Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 1, 2012, 08:37 AM   #1
Kendo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Why is firewall turned off as default?

Do they do this because a firewall isn't needed for Macs in the same way an antivirus isn't needed? I've been using my Mac for a few months and just noticed that the firewall wasn't up yesterday when I was fooling around with the system settings.
Kendo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2012, 08:39 AM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendo View Post
Do they do this because a firewall isn't needed for Macs in the same way an antivirus isn't needed? I've been using my Mac for a few months and just noticed that the firewall wasn't up yesterday when I was fooling around with the system settings.
I don't know why it's that way, but my guess is that perhaps they assume everyone is behind a hardware firewall these days and therefore the software firewall is not necessary.
__________________
Magnificent Seventh
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2012, 08:43 AM   #3
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Most routers and ISP supplied modems come with a firewall...OSX assumes this and allows you to use it's features or not as required.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2012, 08:58 AM   #4
Kendo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
Most routers and ISP supplied modems come with a firewall...OSX assumes this and allows you to use it's features or not as required.
My ISP modem is connected to my Wi-Fi router which is connected to my MacBook Air. Would I be considered safe?
Kendo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2012, 09:29 AM   #5
dusk007
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
That depends if the wifi router has a firewall that is also activated.
Just type in the gateway's ip into the browser and check out the router settings.
I guess it is deactivated because it takes a bit of extra work to configure. After all computer idiots are freaked out by any popup and with an active firewall there are a few of those "do you allow app xy access".
They probably should do it like Windows and tell the user properly to activate it or at least think on it a second.

Technically you need a firewall on OSX just as much as on Windows. Yet there are very few attacks that target any osx service and thus you are fairly save unless there is anybody who specifically attacks you. On Windows there are worms that do harm but are so easily blocked by a simple firewall. Still a firewall just blocks some stuff but an attacker still requires some listening service that well listens and can be corrupted to do any harm. Hacking computers is not as straight forward and always possible as they make it look like in movies. Where the genius can hack anything in a rather short time with his notebook and web access. You can set up a linux server that is impossible to hack for the best of the best computer geniuses but it is a rather stripped down thing. The more stuff an os can do, the more apps are installed, well everything adds potential holes that can be exploited.
I think the most use of a firewall on the os level for the normal users is to make them aware of what apps access the web and offer a little bit of control. If there is the odd app that should only do something locally but asks for web access you can block it and whatever it might do with its access is blocked. It is one way that could prevent spyware and bot nets if people took a little care.
dusk007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPod touch 2ng Gen turns off randomly. wickedking94 iPod touch 1 Feb 8, 2012 03:57 PM
Why is firewall off by default in OS X? Kendo OS X 4 Nov 19, 2011 10:26 AM
Why was the 'Documents & Data' setting turned ON as default? Qute iOS 5 and earlier 0 Nov 15, 2011 08:02 PM
Why does HDR turn off when flash is turned on? mo25 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Feb 8, 2011 11:07 PM
Firewall switched off by default? bigjobby MacBook Pro 1 May 16, 2010 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC