Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Yesterday, 04:53 PM   #1
lhoffstadt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
MacPro G5 or Mac Mini

Hi all, I want to ask for your advice on buying a desktop Mac.
What I want to do is to run Mavericks and also be able to used Autocad, Photoshop, etc.
Maybe the graphics cards in the MacPro G5 is old and I can increase the DIMM but I will want to ask for your opinion and recommendation on which would be best, is the G5 to old and I will spend more money buying parts?

Please help me on this, thanks.

I have two options.

MacPro G5 (1.1)
-2 x Intel Xeon 5150 Woodcrest 2.66GHz 4MB L2 Cache LGA771 40W Dual-Core Xeon
-8Gb RAM comprising of 8x 1GB
-1 x 250Gb HDD
-SuperDrive DVD RW
-Nvida GeForce 7300GT DVI dual head graphics card

or

Mac Mini

Macmini4,1 - A1347
2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
3 MB on-chip L2
4 GB (2 2 GB) 1066 MHz
Nvidia GeForce 320M
1 TB 5400 rpm SATA HDD
lhoffstadt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:03 PM   #2
lhoffstadt
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
for what a I read, with this card I can run Mavericks

http://www.ebay.com/itm/nVidia-Gefor...item3a990d5eab

any idea if this really works?
lhoffstadt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:29 PM   #3
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by lhoffstadt View Post
for what a I read, with this card I can run Mavericks

http://www.ebay.com/itm/nVidia-Gefor...item3a990d5eab

any idea if this really works?
Time for more research

That is NOT a G5, and if you are considering G5s or buy one you will be sorely disappointed. This is worth looking into before dropping $$$
__________________
http://www.macvidcards.com
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:30 PM   #4
lhoffstadt
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Sorry, Mac pro 1.1 is the correct name?
lhoffstadt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:22 PM   #5
lhoffstadt
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Time for more research

That is NOT a G5, and if you are considering G5s or buy one you will be sorely disappointed. This is worth looking into before dropping $$$
you are correct, is not a G5, is a Mac Pro 1.1.
Based on your experience what do you think it would be best?
1.1 or the Mac mini?

thanks
lhoffstadt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:07 PM   #6
NOTNlCE
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: DMV Area
I wouldn't buy either, to be quite honest. Unless you are literally constrained to these two machines, I would look into getting a Mac Pro 4,1 for your type of work. However, if you must choose between these two, I think the Mac Pro 1,1 will be much better than Mini, by far. Plus the Mac Pro can be upgraded to an 8 core, use better graphics cards, and take much more memory. But still, both machines are less than optimal if you're doing serious Autocad and Photoshop work. Perhaps you can provide more details? What is your budget? How heavy is your workload? What are you currently using?
__________________
X99 Workstation i7-5820K Dual GTX 660s - 13" MBP '09 - iMac G4 20" i5-4250U
Dell Latitude D630 10.7.5 - Power Mac G4 Dual 500MHz - Mac Pro 1,1 4 Core 2.66GHz
NOTNlCE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:17 PM   #7
rei101
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
The Mac Pro, but that model is from 2006. Mine is from 2008 and is around $400. Yours should be like... $100?

An Auto Cad will run soooo slow! It will take for ever!!! Like any good render will take at least a week.
rei101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:27 PM   #8
lhoffstadt
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
hi, Im from Chile and here the price are expensive, the Mac Pro 1.1 is about 500 USD and for the Mac mini around 440 USD.
I know that for the Mac Pro I will have to spend another 150 USD to upgrade to a Radeon HD 5770 1GB.
Im not really a heavy user for photoshop or autocad, but this are my only two options due to my budget.

Thanks for the help
lhoffstadt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:22 AM   #9
lowendlinux
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Mac Pro because the hackery to get it to run the lastest OS just requires time. The new MM is completely non-upradeable, but faster and will have a warranty.
__________________
Workstation--Linux
Portable--Linux
Phone--Linux
Tablet--Linux
lowendlinux is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple wants me to trade in my macpro 6-core 2010 for a quad new macpro? compute Mac Pro 25 Dec 22, 2013 06:53 AM
Can I put the video card from my G5 MacPro in my newer (late2010) MacPro? Antifragile Mac Pro 7 Aug 16, 2013 04:32 PM
MacPro 3,1 vs Mac mini al404 Mac Pro 18 Aug 6, 2013 08:57 PM
Buying Advice: New Mac Mini (2012) vs. Mac Mini with AMD Radeon HD 6630M shazammy Mac mini 17 Apr 16, 2013 08:42 AM
Barefeats Compares Quad-Core Mini, iMac and MacPro Mojo1 Mac mini 12 Oct 31, 2012 11:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC