"Command not found" with RVM, etc - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 3, 2012, 09:34 AM   #1
iamneek
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
"Command not found" with RVM, etc

Hi all, this is my first post but I am hoping you all can help me here. I know my way around computers, but apparently not as much as I thought.

I finally upgraded to 10.7.3 last night, and also downloaded XCode as well.

I wanted to pursue Ruby/RoR so I went to the Aptana site and downloaded the Aptana studio from the website. I downloaded git and installed it, and I figured I was good to go. So with RVM install it lays it out pretty straightforward, or so I thought.

I tried $ bash -s stable < <(curl -s https://raw.github.com/wayneeseguin/.../rvm-installer) but it then says "-bash: $: command not found"

So I did a sudo command, and that installed it (I think, I can't find it anywhere). But it won't work for ANY OTHER command. Everything comes up as "command not found".

It shows that git is located in usr/local, so does anybody have any idea as to what the problem may be, and what I can do? I really want to get started on learning Ruby and not spending my whole Saturday figuring out some error that I couldn't even begin to figure out on my own.

Many thanks!!
iamneek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 11:52 AM   #2
larkost
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
My first guess is that you are thinking that the dollar sign is part of the command. It isn't, it is just the command propt that is already there when you start typing.

The second part is that if things are installed into places that are not on your $PATH (use `echo $PATH` to get this), then by default the command line will not search there for them when trying to interpret what you wrote. This is all part of the basic (but initally cryptic) useage of the command line, and if you are serious about working with the lower layers of MacOS X, then you should find a book and get familiar with it.
larkost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 11:53 AM   #3
Dweez
macrumors 65816
 
Dweez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Down by the river
How about a screenshot of the terminal session?
__________________
sudo make me a sandwich
Dweez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 12:20 PM   #4
iamneek
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by larkost View Post
My first guess is that you are thinking that the dollar sign is part of the command. It isn't, it is just the command propt that is already there when you start typing.

The second part is that if things are installed into places that are not on your $PATH (use `echo $PATH` to get this), then by default the command line will not search there for them when trying to interpret what you wrote. This is all part of the basic (but initally cryptic) useage of the command line, and if you are serious about working with the lower layers of MacOS X, then you should find a book and get familiar with it.
Thanks for your reply. Someone mentioned to me that $ isn't part of the command when I asked for help somewhere else, so I got that part figured out. (Thanks though for mentioning it, I never saw it mentioned anywhere else)

When I type in
Code:
echo $PATH
I get
Code:
/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11/bin:/usr/local/git/bin:/Users/XXXX/.rvm/bin

*XXXX = My username

I'm not really looking to get familiar with the lower levels of OS X, as it's not quite what I'm looking to accomplish at this time, I'm just trying to get this to work so I can get to coding Ruby with Aptana.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dweez View Post
How about a screenshot of the terminal session?
I closed out the terminal since I posted it since then.

However, when I tried downloading and installing RVM, that worked, however now when I type in:

Code:
source ~/.bash_profile
according to the installation process on RVM, it comes up as
Code:
-bash: /Users/*****/.bash_profile: No such file or directory
So, this is all really confusing me.
iamneek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 09:15 AM   #5
iamneek
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
I ended up doing the install of Ruby 1.9.3, but I still get [the same error]

Last edited by balamw; Mar 4, 2012 at 10:38 AM. Reason: Edited bump
iamneek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 11:17 AM   #6
robvas
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamneek View Post
\
However, when I tried downloading and installing RVM, that worked, however now when I type in:

Code:
source ~/.bash_profile
according to the installation process on RVM, it comes up as
Code:
-bash: /Users/*****/.bash_profile: No such file or directory
So, this is all really confusing me.
There's no .bash_profile by default. You can create one, however.
robvas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 07:43 PM   #7
iamneek
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by robvas View Post
There's no .bash_profile by default. You can create one, however.
Ah that makes sense, thank you!
iamneek is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General: iOS7 command line... Equivalent of "say" command? RobertoG Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jan 19, 2014 05:05 PM
sudo "Command not found" Spontida Mac Programming 9 Nov 13, 2013 08:51 AM
"Applications" menu command - "item cannot be found" - owner/permissions? (10.6.8) MacOSExustio OS X 2 Jul 20, 2013 05:05 AM
Trying to extract .cab files. "-bash: unshield: command not found" matto200 OS X 0 Mar 17, 2013 03:04 PM
Did I break bash? Getting "sudo" command not found... mar2194 OS X 6 Jan 10, 2013 07:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC