Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 13, 2012, 08:46 AM   #1
arnoz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Send a message via AIM to arnoz
Issue with 2nd Gen Airport Express (the baby Extreme one)

Hi,


I bought a 2nd Gen Airport Express (the one that looks like a baby Extreme one). I set it up to extend the network from an Extreme.


It connects fine, my laptop can connect to the extended network, I see it has roughly 50db of signal and 140MB/s of bandwidth.


Yet, every minute or so I just lose the connection. This happens on all devices at the same time (e.g. cannot browse from Mac or iPhone). I am still connected, can still see the full WiFi icon near the clock on the Mac but there is just no more IP connectivity. I don't have the usual "you are not connected to the Internet" though.


I don't really know what I could do but it just "seems" there is some issue with the fact the sometimes it's using the 5ghz band, sometimes the 2.4 one. In the Airport menu it seems it's switching from one to another.
Airport Utility doesn't report any issue and notes the connection on the remote Express is "excellent".


Thanks!
arnoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 10:02 PM   #2
omegalink
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnoz View Post
Hi,


I bought a 2nd Gen Airport Express (the one that looks like a baby Extreme one). I set it up to extend the network from an Extreme.


It connects fine, my laptop can connect to the extended network, I see it has roughly 50db of signal and 140MB/s of bandwidth.


Yet, every minute or so I just lose the connection. This happens on all devices at the same time (e.g. cannot browse from Mac or iPhone). I am still connected, can still see the full WiFi icon near the clock on the Mac but there is just no more IP connectivity. I don't have the usual "you are not connected to the Internet" though.


I don't really know what I could do but it just "seems" there is some issue with the fact the sometimes it's using the 5ghz band, sometimes the 2.4 one. In the Airport menu it seems it's switching from one to another.
Airport Utility doesn't report any issue and notes the connection on the remote Express is "excellent".


Thanks!
There's a bug in the firmware.
omegalink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 05:06 AM   #3
arnoz
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Send a message via AIM to arnoz
THat's what you personally think or you mean it's a known issue?
arnoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC