contract bc I have a 4S. also 3G doesn't work on tmobile for iphones
You're trying to use an iPhone without a data plan... so why would it matter if 3G works T-Mobile or not? Calls will sound the same and you won't be using data anyway.
cyks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2012, 02:00 PM   #19
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyks View Post
You're trying to use an iPhone without a data plan... so why would it matter if 3G works T-Mobile or not? Calls will sound the same and you won't be using data anyway.
LMAO
Hey I dont want a carrier data plan but if I go to Tmobile their Edge is too slow
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2012, 04:15 PM   #20
gaanee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Because you got lucky for 1.5 years and now they finally detected it and added the mandatory iphone data.
I know it sucks and even if you dont want it or use it you have to have it on AT&T post paid accounts with an iphone.
Its their rules. Only way to avoid it is to go prepaid AT&T or another carrier.
Even if you remove it they will readd it eventually.



Their policy is to automaticly add it to your account when their system detects it. They dont need to ask you and wether you like it or not you have to have one on a post paid AT&T account with an iphone. You're lucky they didnt catch on to you yet but they may eventually add it. It doesnt matter if you turn off 3G or purchase the phone full price.
Their system detects what device you're using to acess their network the minute you put your sim in and turn on the phone.
Its only a matter of time.
By the way, my contract expired in 2009 before I bought the iphone and I didn't renew it since didn't want to sign up for a data plan which is really unnecessary, since for most of the time I've wifi connection at home and office. And I was told by At&T and Apple store that all I need is At&T sim card, doesn't matter whether the contract has expired or not. May be thats why At&t isn't charging for data plan....
gaanee is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2012, 05:07 PM   #21
magicbrain
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
f att

yep, you got lucky, att will auto detect any iphone (i once put my wife's sim card into 3gs & they added data immediately to her non-smart phone plan).

they will tell you, you can remove the data, but only if you use non-iPHone. i've tried this tactic once (switched to a diff phone, then back to iPhone) but ... they caught onto me within 15 days

same as above, just switch to h2o wireless - you don't even need to jailbreak the phone, 'cause h2o uses att's network & all att locked phones (4, 4s) work
__________________
attFail? sign petition / submit to FCC / cancel without paying fees
switch to h2o w/out jb - $25/m 1000min&txt
magicbrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2012, 05:31 PM   #22
gaanee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
It doesn't make sense to add a data plan when when I'm not using it at all and I don't need one for now. That was the only reason I bought 3GS on full price and I'm sure it has payed back, the only thing I wished was that it was unlocked but in 2009 it was At&T's exclusive reign. Anyways, the point is At&T should not automatically add data plan without permission (because ultimately we've to pay for it) and especially when you're not using it.
gaanee is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2012, 05:53 PM   #23
lordofthereef
macrumors 603
 
lordofthereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaanee View Post
It doesn't make sense to add a data plan when when I'm not using it at all and I don't need one for now.
Thing is, it doesn't have to. It's ATT's network, and if they want to require a data plan with certain handsets, that's certainly within their rights. Does it suck? Yes. But that is how it is, unfortunately.
lordofthereef is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2012, 07:23 PM   #24
azm
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyks View Post
You're trying to use an iPhone without a data plan... so why would it matter if 3G works T-Mobile or not? Calls will sound the same and you won't be using data anyway.
read OP. i said i don't want 3G on my mom's iphone bc she doesn't use data. I didn't say anything about me not wanting data
azm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2012, 10:16 PM   #25
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by azm View Post
read OP. i said i don't want 3G on my mom's iphone bc she doesn't use data. I didn't say anything about me not wanting data
How would him or anyone else know you want 3G and a data plan on your phone but you were just talking about your Mom's phone not having data?
Why dont you just switch her phone to Tmobile and you stay on AT&T?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 3 with no data plan omrumors iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Nov 19, 2012 02:01 PM
Is there a way to have an iPhone and no data plan? michael31986 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 15 Oct 8, 2012 11:46 PM
Trying to get out of iPhone data plan piatti Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 8 Jul 25, 2012 04:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC