Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 13, 2012, 02:27 PM   #1
Check 6
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
how would I sync Aperture libraries on two mac's

I travel with my MBP and use the MacPro at home. I have Aperture 3 on both and download images to each, but not always the same images depending on where I am. I would like to merge both libraries frequently so I ave the same folders/projects on both. So far the only way I can think of is through the use of an outboard hard drive to back up both libraries and thus merge them. Other thoughts. Thanks
Check 6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 02:28 PM   #2
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Did you look at this?

http://www.apple.com/aperture/how-to...rginglibraries
swiftaw is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 02:29 PM   #3
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Are you using managed, or referenced?

That is do you use Aperture's library to hold the images, or let them be set up as referenced?

With the former, once you import the missing photos into the other library, you can then just copy the library to the other mac when you need too.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 05:17 PM   #4
Check 6
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftaw View Post
Thanks, this evenings reading
Check 6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2012, 03:07 PM   #5
mtreys
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: College Station, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftaw View Post
Thanks for this
mtreys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 01:26 PM   #6
PhoenixPT
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftaw View Post
Hello, I'm having the same problem, and tried the link, but it says it can not find that page...

Anyone knows where can I find updated intel on this issue?

Thanks in advance for any help!!
PhoenixPT is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combining Aperture libraries puckhead193 Digital Photography 2 Mar 13, 2014 08:32 PM
Is anyone else not able to open any of the Aperture libraries??? PBF OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Sep 12, 2013 07:29 PM
Question on Lightroom/Aperture libraries ANTONkoolaid Digital Photography 2 Jul 22, 2012 06:54 PM
Merge or add libraries from aperture on another mac? backinblack875 Mac Basics and Help 1 Jul 4, 2012 10:56 AM
Merge Aperture and iPhoto libraries? lssmit02 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Jun 12, 2012 01:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC