Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 17, 2014, 07:46 PM   #1
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Space Engineers (Steam)- Anyone Playing?

This is in pre-release at $20 on Steam. Anyone playing? If so a critique would be appreciated. Do you think it has longevity? Honestly my impression is that you are not going to build the most wonderful space ship, with a plush living quarters. Could I be wrong?
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2014, 11:21 PM   #2
Huntn
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
I forgot to ask, is there local coop with 2 computers? At one point it had not been implemented. Wondering if it is there now? Thanks!
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2014, 10:27 AM   #3
Huntn
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
I forgot to ask, is there local coop with 2 computers? At one point it had not been implemented. Wondering if it is there now? Thanks!
I have purchased this game (it's in beta on Steam $19) and it does have coop. Any friend you have on Steam can be invited. I've cooped on my local home network and it works well.

The attraction for me is building fancy space ships in Creative Mode. I don't see myself taking the time to mine asteroids for the material before manufacturing. I just don't have the patience. Speaking of fancy ships?

Check out Star Wars ships at PC Gamer.


__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2014, 11:41 AM   #4
Huntn
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Oh come on! Someone must be playing this. Minecraft in space. Maybe I can entice you!

Game is still in beta. More work to be done. Curved surfaces are blocky. There is virtually no furniture for the plush Captain's quarters I've allocated. On a recent update, they created pistons! Before that doors, large hanger style doors had to be "Rube Goldberg" rigged with rotors and arms. After I finish this, don't ask me what I'm going to do with it. Building in creative mode. It's addictive.

.
Orion Construction Project


It's Big


Bare Bones Orion Bridge- Needs some stations, even if they are just for looks. Thinking of the bleakness of the vacuum on the other side of the glass, I'd prefer large projection screens instead of windows.


Functional Hanger Bay Door


Hanger Bay Door Exterior


The Bleak Captain's Quarters- Furniture and appointments needed.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.

Last edited by Huntn; Aug 4, 2014 at 12:48 PM.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2014, 07:52 PM   #5
Mackilroy
macrumors 68040
 
Mackilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Send a message via AIM to Mackilroy
I have Space Engineers. It's quite fun, especially when you smash your ship into something else and have to repair itů

Also, you should change your skybox.
__________________
Can a mortal ask questions which God finds unanswerable? Quite easily, I should think. All nonsense questions are unanswerable.
Mackilroy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 08:13 AM   #6
Huntn
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mackilroy View Post
I have Space Engineers. It's quite fun, especially when you smash your ship into something else and have to repair it…

Also, you should change your skybox.
I had no idea! Thanks for the suggestion. Does the skybox change anything else other than the backdrop such as the numbers of asteroids?

Edit: I'll answer my own question: no.

After spending many hours on this creation, smashing into things is what I'd prefer to avoid and I wonder how a large ship can tool around and not collide with the bunches of asteroids?

Edit: There are not as many asteroids as I once thought.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.

Last edited by Huntn; Aug 5, 2014 at 11:01 AM.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 10:58 AM   #7
Huntn
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Holy Smokes, thanks Mackilroy!

New skybox is using the Mars Skybox. Browse the skyboxes here. The process is fairly simple to update the default, butt-ugly backdrop.


BEFORE


AFTER


BEFORE


AFTER
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.

Last edited by Huntn; Aug 5, 2014 at 03:41 PM.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 12:14 PM   #8
Mackilroy
macrumors 68040
 
Mackilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Send a message via AIM to Mackilroy
Looks pretty good! Below is the skybox I use.

You're right, but I enjoy tinkering and taking things apart, then putting them back together.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	244850_screenshots_2014-08-04_00049.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	381.5 KB
ID:	484399  
__________________
Can a mortal ask questions which God finds unanswerable? Quite easily, I should think. All nonsense questions are unanswerable.
Mackilroy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 06:11 PM   #9
Huntn
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mackilroy View Post
Looks pretty good! Below is the skybox I use.

You're right, but I enjoy tinkering and taking things apart, then putting them back together.
I considered that skybox and was afraid it would be too busy, but it is gorgeous! Does it adversely effect your performance? I noticed on some of the skybox comments, people specifically said "this one does not cause performance issues". From that I assume some do?
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 06:26 PM   #10
Mackilroy
macrumors 68040
 
Mackilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Send a message via AIM to Mackilroy
Doesn't feel busy at all--no effect on performance, either. It's the only one I've tried, I can't speak for any other.
__________________
Can a mortal ask questions which God finds unanswerable? Quite easily, I should think. All nonsense questions are unanswerable.
Mackilroy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2014, 09:46 AM   #11
Huntn
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Blast Door Building Issue: I'm having an issue with building blast doors in combination with pistons. I've noticed that when I build blast doors, that the blocks when pistons are involved have issues with not being fully connected to each other in both axis of the door, horizontal and vertical. In other words I can see that as the door moves, not all of the blocks are connected to each other, small cracks form along some seams. Is this because I'm trying to connect some of these blocks to both a piston and to another block?

For the example door it's large with 5 pistons. I connect a blast door block to a piston, then build the door sideways to the next piston and connect the block adjacent to the piston to the piston and not to the line of blocks I'm building. I always assumed in a situation like this the block over a piston would connect to both the piston and to the row of blocks that makes up the door. Is this not true?

Is this a bug? Is there a way to avoid this issue?
Thanks!

(I also posted in the Steam Community Forums: http://steamcommunity.com/app/244850...9681476646216/

Regarding the blast door issue with multiple pistons here is the answer. Some improvements can be made, but this makes it workable:

http://steamcommunity.com//sharedfil.../?id=298117839
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.

Last edited by Huntn; Aug 11, 2014 at 08:55 AM.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Tags
space engineers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steam game still in Launchpad despite removing the game's local files via Steam petrucci666 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Dec 19, 2013 12:20 PM
OS X: Nancy Drew games on Steam / Steam support issues mollyparrot Mac and PC Games 0 Jul 25, 2013 09:49 PM
Engineers? Squilly Community Discussion 47 May 7, 2013 01:31 PM
Electrical Engineers, Help! Where can I buy this transistor? carbonmotion Community Discussion 6 Feb 21, 2013 08:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC