Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 16, 2012, 04:40 PM   #1
NameUndecided
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Hardware requirements any heavier than Lion?

It doesn't look like it would require all that much more, if any more, power than Lion does. I have a later 2009 MacBook Pro model right now that works perfectly fine even though I'm sure I would notice a nice difference if I started using a newer Mac (Pro or Air). But while I may get a new Mac this year, I'd rather not feel pressured.

Is there any telling at this early point if Mountain Lion will run any slower than Lion does on relatively older Macs? Maybe developers see a detailed enough "recommended specs" list(?), I don't know.
NameUndecided is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 04:46 PM   #2
ixodes
macrumors 601
 
ixodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific Coast, USA
It's too soon to tell. However traditionally more resources are needed as additional features are added to an existing OS.
__________________
An Ultra Fast Mac Is...My Favorite
ixodes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 04:48 PM   #3
HishamAkhtar
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by NameUndecided View Post
It doesn't look like it would require all that much more, if any more, power than Lion does. I have a later 2009 MacBook Pro model right now that works perfectly fine even though I'm sure I would notice a nice difference if I started using a newer Mac (Pro or Air). But while I may get a new Mac this year, I'd rather not feel pressured.

Is there any telling at this early point if Mountain Lion will run any slower than Lion does on relatively older Macs? Maybe developers see a detailed enough "recommended specs" list(?), I don't know.
Hope it's not any heavier. I'm still looking at ways to downgrade to Snow Leopard from Lion.
HishamAkhtar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 04:51 PM   #4
punkromance
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Really hope it doesn't. Upon hearing the name of the release I was excited, thinking we'd get a Snow Leopard-esque refinement and slimming down, and generally making it more awesome. Instead it looks like they're just bloating it more with crappy iOS features. Oh well. It's too soon to tell, but you would have thought they would have plugged it in the video had performance increases been part of their goals/outcomes.
punkromance is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 05:08 PM   #5
Maniamac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Apple is dropping support altogether for Intel Core 2 Duo Macs with Intel GMA 950 or X3100.

In addition, one of Mountain Lion's coolest features, Airplay Mirroring, requires a Mac with at least a "Sandy Bridge" microprocessor (i3/i5/i7)--really unfortunate, I think, but probably not arbitrary obsolescence--I don't do anything too crazy with my late 2010 MacBook Air, and its Core 2 Duo is often taxed as it is.

I've generally found that to run smoothest, each new release of OS X needs twice as much RAM as the last. Lion requires 2 GB of RAM. Though I think memory management is one of Apple's stronger suits, Lion isn't the most blazing multi-tasker with 2 GB of RAM.

While technically only a minimum of 2 GB of RAM is required for Mountain Lion, I wouldn't install 10.8 on my machine unless I had *at least* 4 GB to play with.

Last edited by Maniamac; Feb 16, 2012 at 05:31 PM.
Maniamac is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 05:15 PM   #6
nicklad
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nottingham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniamac View Post
Apple is dropping support altogether for Intel Core 2 Duo Macs with Intel GMA 950 or X3100.

In addition, one of Mountain Lion's coolest features, Airplay Mirroring, requires a Mac with at least a "Sandy Bridge" microprocessor--really unfortunate, I think, but probably not arbitrary obsolescence--I don't do anything too crazy with my late 2010 MacBook Air, and its Core 2 Duo is often taxed.

I've generally found that to run smoothest, each new release of OS X needs twice as much RAM as the last. Lion requires 2 GB of RAM. Though I think memory management is one of Apple's stronger suits, Lion isn't the most blazing multi-tasker with 2 GB of RAM.

While technically only a minimum of 2 GB of RAM is required for Mountain Lion, I wouldn't install 10.8 on my machine unless I had *at least* 4 GB to play with.
System Requirements
OS X Mountain Lion requires a Mac with a 64-bit kernel. Mountain Lion supports the following Mac models:
• iMac (mid 2007 or later)
• MacBook (13-inch Aluminum, 2008), (13-inch, Early 2009 or later)
• MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid-2009 or later), (15-inch, 2.4/2.2 GHz), (17-inch, Late 2007 or later)
• MacBook Air (Late 2008 or later)
• Mac Mini (Early 2009 or later)
• Mac Pro (Early 2008 or later)
• Xserve (Early 2009)
nicklad is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 05:54 PM   #7
adm58
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicklad View Post
System Requirements
• Mac Pro (Early 2008 or later)
I can't imagine any legitimate reason why they would cut off ANY Mac Pro systems. My 2007 machine with 6GB of RAM runs Lion as good or better than my current gen iMac or MacBook Air.

Edit: My bet is that if you install 10.8 on some of these older 64-bit systems via some hack—i.e. target disk mode install from a supported Mac, or by editing the plist of the installer—that 10.8 will run just fine on any machine that currently can run Lion. With the possible exception of the AirPlay Mirroring feature.

Last edited by adm58; Feb 16, 2012 at 05:56 PM. Reason: add comment
adm58 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 06:10 PM   #8
zweigand
macrumors 6502a
 
zweigand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Near an iPad
Looks like it's the end of the road for my 24" white iMac. (6,1) …it's been a good 5+ years.
__________________
@zwei
zweigand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 06:44 PM   #9
Liquinn
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicklad View Post
System Requirements
OS X Mountain Lion requires a Mac with a 64-bit kernel. Mountain Lion supports the following Mac models:
• iMac (mid 2007 or later)
• MacBook (13-inch Aluminum, 2008), (13-inch, Early 2009 or later)
• MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid-2009 or later), (15-inch, 2.4/2.2 GHz), (17-inch, Late 2007 or later)
• MacBook Air (Late 2008 or later)
• Mac Mini (Early 2009 or later)
• Mac Pro (Early 2008 or later)
• Xserve (Early 2009)
How much RAM is needed?
__________________
2011 Mini | 13" (cMBP) + 15" (rMBP 2013) | Powermac G5 | 27" TBD | iPhone 3GS (16GB) | iPad 1 and iPad 4 | iPod touch 4G (64GB) | Apple Wireless Keyboard + Magic Mouse x2 | Magic Trackpad |
Liquinn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 07:00 PM   #10
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by adm58 View Post
I can't imagine any legitimate reason why they would cut off ANY Mac Pro systems. My 2007 machine with 6GB of RAM runs Lion as good or better than my current gen iMac or MacBook Air.

Edit: My bet is that if you install 10.8 on some of these older 64-bit systems via some hack—i.e. target disk mode install from a supported Mac, or by editing the plist of the installer—that 10.8 will run just fine on any machine that currently can run Lion. With the possible exception of the AirPlay Mirroring feature.
I bet one of the limitations you'll run in to will be the video options that are no longer supported and no longer have drivers bundled with the OS. The other issue may be systems with 32bit EFIs.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 04:54 AM   #11
vixducis
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Belgium
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniamac View Post
In addition, one of Mountain Lion's coolest features, Airplay Mirroring, requires a Mac with at least a "Sandy Bridge" microprocessor (i3/i5/i7)--really unfortunate, I think, but probably not arbitrary obsolescence--I don't do anything too crazy with my late 2010 MacBook Air, and its Core 2 Duo is often taxed as it is.
This sucks, I got the high-end iMac just before the Sandy bridge ones were released. I don't know whether it'll use some Sandy Bridge specific hardware (like the h264 encoder), but if it won't, my iMac would probably run it better than the standard MBP 13".
vixducis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 05:07 AM   #12
east85
macrumors 6502a
 
east85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Send a message via AIM to east85
Quote:
Originally Posted by zweigand View Post
Looks like it's the end of the road for my 24" white iMac. (6,1) …it's been a good 5+ years.
You're going to abandon a perfectly good Mac over software?

You know it's been less than a year since Lion released.
east85 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 08:36 AM   #13
ForzaJuve
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicklad View Post
System Requirements
OS X Mountain Lion requires a Mac with a 64-bit kernel. Mountain Lion supports the following Mac models:
• iMac (mid 2007 or later)
• MacBook (13-inch Aluminum, 2008), (13-inch, Early 2009 or later)
• MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid-2009 or later), (15-inch, 2.4/2.2 GHz), (17-inch, Late 2007 or later)
• MacBook Air (Late 2008 or later)
• Mac Mini (Early 2009 or later)
• Mac Pro (Early 2008 or later)
• Xserve (Early 2009)
Where did you find these? I have been looking for them on the Apple website and could not find them. If this is true then what is up with the claim that Sandy Bridge processors are requried for Airplay feature? That seems to me like a big limitation.

Also, am I right to assume that in order to upgrade to ML one needs to have Lion installed already? In other words If I skipped Lion and am running Snow Leopard I will need to purchase both Lion and ML.

Last edited by ForzaJuve; Feb 17, 2012 at 08:46 AM.
ForzaJuve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 09:56 AM   #14
durija
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seattle
Am I reading this right? My 15" MBP, purchased just last June with only a 2 GHz processor will not be able to run ML?
__________________
15" Macbook Pro • 2 GHz i7 Quad • 8GB Ram • 10.6/10.8/Win7/ | 20" iMac AL • 2.4 GHz • 4GB Ram • SnowLeo/Win7
durija is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 10:19 AM   #15
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by durija View Post
Am I reading this right? My 15" MBP, purchased just last June with only a 2 GHz processor will not be able to run ML?
Where'd you get that? None of the system requirements have included the GHz rating, and they all require a Core 2 Duo or newer, which the i7 is definitely newer. Your machine won't have any trouble with Mountain Lion.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 10:28 AM   #16
zweigand
macrumors 6502a
 
zweigand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Near an iPad
Quote:
Originally Posted by east85 View Post
You're going to abandon a perfectly good Mac over software?

You know it's been less than a year since Lion released.
No, I will still use it. It's just time to upgrade. Probably get a MacBook Air as my next machine.
__________________
@zwei
zweigand is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 10:43 AM   #17
durija
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicklad View Post
System Requirements
OS X Mountain Lion requires a Mac with a 64-bit kernel. Mountain Lion supports the following Mac models:
• iMac (mid 2007 or later)
• MacBook (13-inch Aluminum, 2008), (13-inch, Early 2009 or later)
• MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid-2009 or later), (15-inch, 2.4/2.2 GHz), (17-inch, Late 2007 or later)
• MacBook Air (Late 2008 or later)
• Mac Mini (Early 2009 or later)
• Mac Pro (Early 2008 or later)
• Xserve (Early 2009)
GHz listed for the 15-inch MacBook Pro: 2.4/2.2.
I'm not sure where nicklad got this. Seems odd, but that's why I'm questioning.
__________________
15" Macbook Pro • 2 GHz i7 Quad • 8GB Ram • 10.6/10.8/Win7/ | 20" iMac AL • 2.4 GHz • 4GB Ram • SnowLeo/Win7

Last edited by durija; Feb 17, 2012 at 10:47 AM. Reason: typo
durija is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 11:25 AM   #18
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by durija View Post
GHz listed for the 15-inch MacBook Pro: 2.4/2.2.
I'm not sure where nicklad got this. Seems odd, but that's why I'm questioning.
Oh, I missed that. That's there because that was Apple's official name for that model, not because that's a CPU requirement. I can understand the confusion now, though.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 11:28 AM   #19
Mark Booth
macrumors 65816
 
Mark Booth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Looks like my Mac Pro 1,1 won't be running Mountain Lion. Though, I do have a Radeon 4870 video card installed, perhaps that will save it?

Oh well, my other two Macs are new enough and I've been thinking about upgrading my desktop Mac anyway.

Mark
Mark Booth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 11:42 AM   #20
Liquinn
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
On my base Mini 2011 with 2GB RAM it's saying "OS X 10.7 requires 2 GB of memory"

And doesn't do anything... even though the Mini I have has 2GB of RAM/memory.

I'm slightly confused.

What am I doing wrong?
__________________
2011 Mini | 13" (cMBP) + 15" (rMBP 2013) | Powermac G5 | 27" TBD | iPhone 3GS (16GB) | iPad 1 and iPad 4 | iPod touch 4G (64GB) | Apple Wireless Keyboard + Magic Mouse x2 | Magic Trackpad |
Liquinn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 11:48 AM   #21
cool11
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Why this release will not run on mbp late 2006 with c2d? Is it so heavy? What is the point?
It remembers me of 'windows vista', so heavy with no additional value to the end user.
cool11 is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 01:35 PM   #22
pdjudd
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Plymouth, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by cool11 View Post
Why this release will not run on mbp late 2006 with c2d? Is it so heavy?
It has nothing to do with heft - it has to do with the ability of certain processes to operate in 64 bit only mode - not all C2D system have that - in some cases it's due to the graphics chip not supporting it.
pdjudd is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 01:54 PM   #23
Yamcha
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
What no one seems to be mentioning is the performance boost over Lion..

I've been using it for a whole day and it runs noticeably faster then Mac OSX Lion..
__________________
iMac 27" | Intel Core i5 3.2GHz | 8GB Memory | 1TB Hard Drive | GeForce GTX 675MX 1GB | OSX Mavericks 10.9.1 | Windows 8.1 64-Bit
Yamcha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 02:00 PM   #24
stewacide
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdjudd View Post
It has nothing to do with heft - it has to do with the ability of certain processes to operate in 64 bit only mode - not all C2D system have that - in some cases it's due to the graphics chip not supporting it.
It's not a question of the chips not supporting it: these systems can boot a 64bit kernel and have 64bit graphics drivers for Linux for example. It's a question of Apple/Intel being too lazy to port the drivers for 64bit: that is, perfectly good hardware will be left behind because they were too lazy to update the graphics driver, no other reason.

Pretty lame.
stewacide is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 02:03 PM   #25
hackerwayne
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Booth View Post
Looks like my Mac Pro 1,1 won't be running Mountain Lion. Though, I do have a Radeon 4870 video card installed, perhaps that will save it?

Oh well, my other two Macs are new enough and I've been thinking about upgrading my desktop Mac anyway.

Mark
Ive done it, read this post
> http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1325709

On MacBook white partially working, Mac Pro 1,1 with HD 5770, upgraded 8 core processor (if that matters) works 100% fine
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting from old Hardware Lion server, to new hardware Mountain Lion Server kcossabo Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Dec 26, 2012 08:59 AM
Mountain Lion Requirements Ashley0609 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Dec 10, 2012 12:18 PM
Downgrading new hardware to Lion Simon Laird Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 2 Sep 28, 2012 09:52 AM
Comparing hardware requirements - Revit gldelx Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Sep 25, 2012 05:16 PM
Hardware Test on Mountain Lion? lobrien Mac Pro 2 Aug 2, 2012 09:16 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC