Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2012, 05:33 AM   #51
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayilm1 View Post
I think the key problem with trying to get the installer booting properly is that after installation, we'll still need to add the ID of the machine to the PlatformSupport list. That is, unless basesystem.pkg is unpacked and the plist is changed from there.
Well.. true, but heres some pics, need to troubleshoot where the problem comes from and what the xxxx is KernalCL plugin

Im using a PC unflashed HD6870 with upgraded 8 core clovertown processor. Both of these works 100% fine but wont be detected properly.. (same goes to Lion) but they work fine in Lion.

More pics:
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 05:38 AM   #52
ayilm1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
Well.. true, but heres some pics, need to troubleshoot where the problem comes from and what the xxxx is KernalCL plugin Image

Im using a PC unflashed HD6870 with upgraded 8 core clovertown processor. Both of these works 100% fine but wont be detected properly.. (same goes to Lion) but they work fine in Lion.
That's strange, are the device IDs detected and if so, do they belong to the 6870? I have the same card running in a hackintosh. But then again, it's not a re-flashed model. I'm just unpacking some of the .pkgs to see if I can dig out the PlatformSupport.plist to edit it.
ayilm1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 05:40 AM   #53
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayilm1 View Post
That's strange, are the device IDs detected and if so, do they belong to the 6870? I have the same card running in a hackintosh. But then again, it's not a re-flashed model. I'm just unpacking some of the .pkgs to see if I can dig out the PlatformSupport.plist to edit it.
No, it has nothing to do with the upgraded graphics card.. Im having the same problem on my MacBook White 2008 with X3100..
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 05:43 AM   #54
ayilm1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
No, it has nothing to do with the upgraded graphics card.. Im having the same problem on my MacBook White 2008 with X3100..
No worries, my macbook has the same issue. I just assumed the 6870 thing was pre existing since you said the same thing happened in 10.7.
ayilm1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 05:46 AM   #55
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayilm1 View Post
No worries, my macbook has the same issue. I just assumed the 6870 thing was pre existing since you said the same thing happened in 10.7.
Just to make it clear, both the cards and the processor are not properly identified - Processor - 2x Unknown 2.66GHz and graphics card - AMD HD 6xxx 1024MB. But they work fine, just not identified. I can simply just change the values in About This Mac and problem is solved. I have never heard of CL_Kernals plugin, and it has never crashed in Lion before, so yeah, we're missing something here
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 05:48 AM   #56
ayilm1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
Just to make it clear, both the cards and the processor are not properly identified - Processor - 2x Unknown 2.66GHz and graphics card - AMD HD 6xxx 1024MB. But they work fine, just not identified. I can simply just change the values in About This Mac and problem is solved. I have never heard of CL_Kernals plugin, and it has never crashed in Lion before, so yeah, we're missing something here
That's because it wasn't there in Lion. If it was, we would have found some mention of it through a quick google search. The worse part is I've sifted through all the bundles in /S/L/E and there is no mention of it anywhere.

EDIT: Scratch that, it was there in Lion. I was searching for CL_Kernel not kernels
ayilm1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 05:51 AM   #57
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayilm1 View Post
That's because it wasn't there in Lion. If it was, we would have found some mention of it through a quick google search. The worse part is I've sifted through all the bundles in /S/L/E and there is no mention of it anywhere.
Yup, google search brings up nothing, but so far, Finder works but the top bar doesnt, if you try to click anything on the top bar, it will crash Finder. Same thing goes to Activity Monitor, System Preferences, Safari etc.

I still suspect its the launchd, and why it doesnt happen to the GMA950 MacBook
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 05:55 AM   #58
ayilm1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
Yup, google search brings up nothing, but so far, Finder works but the top bar doesnt, if you try to click anything on the top bar, it will crash Finder. Same thing goes to Activity Monitor, System Preferences, Safari etc.
Same on my end. What if we look at it literally. I mean, Finder and other apps only crash when interacted with. The machine doesn't kernel panic randomly or anything. So what if it has something to do with how things are rendered. Namely, OpenCL?
ayilm1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 06:02 AM   #59
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayilm1 View Post
Same on my end. What if we look at it literally. I mean, Finder and other apps only crash when interacted with. The machine doesn't kernel panic randomly or anything. So what if it has something to do with how things are rendered. Namely, OpenCL?
Hmm.. that reminds me of the GMA950 doesnt support the new OpenGL and OpenCL which explains why it doesnt crash. As far as i know, GMA950 only supports old OpenGL.. But i still don't understand why a 6870 and x3100 can have problem with OpenCL

----------

Anyway, have you installed the required kext on your MacBook? the x3100, if no, please try to install it via kexthelper.
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 07:20 AM   #60
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
I think there must be some kind of indentifier in the OpenCL plugin..
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 08:03 AM   #61
ayilm1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Ok so some progress. I still can't get HW acceleration or kexts to load for my GMA 950 (Not the x3100 to clarify). But I have managed to repack the OSInstall.mpkg to add the relevant machine IDs during installation. Trouble is, the initial install screen still says that OS X cannot be installed on this machine. Still need to find a fix for that. But once it passes that, the installer should be able to create a natively bootable installation.
ayilm1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 08:28 AM   #62
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayilm1 View Post
Ok so some progress. I still can't get HW acceleration or kexts to load for my GMA 950 (Not the x3100 to clarify). But I have managed to repack the OSInstall.mpkg to add the relevant machine IDs during installation. Trouble is, the initial install screen still says that OS X cannot be installed on this machine. Still need to find a fix for that. But once it passes that, the installer should be able to create a natively bootable installation.
To get GMA950 acceleration, you need to install 3 files, AppleIntelGMA950.kext, AppleIntelGMA950VADriver.bundle, AppleIntelGMA950VLDriver.bundle copy the bundle into System/Library/Extensions and use kexthelper to install the kexts

EDIT: use kext from 10.7.0 not 10.7.3
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 08:42 AM   #63
ayilm1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
To get GMA950 acceleration, you need to install 3 files, AppleIntelGMA950.kext, AppleIntelGMA950VADriver.bundle, AppleIntelGMA950VLDriver.bundle copy the bundle into System/Library/Extensions and use kexthelper to install the kexts

EDIT: use kext from 10.7.0 not 10.7.3
Ahhh ok I did everything up to 10.7.0. I installed the 10.7.3 ones instead. Just trying to repack the payload to deploy it back into the .pkg. Not having much luck...
ayilm1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 12:15 PM   #64
AnonMac50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Cool.

Try this for the 64-bit EFI…

Mac OS X Internals » Blog Archive » Is Your Machine Good Enough for Snow Leopard K64?

See if it works.
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 01:24 PM   #65
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnonMac50 View Post
Tried doesnt work.
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 01:28 PM   #66
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
This thread title and its content sure don't match. From the title, it said "Success" and "Fully working" and from the content, it says "It boots!" and "a lot of stuff doesn't work and crash!".
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 02:21 PM   #67
karsten
macrumors 6502a
 
karsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayilm1 View Post
Ok so some progress. I still can't get HW acceleration or kexts to load for my GMA 950 (Not the x3100 to clarify). But I have managed to repack the OSInstall.mpkg to add the relevant machine IDs during installation. Trouble is, the initial install screen still says that OS X cannot be installed on this machine. Still need to find a fix for that. But once it passes that, the installer should be able to create a natively bootable installation.
did you also edit the distribution file to add 64bit return true and add your board id? i can get the installer to start but it hangs on a 'checking (null) ...' dialog box
karsten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 03:39 PM   #68
AnonMac50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
Tried doesnt work.
Maybe it's with different parts?
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 04:48 PM   #69
Mac Tech Aaron
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
10.8 crashing on MacPro

A few weeks ago, I flashed my 2006 Mac Pro from 1,1 to 2,1. Today I tried to get ML installed onto the MacPro. It boots to the ML desktop, but the finder is constantly crashing. I can not open any HD mounted on the desktop, can not get to the finder, can not launch applications without the desktop disappearing and then coming back with a error message asking if I want to restore the last window. Crash report that comes up saying it's crashed 776 times.

What am I doing wrong? Is there something else I need to do?
Mac Tech Aaron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 05:13 PM   #70
stewacide
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
I'm guessing there's some pervasive OpenCL use that's going on that is crashing unsupported systems.
stewacide is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 07:33 PM   #71
wesker
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
This is great news. Let's hope it works when the final OS is released!
wesker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 09:18 PM   #72
johncluley
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Found this to work. No video acceleration yet though

http://www.j4mie.co.uk/blog/2012/02/...n-on-macpro11/
johncluley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 09:55 PM   #73
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
I tried 10.7.3 kext.. Installed it with KextHelper, doesnt work It says kext unusable.. For now, i bypassed the EFI64 check during boot. So yeah, I can confirm Mountain Lion works fine on old Macs.
Copy the kext without an additional tool, then (in a Terminal window):
Code:
sudo chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions/YourKernelExtensionName.kext
(sets correct owner:group)

and

Code:
sudo chmod -R 444 /System/Library/Extensions/YourKernelExtensionName.kext
(tells ML, that he should not delete this kext)

and

Code:
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions/
(tells ML, that he should update his kernel caches)

Restart your Mac! I hope this works for you!
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 10:10 PM   #74
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightWRX View Post
This thread title and its content sure don't match. From the title, it said "Success" and "Fully working" and from the content, it says "It boots!" and "a lot of stuff doesn't work and crash!".
We were testing it on a MacBook White with GMA950, and that, works perfectly fine

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Retrofire View Post
Copy the kext without an additional tool, then (in a Terminal window):
Code:
sudo chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions/YourKernelExtensionName.kext
(sets correct owner:group)

and

Code:
sudo chmod -R 444 /System/Library/Extensions/YourKernelExtensionName.kext
(tells ML, that he should not delete this kext)

and

Code:
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions/
(tells ML, that he should update his kernel caches)

Restart your Mac! I hope this works for you!
The problem have been solved in the previous posts. Right now, we're experiencing unexpected crash on Macs other then the ones that uses the GMA950

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by johncluley View Post
If you are using a Mac Pro, upgrade your graphics card to at least HD2600 or GT210.. that will work, if its a MacBook, just follow my method above to install the required kext.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightWRX View Post
This thread title and its content sure don't match. From the title, it said "Success" and "Fully working" and from the content, it says "It boots!" and "a lot of stuff doesn't work and crash!".
As i said on previous post, it works perfectly fine with Macs that used GMA950.. Titles says on MacBook White, as i only tested it on that Mac, the rest of the Macs that uses X3100, ati x1600 etc etc is having problems
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 10:23 PM   #75
johncluley
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Tried Kexthelper to get video Kexts for x1600 on a white c2d iMac. Kernel panic on start up etc. hosed everything and restored lion from time machine.

Now installing ML on a separate partition using the app directly from lion. No DVD or USB required with the image.

Will then try the manual kext move then terminal and see how I go.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
We were testing it on a MacBook White with GMA950, and that, works perfectly fine

----------



The problem have been solved in the previous posts. Right now, we're experiencing unexpected crash on Macs other then the ones that uses the GMA950

----------



If you are using a Mac Pro, upgrade your graphics card to at least HD2600 or GT210.. that will work, if its a MacBook, just follow my method above to install the required kext.

----------



As i said on previous post, it works perfectly fine with Macs that used GMA950.. Titles says on MacBook White, as i only tested it on that Mac, the rest of the Macs that uses X3100, ati x1600 etc etc is having problems
johncluley is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Guide] Fix iMessage/Facetime on unsupported Macs running ML tylersheppeard OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Sep 14, 2014 04:46 AM
new guide for installing mountain lion gm on unsupported macs dead.xx OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 158 Sep 9, 2014 02:50 PM
Best guide for 10.8.4 on unsupported machines. krisosha OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 24, 2013 12:50 PM
Docking station unsupported after ios 6.1.3 install? 09sroyal iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Apr 13, 2013 03:15 PM
Guide: Install Leopard on unsupported Macs njs84nnsh74 PowerPC Macs 2 Aug 18, 2012 10:23 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC