Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Old Feb 23, 2012, 05:19 AM   #1
yjchua95
macrumors 68000

Send a message via Skype™ to yjchua95
Mountain Lion installing on another partition

Hello.
I got my hand on an ML dmg and have created two partitions on my MBP's hard drive. One is the standard 10.7.3 and another is a blank Mac OS Extended (Journaled) 40GB partition for ML.
I can't seem to create a bootable disk (used Disk Util to restore my USB with the dmg. Although I erased the USB as Mac OS Extended (Journaled), however, after restoring the dmg into it, the format became Mac OS Extended (not journaled).
So now can I just open the dmg in Lion instead, and then select it to install in my second 40GB partition instead? Or does it require Lion to install it from the dmg instead?
Thanks.
PS This may sound dumb, but I've never tried this before and am not going to risk wiping my Lion partition first.
Old Feb 23, 2012, 05:21 AM   #2
Hellhammer

Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Just open the installer in Lion and you can choose the empty partition as the target of the installation.
Old Feb 23, 2012, 05:36 AM   #3
yjchua95
macrumors 68000

Err does this work fine? I'm afraid it may wreak havoc on my Lion partition, even if I select the other partition I have specifically created for ML :P
Thanks for your response!

----------

And PS, I have also read some posts stating that one can't boot back to Lion after installing ML, although it's in another partition. Is this true?
Thank you.
Old Feb 23, 2012, 05:43 AM   #4
Hellhammer

Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by yjchua95 View Post
Err does this work fine? I'm afraid it may wreak havoc on my Lion partition, even if I select the other partition I have specifically created for ML :P
Thanks for your response!