Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 19, 2012, 01:15 PM   #1
kryptonkid07
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Unhappy iMac not going to sleep

I installed Mountain Lion a few days ago and noticed when I woke up the next morning, my computer was frozen on the screen saver.

I thought this was odd, as it has never done that before, so I checked my Screen Saver settings and then went over to Energy saver.

I have my settings as follows:

Computer sleep - 20 minutes

Display sleep - 5 minutes

Thought everything was fine, so I left for work. But when I returned, the computer was frozen on the screen saver again.

I set display sleep for 1 minute to test it out and after 1 minute, it didn't go to sleep... then I set my computer sleep to 1 minute as well, and it didn't go to sleep either.

I went to terminal and typed in "pmset -g" and this is what I got:
Active Profiles:
AC Power -1*
Currently in use:
autorestart 1
powerbutton 1
halfdim 1
panicrestart 15
hibernatefile /var/vm/sleepimage
networkoversleep 0
disksleep 10
sleep 0
hibernatemode 0
ttyskeepawake 1
displaysleep 5
womp 1
I don't know what the problem is, or how to fix it.

Now I'm paranoid, cause there's a bit of image retention on the screen because of it...

I'm having to manually put the computer to sleep when I leave.

Ideas? Solutions?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
iMac (2009), 3rd gen iPad, iPhone 5
kryptonkid07 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 04:49 AM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
You may find some useful ideas here:

Mac OS X: Why your Mac might not sleep or stay in sleep mode
Determine why your Mac wakes up from sleep
One sleep problem caused by printers - solved
GGJstudios is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 05:41 AM   #3
AndyMoore
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I haven't done any testing but noticed that my screen saver was running this morning after I put the iMac to sleep last night.

Chose -> Sleep and the screen went black and the iMac definitely went to sleep and remained that way for at least a few minutes before I went to bed yet the Screen Saver was running when I got up.
__________________
iMac 27" 2.8 i5 12Gb RAM 1TB HDD
iMac 20" 2.4 C2D 4Gb RAM 320Gb HDD & an iPod Touch 16Gb (2nd Gen)
The "No Expert" Guides To: OS X
The Blog
AndyMoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 09:27 AM   #4
kryptonkid07
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Thanks, but I don't see why anything would've changed when I upgraded to Mountain Lion.

It was working fine on Lion. Never had any problems at all.

The 2nd article talks about waking up from sleep, but my iMac never goes to sleep in the first place...

and the 3rd I know is not it for sure.
__________________
iMac (2009), 3rd gen iPad, iPhone 5
kryptonkid07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 06:50 PM   #5
Sweetfeld28
macrumors 65816
 
Sweetfeld28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Buckeye Country, O-H
Send a message via AIM to Sweetfeld28
My MP is doing the same thing. I'm not sure, it might be a bug, since on my computer it happens to every screen saver.

I left my computer on last night, noticed it was still on this morning before i went to work, and at some point it must of locked up; burning the flurry image onto the Cinema Display's screen.


For a temp fix, I have the screen saver set to Never, and have the Energy Settings turned to after 15mins, put the display to sleep.
__________________
Laptop: 15" Unibody MacBook Pro [Penryn], 2.53 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, nVidia 9400M
Desktop: Mac Pro [Harpertown] 2.8GHz Quad, 7GB RAM, 120 GT, 24" LED Cinema Display Mobile:iPhone
Sweetfeld28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 07:14 PM   #6
eagandale4114
macrumors 65816
 
eagandale4114's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
I had issues shutting down. Ran disk utility and repaired permissions. It worked perfectly after that.
__________________
Early 2011 MacBook Pro 17" with antiglare & iPhone 5s 32GB
PS3 & PS Vita
eagandale4114 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 07:45 PM   #7
Sweetfeld28
macrumors 65816
 
Sweetfeld28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Buckeye Country, O-H
Send a message via AIM to Sweetfeld28
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagandale4114 View Post
I had issues shutting down. Ran disk utility and repaired permissions. It worked perfectly after that.
Yeah I tried that as well, its still doing the same thing.
__________________
Laptop: 15" Unibody MacBook Pro [Penryn], 2.53 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, nVidia 9400M
Desktop: Mac Pro [Harpertown] 2.8GHz Quad, 7GB RAM, 120 GT, 24" LED Cinema Display Mobile:iPhone
Sweetfeld28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 11:00 PM   #8
eagandale4114
macrumors 65816
 
eagandale4114's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetfeld28 View Post
Yeah I tried that as well, its still doing the same thing.
Do a PRAM and SMC reset.
__________________
Early 2011 MacBook Pro 17" with antiglare & iPhone 5s 32GB
PS3 & PS Vita
eagandale4114 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 11:04 PM   #9
pmz
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Here's a guaranteed fix:

REINSTALL LION.

Why are you hunting for a fix for a problem in a beta OS?
pmz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2012, 06:28 PM   #10
kryptonkid07
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmz View Post
Here's a guaranteed fix:

REINSTALL LION.

Why are you hunting for a fix for a problem in a beta OS?
I have tried to reinstall Lion, but it isn't showing the Recovery Disk I need.

Maybe I am doing something wrong.
__________________
iMac (2009), 3rd gen iPad, iPhone 5
kryptonkid07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2012, 06:48 PM   #11
Sweetfeld28
macrumors 65816
 
Sweetfeld28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Buckeye Country, O-H
Send a message via AIM to Sweetfeld28
Use an installer disc, snow leopard if you have it. Then use a time machine back up.

That's what I'm doing right now.
__________________
Laptop: 15" Unibody MacBook Pro [Penryn], 2.53 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, nVidia 9400M
Desktop: Mac Pro [Harpertown] 2.8GHz Quad, 7GB RAM, 120 GT, 24" LED Cinema Display Mobile:iPhone
Sweetfeld28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2012, 10:36 PM   #12
pmz
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by kryptonkid07 View Post
I have tried to reinstall Lion, but it isn't showing the Recovery Disk I need.

Maybe I am doing something wrong.
Do you have an 8 GB USB Flash drive?

Everyone should have one of these, and create a bootable Lion install disc from it using Disc Utility.

It's dead simple, and preferable to using Apple's HDD Recovery Partition or Internet Recovery method.

Not only is it much faster than the old DVD, but more reliable, and easier to store/carry around.

Apple was clever with their 2 new Reinstall methods, but neither of them is both CLEAN and FAST.
pmz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 08:06 PM   #13
jabbawok
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Worcestershire
Send a message via MSN to jabbawok
My MacPro did a strange thing, It when white on display sleep.
Fortunately I use a second HDD for beta testing, which I advise everyone do.
I also recommend the flash drive. I have a 16gig one with Mac OS , Office, iLife and iWork on it.
__________________
Ducati 748 bp, Termi's , single seat.... Whoops wrong forum.
jabbawok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 04:55 PM   #14
atletasp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
The solution is NVIDIA DRIVERS 270.00.00f01

download from nvidia site the new Nvidia Mac Driver.
Apply it !!!!!!
atletasp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2012, 06:20 AM   #15
kryptonkid07
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by atletasp View Post
download from nvidia site the new Nvidia Mac Driver.
Apply it !!!!!!
Didn't work for me.
__________________
iMac (2009), 3rd gen iPad, iPhone 5
kryptonkid07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2012, 07:47 AM   #16
JangoFett124
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
File a bug report with Apple.
JangoFett124 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2012, 08:37 AM   #17
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
Well now that this isn't in beta I am still having the problem! Works sporadically at best. Any ideas?
__________________
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2012, 09:40 AM   #18
hafr
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stridemat View Post
Well now that this isn't in beta I am still having the problem! Works sporadically at best. Any ideas?
My current laptop shipped with Lion, and after a few weeks (months? I forget) it just stopped going to sleep. A fresh install later it returned to sleep, and as I reinstalled my apps one by one it still went into sleep mode. A while after that, it stopped working again and I just left it like that after having spent two or three weeks worth of evenings trying everything I could think of.

I upgraded to ML and it started working again. A little too well actually... Now it's going to sleep even when I've got torrents downloading, or a movie being converted. Things that kept the computer awake in Lion when sleep mode was working. So now I have to manually change the sleep setting to "never sleep" if I want it to work on a conversion for instance over night...

So, a fresh install did it for me in Lion. Have you tried that?
hafr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac will not stay in sleep dlewis23 iMac 5 Dec 12, 2013 11:28 AM
iMac does not want to go to sleep MacMythos iMac 2 Dec 11, 2013 06:21 PM
iMac will not go to sleep MrViking iMac 16 Mar 20, 2013 06:40 PM
G4 Imac display sleep? dirkblaze PowerPC Macs 0 Oct 30, 2012 11:40 AM
iMac sleep issue mrskullfreak iMac 2 Sep 28, 2012 01:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC