Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 11, 2012, 12:31 PM   #1
ohla313
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Time Machine over Wi-Fi?

How can I do Time Machine backups to a hard drive connected to another computer?

I have a MBA and would like to do Time Machine backups to a MBP that has an external drive connected to it. Both laptops are on the same Wi-Fi network. Ideally, it would be great if the MBA can select Time Machine and then backup to the external hard drive that is connected to the MBP.

So how do I do this??

Thanks!
__________________
iPhone 5, iPad Mini, 2012 MBA 13", 27" ACD
ohla313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2012, 12:49 PM   #2
Bill Gates
macrumors 68020
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
I don't know if this will work or not, but I surmise that the steps are roughly as follows:

1) Make sure that the host machine is set to "Wake for network access" within the Energy Saver preference pane.

2) Enable file sharing on the host Mac, making sure that "Share files and folders using AFP" is selected under "Options." Then add the external hard drive to the "Shared Folders" list and add a user with read & write permissions.

3) Mount the file share on the guest Mac. Then open the Time Machine preference pane and choose "Select Disk." Select the share that you just mounted.

If this doesn't work someone else will have to chime in. I've never actually attempted what you're asking to do. I backup to a USB hard drive connected to an Airport Extreme router.
__________________
Mid-2010 15" MacBook Pro / 2.66GHz / 8GB RAM / 240GB SSD
16GB iPhone 5
Bill Gates is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2012, 01:06 PM   #3
ohla313
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Gates View Post
I don't know if this will work or not, but I surmise that the steps are roughly as follows:

1) Make sure that the host machine is set to "Wake for network access" within the Energy Saver preference pane.

2) Enable file sharing on the host Mac, making sure that "Share files and folders using AFP" is selected under "Options." Then add the external hard drive to the "Shared Folders" list and add a user with read & write permissions.

3) Mount the file share on the guest Mac. Then open the Time Machine preference pane and choose "Select Disk." Select the share that you just mounted.

If this doesn't work someone else will have to chime in. I've never actually attempted what you're asking to do. I backup to a USB hard drive connected to an Airport Extreme router.
how do you mount the file share on the guest mac?
__________________
iPhone 5, iPad Mini, 2012 MBA 13", 27" ACD
ohla313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2012, 01:06 PM   #4
Bill Gates
macrumors 68020
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohla313 View Post
how do you mount the file share on the guest mac?
Just browse to it in Finder.
__________________
Mid-2010 15" MacBook Pro / 2.66GHz / 8GB RAM / 240GB SSD
16GB iPhone 5
Bill Gates is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2012, 02:53 PM   #5
ohla313
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Gates View Post
Just browse to it in Finder.
Thanks! It worked but unfortunately the backups take way too long (5 hours for 800MB backup??) It probably is due to my 15mbps internet connection...

Well at least I know what to do when I get faster speeds later!
__________________
iPhone 5, iPad Mini, 2012 MBA 13", 27" ACD
ohla313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2012, 03:16 PM   #6
SuperCachetes
macrumors 6502a
 
SuperCachetes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Away from you
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohla313 View Post
Thanks! It worked but unfortunately the backups take way too long (5 hours for 800MB backup??) It probably is due to my 15mbps internet connection...

Well at least I know what to do when I get faster speeds later!
1. If this is the first time you are backing up, it has to back up the entire volume, so it does take a long time. Future backups will be incremental, meaning it only backs up what has changed. Most of my backups are over in minutes.

2. Your internet speed has nothing to do with it; if it's all on the same wi-fi network, your backup system is limited only by the wi-fi network speed, which is probably a lot faster than 15Mbps.
SuperCachetes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2012, 03:53 PM   #7
Taz Mangus
macrumors 65816
 
Taz Mangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I want to point out that once you have added the share drive to the Time Machine options you don't have to manually mount the share again. All the other times Time Machine will automatically mount and unmount the share for you. This is how I do a backup of my MacBook Pro. It usually one takes a few minutes to do an incremental Time Machine backup.
__________________
'11 27" iMac Quad Core 3.4GHz, 16GB, 1TB HD, 256GB SSD; '09 17" MacBook Pro, 2.8GHz, 8GB, 500GB HD; '09 MacMini, 2.0GHz, 4GB, 320GB HD; '13 32GB iPhone 5; '13 64GB LTE iPad Air; '13 32GB iPod Touch 5
Taz Mangus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2012, 12:30 AM   #8
ohla313
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taz Mangus View Post
I want to point out that once you have added the share drive to the Time Machine options you don't have to manually mount the share again. All the other times Time Machine will automatically mount and unmount the share for you. This is how I do a backup of my MacBook Pro. It usually one takes a few minutes to do an incremental Time Machine backup.
The Time Machine drive for the MBA is only for that computer so I only plug it in when I need to run backups. So would the system function ok if I connect and re-connect the drive?
__________________
iPhone 5, iPad Mini, 2012 MBA 13", 27" ACD
ohla313 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2012, 02:21 AM   #9
Tander
macrumors 6502a
 
Tander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
If TM cannot find the drive / share when backing up it will just propane it.

As for mounting and un-mounting - there shouldn't be any issues if you do this on a regular biases.
Tander is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2012, 03:56 AM   #10
hafr
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohla313 View Post
The Time Machine drive for the MBA is only for that computer so I only plug it in when I need to run backups. So would the system function ok if I connect and re-connect the drive?
Yes. But make sure the Time Machine switch is OFF. Two reasons: first, it won't save local snapshots which can take up a lot of precious space on your SSD. Second, it won't try to find the drive once an hour. When you connect the drive, just two finger click on the icon and choose "back up now".
hafr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2012, 05:15 AM   #11
Crazy Badger
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Scotland
I backup my MBA over WIFI using Time Machine to a Netgear NAS.

Worth doing the first backup using a wired connection, but then subsequent backups aren't too bad (10-30 minutes depending on changes)

Use Time Machine Editor to change the frequency as I don't want it backing up every hour! Once every few days is good enough for me
Crazy Badger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 09:42 AM   #12
tootall
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Gates View Post
Just browse to it in Finder.
I guess you mean in Finder going to connect as a server?

... to address afp://10.255.etc..... ?

If so I get an error message that it is not able to connect to the server, what am I doing wrong? (both computers are on the same network)
tootall is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 12:17 PM   #13
snpower
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Some folks in this thread have mentioned using Time Machine over wi fi to a mounted volume connected to an Airport Extreme. Last I heard, this was not officially supported, and gave some people (including myself) unreliable backups. Has this changed with Mountain Lion?
snpower is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 08:37 AM   #14
tomek160
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Sorry for digging it up

Hello guys,
I am Tom and this is my first post here, so please, dont jump on me since I browsed the forum to find the answer but unsuccessfully. My quesiton is similar to this topic.

I have recent MBP with external 2TB HDD hooked up (1.2 TB partition NTFS, 0.5 TB partition MAC OS-ex case sensitive Journaled and 0.3 MAC OS-ex. case sensitive Journaled).

As for a Mac newbie, it took me a while how to format the partition to make it appropriete for TM for my computer ( I am using 0.5 TB partition for that). Now my girlfriend has MBA and I wanted to back her data up on the third partition I made.

I checked that all points from the 1st post are met.
Partition Format is correct. We are in the same network. I share the HDD and she has permissions to read and write. She has the partition mounted in MBA, her TM sees the partition but can not back up. The error pops out and backing up is postponed. Her computer is completely clean and new (no NTFS-3G or other stuff, I dont know if this is important).

Maybe there is something I am doing wrong?
Thanks in advance guys!
T
tomek160 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine problem: how can I manually transfer my Time Machine files to a new user Lucagfc OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Apr 17, 2014 02:44 PM
Time Machine SuperDuper - incremental backups taking an exxcessive amount of time sputacus Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 27, 2013 06:44 AM
New airport time capsule, can the initial time machine backup done via USB? riverwater Mac Peripherals 4 Jun 17, 2013 09:14 AM
Trouble adding new MacBook to existing Time Machine (Time Capsule) Cowboy59 Mac Peripherals 1 Oct 14, 2012 06:20 AM
Time Machine Preference In Time Machine, macswitcha2 Mac Basics and Help 1 Aug 2, 2012 05:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC