Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2012, 10:17 AM   #1
empireoflight
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
How to add application shortcuts to menu bar

Is there a simple way to do this? Back in the days of OS9, there was a utility called task menu bar that did this perfectly.
It's very simple; I just want to launch my apps via icons in the menubar. Once I have that going, I can ditch the dock.
empireoflight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 10:18 AM   #2
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Unless the app has a menu bar icon built-in you can't add it.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 11:57 AM   #3
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Never used it, but aLaunch sounds like what you're looking for.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 12:24 PM   #4
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
...or you can use Spotlight to launch apps
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 12:36 PM   #5
empireoflight
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
I tried alaunch, but it puts everything in submenus. Spotlight requires typing. I have a 1920px wide monitor—plenty of wasted space for icons.
It would be awesome to just option drag an app's or file's icon into the menubar, which I was able to do a long time ago with http://pw1.netcom.com/~kawahara/taskmenubar.html
empireoflight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2012, 12:37 PM   #6
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Well, in Leopard, there is a folder which I believe is called Menu Extras. You can put stuff from there into the menu bar. I don't know if they have to be a certain type of file or what. It might be worth taking a look.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 09:02 AM   #7
empireoflight
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg2 View Post
Well, in Leopard, there is a folder which I believe is called Menu Extras. You can put stuff from there into the menu bar. I don't know if they have to be a certain type of file or what. It might be worth taking a look.
Gregg, where's that folder? I'm on Lion, but it might be worth a look.
empireoflight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 09:05 AM   #8
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by empireoflight View Post
Gregg, where's that folder? I'm on Lion, but it might be worth a look.
System / Library / CoreServices, or you can use Finder > CMD+SHIFT+G and enter "Menu Extras" (without the "") and press ENTER.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 09:24 AM   #9
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
System / Library / CoreServices, or you can use Finder > CMD+SHIFT+G and enter "Menu Extras" (without the "") and press ENTER.
Just entering Menu Extras won't do anything. You have to provide the whole path in the Command-Shift-G dialog box. Entering /System/Library/CoreServices/Menu Extras will work there, however.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 09:26 AM   #10
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mal View Post
Just entering Menu Extras won't do anything. You have to provide the whole path in the Command-Shift-G dialog box. Entering /System/Library/CoreServices/Menu Extras will work there, however.

jW
It worked for me in 10.6.8. Will try in another account.

EDIT: Must have been a hiccup, you are correct, it does not work like I described earlier.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 12:42 PM   #11
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
I looked in there on my Mac, and though I can't remember the nomenclature, it appears that it requires a special type of file. But, once that is present, I believe that all you have to do is drag the file from that folder to the Menu to get an icon there.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 01:01 PM   #12
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Menu Extras were a particular type of plug-in type file (don't know exactly how they were created), and you can only put Menu Extras in the menubar, not apps. This has been discussed previously in the thread.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 08:23 AM   #13
empireoflight
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Seems like such an obvious UI feature; I'm truly amazed there's no way to do this.
empireoflight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2012, 08:02 AM   #14
TwisterMc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Minneapolis Area
Send a message via Yahoo to TwisterMc
Butler will let you put apps in your menu bar.
http://manytricks.com/butler/
TwisterMc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to supercharge Mini? ranny2 Mac mini 18 Oct 27, 2011 08:53 PM
How To Remove Server Part Of Lion? hhaydenn iMac 2 Aug 18, 2011 05:21 PM
how to make an iso into a img (does not work as an .iso) mud25 Mac Basics and Help 2 Jul 19, 2011 09:30 PM
How to add a shortcut in the menu bar? macbrain2010 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jan 10, 2010 04:02 PM
How to add a program to "open with" menu Millwood Mac Basics and Help 3 Mar 8, 2007 12:34 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC