Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 26, 2012, 08:44 PM   #1
maccedydaddy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Blacklisted iPhone 4?

Hi bromigos. How can you tell for sure if your iPhone 4 is IMEI blacklisted? I have a weird feeling mine just might be, but I don't know how to get this verified.

And if this is the case, are there any solutions?

PS. I bought the phone from some random guy.
maccedydaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 08:45 PM   #2
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Contact the carrier. They can tell you if it is and why.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 06:48 PM   #3
maccedydaddy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
I'm not 100 % certain who the carrier is. I've tried two sited who supposedly tells you if it is, but I am uncertain of the validity of these. One of them was from Apple, the other one I can't remember. No other way?
maccedydaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 08:09 PM   #4
normanbates
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Call your provider, explain the situation of how you came into possession of the iPhone and ask them if they can check the database to see if the iPhone shows up (they'll need the IMEI number)

In the UK all carriers share the same database so they should be able to tell you
normanbates is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 08:26 PM   #5
wrinkster22
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by maccedydaddy View Post
I'm not 100 % certain who the carrier is. I've tried two sited who supposedly tells you if it is, but I am uncertain of the validity of these. One of them was from Apple, the other one I can't remember. No other way?
Where are you?
If you are in the states-
if it has a sim card slot on the right hand side of the phone- AT & T
No sim card slot- Verizon

although it probably is verizon because
a) they don't use sim cards so you can report the IMEI
b) they are the main CDMA iPhone seller in the states.
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 08:36 PM   #6
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Random guy sales aren't what they used to be.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 09:01 PM   #7
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
If you stick a valid sim you will know if it's blacklisted.
It will say no service or have no signal at all.
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 11:13 AM   #8
maccedydaddy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Thanks for the answers. I am in France and the carrier was supposed to be Orange (which worked for activating the phone). If it worked for the activation, does this necessarily means this is the carrier, and thus if it gets no signal, that it's blacklisted?
maccedydaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 11:17 AM   #9
TriJetHero
macrumors 601
 
TriJetHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: World
Quote:
Originally Posted by maccedydaddy View Post
Thanks for the answers. I am in France and the carrier was supposed to be Orange (which worked for activating the phone). If it worked for the activation, does this necessarily means this is the carrier, and thus if it gets no signal, that it's blacklisted?
Yes or it has hardware issues
__________________
iPhone 6 iOS 8.1 Pangu
iPhone 5 iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 4 3G iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 2 WIFI iOS 8.0 GM
TriJetHero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 01:10 PM   #10
normanbates
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by TriJetHero View Post
Yes or it has hardware issues
The activation doesn't go through the network. It goes to the Apple servers to check the correct SIM is inserted doesn't it?
normanbates is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blacklisted iPhone 5 barr0n iPhone 14 Aug 27, 2014 10:14 PM
iPhone: iPhone 4s unactivated blacklisted, can it be unlocked? roberrda Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 21 Dec 15, 2013 02:01 PM
iPhone 4S blacklisted unlock Dexter125 iPhone 0 Dec 21, 2012 06:47 PM
Barred/Blacklisted UK iphone 4s get signal in Uk!! galloru iPhone 2 Sep 9, 2012 06:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC