Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 28, 2012, 07:18 PM   #1
NCB
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Unhappy No service/searching on iPhone 3gs after unlocking and restoring

Hello everyone. I recently unlocked my iPhone using redsn0w, on the firmeware 5.0.1 and Baseband 05.16.05. After Jailbreaking I could rarely get service, and decided to restore my iphone, so I did so using iTunes restore option. I am still not able to get a signal for more than a few minutes at a time. I have read some forum posts, and watched some videos, and have seen that you can fix it by updating your baseband to 6.15.00, however, I also hear that that greatly limits your ability to restore or update the iphone in the future. I have also already tried a network reset, and various sim card tricks. Does anyone know how to fix this searching/no signal issue? I am no longer concerned with jail breaking my phone, I just want to have my phone back. Thank you!
NCB is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 08:15 PM   #2
Myzhi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
You can't software unlock, using Ultrasnow, with 5.16 baseband. Redsnow Is use to jailbreak the phone. It does not unlock the phone. When you did a restore, did you setup as a new device? If you restore from
backup, some traces of JB could persist and could cause issues. If you restore as new, using the official carrier sim and still have signal issue, could be a hardware failure issue.
Myzhi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 08:30 PM   #3
NCB
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myzhi View Post
You can't software unlock, using Ultrasnow, with 5.16 baseband. Redsnow Is use to jailbreak the phone. It does not unlock the phone. When you did a restore, did you setup as a new device? If you restore from
backup, some traces of JB could persist and could cause issues. If you restore as new, using the official carrier sim and still have signal issue, could be a hardware failure issue.
what do you reccomend that I do? I got the 5600ms error or something along those lines, when I was jailbreaking, but I assure you, I was able to jailbreak the phone, I even got a few emulators set up before the signal issues started to become evident. Should I set it up as a new phone?
NCB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 09:12 PM   #4
labman
macrumors 604
 
labman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mich near Detroit
6.15 baseband is your only option right now unless have a newer 3gs in that case 6.15 or ipad baseband will brick it.. a search here or google will tell you everything you need to know. iclarfied is recommended for tutorials..
__________________
IP4+Hackintosh Pro Joining AT&T PM me get $25 Dev-Teams Blog My TwitterCan I JB/UL my device Click here
labman is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 10:20 PM   #5
OneMore
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Question

Have anyone heard about the same with iphone4+5.0.1+BB 04.10.01?
"No service" even with AT&T card in US...
I don't want to hijack this thread, so I added new one for the case, you can reply there or feel free to combine 2 in 1...

Last edited by OneMore; Feb 28, 2012 at 10:43 PM.
OneMore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 05:04 PM   #6
NCB
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by labman View Post
6.15 baseband is your only option right now unless have a newer 3gs in that case 6.15 or ipad baseband will brick it.. a search here or google will tell you everything you need to know. iclarfied is recommended for tutorials..
Ok, thanks, I have a newer 3gs. I am just hesitant about updating to 6.15

Last edited by NCB; Feb 29, 2012 at 10:02 PM.
NCB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 09:59 PM   #7
NCB
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Could I do what he did in this video, but use the baseband preservation mode, as to keep my baseband but restore my cell functionality, or will that not work?
If not I am just going to upgrade to 6.15, which I am beginning to feel will be the only way I will be able to get it working. Will I ever be able to update my phone again if i go to 6.15, I am guessing no.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=5DenkhppHho
NCB is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 10:56 PM   #8
greganpace
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myzhi View Post
You can't software unlock, using Ultrasnow, with 5.16 baseband. Redsnow Is use to jailbreak the phone. It does not unlock the phone. When you did a restore, did you setup as a new device? If you restore from
backup, some traces of JB could persist and could cause issues. If you restore as new, using the official carrier sim and still have signal issue, could be a hardware failure issue.
Any other way to unlock a 3GS on 5.16? The way you worded this implies that maybe another JB will be able to unlock it. I am selling my 3GS and someone asked if they could unlock it.
greganpace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2012, 05:06 AM   #9
Myzhi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by greganpace View Post
Any other way to unlock a 3GS on 5.16? The way you worded this implies that maybe another JB will be able to unlock it. I am selling my 3GS and someone asked if they could unlock it.
Nope. If you have old bootrom, you can install the hacked iPad 6.15 baseband and unlock it with Ultrasnow software. If you have the new bootrom, NO option since trying to install the iPad baseband would kill the phone.
Myzhi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2012, 03:43 PM   #10
NCB
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myzhi View Post
Nope. If you have old bootrom, you can install the hacked iPad 6.15 baseband and unlock it with Ultrasnow software. If you have the new bootrom, NO option since trying to install the iPad baseband would kill the phone.
So if I have the new bootroom am I out of luck?
NCB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 11:43 PM   #11
harrysapphire
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
I've got this too after jailbreaking my new bootrom 3GS 5.0.1 05.16.05. It was entirely my fault tho since I didn't know my baseband wasn't currently unlockable.

I followed this http://www.coolestguyplanet.net/upgr...#disqus_thread

It worked well. I almost thought I was successful at jailbreaking and unlocking it until I switched the SIM. I got "Searching/No Device".

Is there a way I can fix this? Will restoring help?
harrysapphire is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 04:32 PM   #12
Dual-c
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Hi all...

I've a jailbroken 3GS (JB a year ago) and I finally upgraded the the software to ios5 and was successful restoring the last back up info for the phone, but I'm getting "no service" at the top. I do have iPad baseband as firmware 06.15.00. Can someone be kind enough to advise how to fix this?
Dual-c is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 11:53 AM   #13
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
ios 5.x.x doesn't play nicely with ipad bb.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dual-c View Post
Hi all...

I've a jailbroken 3GS (JB a year ago) and I finally upgraded the the software to ios5 and was successful restoring the last back up info for the phone, but I'm getting "no service" at the top. I do have iPad baseband as firmware 06.15.00. Can someone be kind enough to advise how to fix this?
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2014 rMBP 2.8 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Nvidia GeForce GT 750M
eastercat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 04:12 PM   #14
Dual-c
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by eastercat View Post
ios 5.x.x doesn't play nicely with ipad bb.
So does this mean I'm hooped? or can the firmware be changed? Or is the firmware a done deal and can't be changed?
Dual-c is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 05:20 PM   #15
Myzhi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dual-c View Post
So does this mean I'm hooped? or can the firmware be changed? Or is the firmware a done deal and can't be changed?
have you or Cydia been saving your old SHSH blob files? if yes, you can downgrade the firmware to 4.XX blobs you have saved. Run Tinyumbrella and restore with a custom firmware file.
Myzhi is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why "no Service" then "Searching" for factory unlocked, jailbrok iPhone 3GS iOS 4.3.5 heathvc iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 29 Jun 10, 2013 05:25 AM
iphone 5 no service/searching.. chigga iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 May 7, 2013 08:18 AM
iPhone 4 searching/no service dfrazier81 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 7 Mar 17, 2013 06:49 PM
iPhone: Iphone 3gs Help~ Unlocking and Restoring monica74 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Jan 21, 2013 12:28 PM
No service after unlocking iPhone 3GS PLEASE HELP ME! cheerrock96 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jun 2, 2012 08:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC