Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 19, 2012, 10:18 AM   #1
Flocarino
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Montreal, Canada
Will ES processors work as an upgrade on a 2009 Mac Pro?

I've seen a great deal on Ebay for these processors: Intel Xeon GULFTOWN X5675 Processor Q3QR 12MB 6-CORE(ES) for my 2009 2 x 2.26Ghz Mac Pro and would like to know if they are suited for the upgrade or I should stay away from Engineering Samples?
Thank you in advance.
Flocarino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2012, 12:22 PM   #2
Tutor
macrumors 65816
 
Tutor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Suburb of Birmingham, AL - Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flocarino View Post
I've seen a great deal on Ebay for these processors: Intel Xeon GULFTOWN X5675 Processor Q3QR 12MB 6-CORE(ES) for my 2009 2 x 2.26Ghz Mac Pro and would like to know if they are suited for the upgrade or I should stay away from Engineering Samples?
Thank you in advance.
With this utility: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,852.0.html
these: Intel Xeon GULFTOWN X5675
should work. I first put 5580's (mid 2009) and later 5680's (early 2011 - using a similar technique) in my system that was originally the very same as yours.

But whether you should buy ES or other used chips is a question for which I do not have an answer.
__________________
24 tweaked/multiOS rendering systems: oTitan RD TE>83; KE=145K+ CUDA cores; 13K+ ATI Stream PUs; 230 CPU cores. CB11.5-48.5 Win; CB15-3,791 Win; GB2-58K+ Lnx; GB3-71K+ Lnx/49K+ OSX; Sala-12K+.
Tutor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2012, 05:53 PM   #3
Flocarino
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Montreal, Canada
I already applied the firmware patch for 5.1.
What I need to know it's if an ES Intel Xeon 5675 will work or shoud I go with the retail version of the processor and NOT Engineering Samples?
Flocarino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2012, 05:57 PM   #4
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
One thing I know about ES is that they have unlocked multipliers which means they are ideal for over clocking. There is no way for you to tell if these chips were ever over clocked, or how far they were pushed. Also, I don't think its allowed to sell ES as they are meant for engineers to test, Intel sends them out as samples, they are not meant for the general public.

To be safe, I would go with a retail set, you get warranty and support.
__________________
Iphone 6 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
2013 iMac 27" 16GB RAM, 1TB fusion drive, Nvidia 780M, 2xDell 23" monitors, 4x3TB Thunderbay IV enclosure.
MacBook Air 13" mid 2014, 128GB, 4GB RAM.
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2012, 06:49 PM   #5
Tutor
macrumors 65816
 
Tutor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Suburb of Birmingham, AL - Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flocarino View Post
I already applied the firmware patch for 5.1.
What I need to know it's if an ES Intel Xeon 5675 will work or shoud I go with the retail version of the processor and NOT Engineering Samples?
ES Intel Xeon 5675 should work in a Mac (others have used ES chips successfully), but whether you should go with the retail version of the processor and not Engineering Samples is the question that I don't have an answer to.
__________________
24 tweaked/multiOS rendering systems: oTitan RD TE>83; KE=145K+ CUDA cores; 13K+ ATI Stream PUs; 230 CPU cores. CB11.5-48.5 Win; CB15-3,791 Win; GB2-58K+ Lnx; GB3-71K+ Lnx/49K+ OSX; Sala-12K+.
Tutor is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 07:13 PM   #6
Svoy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tutor View Post
ES Intel Xeon 5675 should work in a Mac (others have used ES chips successfully), but whether you should go with the retail version of the processor and not Engineering Samples is the question that I don't have an answer to.
I am interested as well in Intel Xeon X5675 ES compatibility with Mac pro 2010...
Can anybody else confirm it.

Thank in advance...
Svoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 08:57 PM   #7
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flocarino View Post
Intel Xeon GULFTOWN X5675 Processor Q3QR 12MB 6-CORE(ES)
This processor seems fishy to me. For one thing, X5675 is in the family of Westmere-EP, not Gulftown. A quick search of Q3QR seems to confirm it is an ES processor with Gulftown core, which has a single-processor not dual-processor setting. Then there were two posters mentioned in this link that Q3QR processors did not work with the dual-processor motherboard of EVGA SR-2. Normally the right ES processors could work in MP, but in this particular case I wouldn't touch them with a ten-foot pole.

Last edited by xcodeSyn; Jan 9, 2013 at 09:12 PM.
xcodeSyn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 11:53 PM   #8
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Engineering Sample

Hi,

I have a w3680 ES that I bought for my Mac Pro - Works like a charm! No problems whatsoever.

Your milage may vary though.. some batches of ES's are good others are bad.. I was lucky though.. but in most cases an ES will work just as the same as if you were to have a retail processor.

ES based processors can be cheaper in the long run.
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 08:42 AM   #9
Svoy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcodeSyn View Post
This processor seems fishy to me. For one thing, X5675 is in the family of Westmere-EP, not Gulftown. A quick search of Q3QR seems to confirm it is an ES processor with Gulftown core, which has a single-processor not dual-processor setting. Then there were two posters mentioned in this link that Q3QR processors did not work with the dual-processor motherboard of EVGA SR-2. Normally the right ES processors could work in MP, but in this particular case I wouldn't touch them with a ten-foot pole.
Thanks everybody for response...

Are you saying that if it will be "right" ES Westmere-EP not Gulftown processor it could work with the dual-processor Mac Pro?
Svoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 11:26 AM   #10
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svoy View Post
Are you saying that if it will be "right" ES Westmere-EP not Gulftown processor it could work with the dual-processor Mac Pro?
Except that I have not seen compatible Westmere-EP ES processors recently on eBay. It may make sense to consider ES processors when Intel first introduces its new generation CPU. Given that Westmere-EP is a more than 2-year old design, it makes more sense to buy the retail version (new or used) than the overclocked/abused ES processors.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 12:47 PM   #11
Svoy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcodeSyn View Post
Except that I have not seen compatible Westmere-EP ES processors recently on eBay. It may make sense to consider ES processors when Intel first introduces its new generation CPU. Given that Westmere-EP is a more than 2-year old design, it makes more sense to buy the retail version (new or used) than the overclocked/abused ES processors.
ES version is twice or more cheaper than retail version...I've seen on Ebay as I recall it was Westmere-EP ES version for $400-455....I think its a good start, considering retail price...$900 for chip..
Svoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 02:54 PM   #12
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svoy View Post
ES version is twice or more cheaper than retail version...I've seen on Ebay as I recall it was Westmere-EP ES version for $400-455....I think its a good start, considering retail price...$900 for chip..
This X5680 is currently sold for $695/each with 3-year warranty, and the price will probably go down further as OEM companies switching to Snady/Ivy Bridge-EP and dumping their Westmere-EP inventory. Also used processors are likely to appear later this year as most businesses coming off their 3-year leases. If you can actually find any Westmere-EP ES processors close to X5680 performance at $400-455, then by all means grab them.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 02:57 PM   #13
ClassObject
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
it is illegal for ES Intel processors to be sold.
ClassObject is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 08:35 PM   #14
Svoy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcodeSyn View Post
This X5680 is currently sold for $695/each with 3-year warranty, and the price will probably go down further as OEM companies switching to Snady/Ivy Bridge-EP and dumping their Westmere-EP inventory. Also used processors are likely to appear later this year as most businesses coming off their 3-year leases. If you can actually find any Westmere-EP ES processors close to X5680 performance at $400-455, then by all means grab them.
Hmm.... Weird thing...X5680 almost twice cheaper than X5675...NICE!!!I guess it worth to wait until price goes down more...
Svoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 2009 CPU upgrade Pitagora Mac Pro 59 Apr 18, 2014 01:59 AM
Help is needed to upgrade processors in 2009 2.26 8-core Mac Pro - WV,OH,PA,VA,MD,DC shelant Mac Pro 24 Mar 6, 2014 04:07 PM
How do I upgrade processors in my Mac Pro? Noctilux.95 Mac Pro 1 Nov 17, 2013 12:14 PM
Buying a Mac Pro 2009 - and then swapping processors - a few questions GXPvince Mac Pro 12 Nov 29, 2012 09:12 PM
Mac Pro 2009 video upgrade Pitagora Mac Pro 14 Nov 27, 2012 07:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC