Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 18, 2005, 10:18 AM   #1
j26
macrumors 65816
 
j26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Paddyland
Just dropped my PowerBook on a tiled floor

Aaaaaaaaaaargh!!!!!!



It was connected to the phone line and I tripped over the cable.

Luckly there is no major damage, just a couple of scratches.

What I need ot know is, do I have to do any tests to see if it is ok, or can I just trust that it is working, since I managed to get back on the internet?
__________________
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur.
j26 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2005, 10:31 AM   #2
_bnkr612
macrumors 6502a
 
_bnkr612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Make sure your RAM and airport card (if there is one) are still tightly in their slots.

Be glad you plugged into a powerbook instead of plugging your line into a $2,000 vase.
__________________
Mens sana in corpore sano.

Last edited by _bnkr612; Jun 18, 2005 at 10:34 AM.
_bnkr612 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2005, 11:36 AM   #3
18thTomorrow
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Alpha Quadrant
Run Disk Utility and make sure you still have SMART status verified on your harddrive.
18thTomorrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2005, 11:43 AM   #4
buryyourbrideau
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chicago
Send a message via AIM to buryyourbrideau
if you had got applecare, run the hardware test cd that came with it and that will check everything.
__________________
And when it all goes to hell....

buryyourbrideau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2005, 12:18 PM   #5
dmw007
macrumors 603
 
dmw007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Working for MI-6
Sorry to hear about your accident. Make sure RAM and your airport card (as posted above) are installed/seated properly. Just be glad your 'book did not suffer more severe damage.
__________________
3.2 GHz Mac Pro Nehalem
PowerBook 1400cs/133, 450MHz G4 Cube, 500MHz Pismo
iPhone 3GS, 60GB iPod
dmw007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2005, 01:03 PM   #6
wdlove
macrumors 604
 
wdlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Yes, running the CD that comes with your AppleCare will perform hardware tests. It's essentially Tech Tools. Sounds good though that you are able to get on the Internet. Good luck.
__________________
First MacRumors "Contributor"
wdlove is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2005, 10:33 AM   #7
cardiac dave
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: iToronto
Send a message via AIM to cardiac dave Send a message via MSN to cardiac dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by buryyourbrideau
if you had got applecare, run the hardware test cd that came with it and that will check everything.
My iBook came with a separate HW Test CD... a boot disk

This is a different program than the one that comes with Applecare right?
cardiac dave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2005, 10:47 AM   #8
xsedrinam
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardiac dave
My iBook came with a separate HW Test CD... a boot disk This is a different program than the one that comes with Applecare right?
Apple Care Protection Plan issues TechTool Deluxe which, as mentioned, will run HW Test as will the Software Install and Restore DiskI supplied with the new PB. With the Restore Disk inserted and rebooting with the Option Key held down, the menu for Hardware Test will show from the Disk.
X
xsedrinam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2005, 10:55 AM   #9
Lacero
macrumors 601
 
Lacero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Is your tiled floor ok?
Lacero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2005, 02:51 PM   #10
slooksterPSV
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nowheresville
Send a message via AIM to slooksterPSV Send a message via MSN to slooksterPSV Send a message via Yahoo to slooksterPSV
Dang it, Lacero beat me to it lol.

Sorry to hear about the little trip. Probably scared the hell out of you. I mean, that tile's gotta be expensive. Just kidding, probably did scare you about the PB. I know I would freak out if I dropped my iBook. Apple's laptops are tough though. Hope everythings well and ok.

Good luck.
__________________
AMD Phenom 9600, 2GB RAM, 250GB HDD, ATI Radeon 4850, Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Gateway NV53 with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit & Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx 64-bit
slooksterPSV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2005, 02:53 PM   #11
Eniregnat
macrumors 68000
 
Eniregnat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In your head.
I broke my ethernet port and later the HD failed. Watch the HD.

If you have to replace it, read here.

The local Apple guys were supprised. And so was I, no logic board damage. These things are tanks.

Last edited by Eniregnat; Jun 23, 2005 at 03:11 PM.
Eniregnat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2005, 03:03 PM   #12
xsedrinam
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Here's a good how to article on reseating your airport card and check antenna just in case it doesn't show on your hardware tests. My computer (in case) fell off the check-in counter at the Miami airport and I discoverd it jolted the card loose. Had to reseat it.
http://macs.about.com/gi/dynamic/off...artnum%3D95133
X
xsedrinam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2005, 03:05 PM   #13
Bozola
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: So close to Redmond, I can smell it!
Mine fell off a car roof!!

http://homepage.mac.com/bozola/PhotoAlbum5.html

And it works fine...
__________________
Bozola
Proudly 100% Mac. No PC's ever!
Bozola is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2005, 03:39 PM   #14
JzzTrump22
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to JzzTrump22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bozola
Wow, that took a nasty spill!
JzzTrump22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2005, 05:02 PM   #15
ericssonboi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
I'll buy it for $300 .. hehe...

Do some hardware tests.. and see if they all check out ok
ericssonboi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2005, 05:33 PM   #16
snackcakeofd00m
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
use the apple hardware disk utility. i use it all the time. works perfect
__________________
snack's gaming blog
snackcakeofd00m is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiled pearapps iPhone and iPod touch Apps 1 Aug 20, 2013 02:52 AM
Dropped iPhone 5 on wood floor gadget123 iPhone 41 Mar 21, 2013 10:15 PM
Dropped my MBA11 from chest height onto solid wood floor and... BluePhilG MacBook Air 15 Feb 28, 2013 01:18 AM
Dropped MBP on the floor pauvrelola MacBook Pro 5 Dec 1, 2012 05:03 AM
MBP dropped on floor, wont load up! ryan.1 MacBook Pro 6 Sep 11, 2012 05:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC