Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 31, 2014, 06:29 AM   #1
m4v3r1ck
macrumors 65816
 
m4v3r1ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Dual boot CONFIRMED for new Apricorn Velocity DUO X2!!!

Just received a Velocity DUO X2 - beta. Very excited!!!



Preparing for testing on my Mac Pro 3.1 this week!
Keep you posted...

Cheers
__________________
MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 2600 HD XT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)

Last edited by m4v3r1ck; May 29, 2014 at 04:57 PM. Reason: typo
m4v3r1ck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2014, 07:00 AM   #2
OS6-OSX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: California
Sonnet numbers for Apricorn to shoot for
Read 960 MB/s Write 850 MB/s (6G SSD's)
http://www.sonnettech.com/product/tempossdpro.html
__________________
MacPro 2008 3,1 | 26GB Ram | Quadro 4000 | MC8.3 | OS 10.8.5 | MOTU HDX-SDI | ATTO R644 | LaCie 324
OS6-OSX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2014, 08:40 AM   #3
m4v3r1ck
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
m4v3r1ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by OS6-OSX View Post
Sonnet numbers for Apricorn to shoot for
Read 960 MB/s Write 850 MB/s (6G SSD's)
http://www.sonnettech.com/product/tempossdpro.html
It's not only the MB/s that counts! Compatibility & stability are also on my list. But a shoot-out is always fun

Cheers
__________________
MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 2600 HD XT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)

Last edited by m4v3r1ck; Mar 31, 2014 at 02:08 PM.
m4v3r1ck is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2014, 09:40 AM   #4
Earl Urly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Lucky guy!

Damn, and I just placed an order for the Solo after Amazon put up rebate coupons! Oh well, it's not like they're gonna can the Solo because of the Duo.
Earl Urly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2014, 10:14 AM   #5
JavaTheHut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Nice! I'll keep an eye on this thread
Thx
JavaTheHut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2014, 11:21 AM   #6
flowrider
macrumors 68020
 
flowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
WOW - I'd luv one of those!!!!!

Lou
flowrider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2014, 01:53 PM   #7
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
Here's hoping that one can put a bootable OS X SSD in one slot, and a bootable Windows SSD in the other slot. I would buy it then!
hfg is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2014, 02:08 PM   #8
m4v3r1ck
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
m4v3r1ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
Here's hoping that one can put a bootable OS X SSD in one slot, and a bootable Windows SSD in the other slot. I would buy it then!
My #1 on my to-test-list!

Cheers
__________________
MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 2600 HD XT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)
m4v3r1ck is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2014, 02:13 PM   #9
Earl Urly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Yeah, or maybe even OS X on one, Linux on the other? That'd be kickass.
Earl Urly is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2014, 04:05 PM   #10
analog guy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by OS6-OSX View Post
Sonnet numbers for Apricorn to shoot for
Read 960 MB/s Write 850 MB/s (6G SSD's)
http://www.sonnettech.com/product/tempossdpro.html
i'm actually getting this via TB2 (tempo pro within an echo express iii-d with 2xsamsung 840 evo 1tb drives).

internal to my MP3,1 was even faster.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sonnet SSD-TB2-blackmagic.png
Views:	111
Size:	734.8 KB
ID:	466978  
analog guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2014, 10:58 PM   #11
VirtualRain
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDM STUDIOS NL View Post
Just received a Velocity DUO X2 - beta. Very excited!!!

Image

Preparing for testing on my Mac Pro 3.1 this week!
Keep you posted...

Cheers
x2 PCIe interface will be the limiting factor here.
__________________
tools: nMP for photography, rMBP for working, iPad for surfing, iPhone for communicating, Mac Mini for entertaining
Canon tools: 5D Mark III 24-105L/70-300L/35L/50L/85L/135L for capturing
VirtualRain is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2014, 01:07 PM   #12
gerardomare1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
hello
Im waiting
thanks a lot for sharing
gerardomare1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2014, 01:36 PM   #13
tomvos
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: That special mystical place.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDM STUDIOS NL View Post
My #1 on my to-test-list!

Cheers
If you have an Apricorn Velocity Solo X2, perhaps you could test if there are any issues with putting a solo and a duo card into one system? Thanks a lot.
__________________
NSA - no bit left behind.
tomvos is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2014, 05:36 PM   #14
Gav Mack
macrumors 68020
 
Gav Mack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sagittarius A*
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDM STUDIOS NL View Post
My #1 on my to-test-list!

Cheers
I'm behind hfg in the queue looking forward to the results, fingers crossed. Will retire my x2 thermal sticky pad twin 840 evo SSD bodge job if it boots win 7 on a 3,1 ok.

Wondering how long the card is, particularly how close it gets to the fan on a reference gtx 680. Should be ok as the orientation is changed on the drives though, and hey Apricorn if you need another beta tester you can send me a pm, I did offer my services to you six months ago
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 Hex 3.33 24gb GTX 680, 17" MBP 2011, iMac 2006
iPhone 5s, 5, 4s, 4, Air, iPad 2 x3, Mini, Touch 3G x2, iPod 160Gb.
2TB TC 3G, Air Ext 5G, Air Exp 2G PC: loads!
Gav Mack is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 06:25 AM   #15
m4v3r1ck
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
m4v3r1ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomvos View Post
If you have an Apricorn Velocity Solo X2, perhaps you could test if there are any issues with putting a solo and a duo card into one system? Thanks a lot.
I'll put that on my list too!
__________________
MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 2600 HD XT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)
m4v3r1ck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 07:15 AM   #16
m4v3r1ck
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
m4v3r1ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Easter Egg on Apricorn Velocity SOLO-X2 ????

Hey guys,

Still in feedback-mode with Apricorn to solve some (serious) issues with the DUO X2:

Moved SSD's 1:1 from the SOLO to the DUO, both in PCIe slot #2.

1. None of the SSD-1 nor SSD-2 raid0 shows on the OSX bootscreen! On the SOLO they showed as SSD_OSXML5 and OSX_OSXML5 2 - two separate SSD's - on bootscreen but both bootable to the raid0.

2. Unable to boot SSD-3 Windows 8 while in bay #1. No SOLO X2 Bios at boot.

Turned the table and installed the SOLO X2 back again:

1. Installed SSD-1 & SSD-2 on the SOLO. They show as external SSD's

2. Using DiskUtil -> SSD-1 HFS+ / SSD-2 FAT32

3. SSD-1 clean install OSX 10.9.2 while connected to the SOLO-X2 (because my OSX ML is > 500GB)

4. SSD-2 restored Winclone image of Windows 8 Pro 64 while connected to the SOLO-X2 on extra port with SATA-3 cable.

Et Voila, OS X 10.9.2 on bootscreen, Windows 8 on bootscreen and both bootable.

Possible easter-egg on the SOLO-X2?

Windows 8 is now NATIVELY running in AHCI mode! Ran a WEI and added a 1.1 to the disk perfromance index, from 7.0 -> 8.1 Now the CPU and RAM are the limiting factors.

SSD-3 in HDD bay #1 (IcyDock SATA-3 converter) at SATA-2:







SSD-3 connected to the SOLO X2 with SATA-3 cable:







Still a lot of moving around to do with the SSD's on the SOLO- & DUO-X2....
But so far, the SOLO X2 with bootable OSX 10.9.2 & Windows 8 is my winner.

Keep you updated on the DUO and perhaps some of you with the SOLO could try the above to reproduce it on other systems 3.1/4.1/5.1?

GL & Cheers with your SOLO X2!

NOTE: all 3 SSD are Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
__________________
MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 2600 HD XT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)

Last edited by m4v3r1ck; Apr 4, 2014 at 11:46 AM. Reason: typo
m4v3r1ck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 08:21 AM   #17
m4v3r1ck
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
m4v3r1ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav Mack View Post
I'm behind hfg in the queue looking forward to the results, fingers crossed. Will retire my x2 thermal sticky pad twin 840 evo SSD bodge job if it boots win 7 on a 3,1 ok.
NOPE! - not yet? ;(

Quote:
Wondering how long the card is, particularly how close it gets to the fan on a reference gtx 680. Should be ok as the orientation is changed on the drives though, and hey Apricorn if you need another beta tester you can send me a pm, I did offer my services to you six months ago
180mm x 120mm

Cheers
__________________
MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 2600 HD XT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)
m4v3r1ck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 10:08 AM   #18
gerardomare1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
hello
Keep pushing!!! (f1 one mode)
thanks
gerardomare1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 11:48 AM   #19
m4v3r1ck
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
m4v3r1ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerardomare1 View Post
hello
Keep pushing!!! (f1 one mode)
thanks
If I push to much, the PCB may crack
__________________
MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 2600 HD XT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)
m4v3r1ck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 12:46 PM   #20
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
Great information ... thanks for sharing it with us.

Hope they get the issues settled with the DUO x2 card soon!


The only problem I can see with the dual-OS on a SOLO x2 would be if you were running a Windows VM using the bootable Windows image such that both drives were active simutaneously with the single SATA controller being a bottleneck. I was hoping that the DUO x2 card would have separate controllers for each drive which would help in RAID or dual-OS situations with the 2 drives.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 03:08 PM   #21
brosenz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
Great information ... thanks for sharing it with us.

Hope they get the issues settled with the DUO x2 card soon!


The only problem I can see with the dual-OS on a SOLO x2 would be if you were running a Windows VM using the bootable Windows image such that both drives were active simutaneously with the single SATA controller being a bottleneck. I was hoping that the DUO x2 card would have separate controllers for each drive which would help in RAID or dual-OS situations with the 2 drives.
Is it possible to install 2 "Apricorn Velocity Solo x2 cards" in the same computer?
brosenz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 03:48 PM   #22
flowrider
macrumors 68020
 
flowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
^^^^As long as there is a free PCI slot - sure.

Lou
flowrider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 03:55 PM   #23
m4v3r1ck
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
m4v3r1ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
Great information ... thanks for sharing it with us.
YMW and thanks for your input.

Quote:
Hope they get the issues settled with the DUO x2 card soon!
Me too, so fingers crossed then! Problem now is that the OS X partition is not visable at bootscreen at all on the DUO. Great guys at Apricorn so they will surely workout something to resolve the issues.

Quote:
The only problem I can see with the dual-OS on a SOLO x2 would be if you were running a Windows VM using the bootable Windows image such that both drives were active simutaneously with the single SATA controller being a bottleneck. I was hoping that the DUO x2 card would have separate controllers for each drive which would help in RAID or dual-OS situations with the 2 drives.
Do you mean running VMware Fusion in OS X using the bootable Windows 8 partition? I'm running VMware Fusion myself.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by brosenz View Post
Is it possible to install 2 "Apricorn Velocity Solo x2 cards" in the same computer?
Tried both the SOLO & DUO, but in my MP 3.1 a no-go! My plan was setting up a SSD raid0 on the DUO for OS X and single SSD on the SOLO for Windows 8. Very glad to see that the SOLO now works in AHCI mode in Windows 8. Quite a speedbump there.

Bootproblems seem to be happening with the DUO. AFAIK Apricorn is working on all reported issues.
__________________
MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 2600 HD XT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)

Last edited by m4v3r1ck; Apr 4, 2014 at 04:04 PM.
m4v3r1ck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 04:08 PM   #24
m4v3r1ck
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
m4v3r1ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by flowrider View Post
^^^^As long as there is a free PCI slot - sure.

Lou
My slots:

1. GTX-670 PC
2. DUO (now replaced by SOLO)
3. Nvidia 8800GT Mac
4. spare

Waiting for the feedback from Apricorn on the slots.
__________________
MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 2600 HD XT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)

Last edited by m4v3r1ck; Apr 4, 2014 at 04:20 PM.
m4v3r1ck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2014, 04:15 PM   #25
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDM STUDIOS NL View Post
YMW and thanks for your input.



Me too, so fingers crossed then! Problem now is that the OS X partition is not visable at bootscreen at all on the DUO. Great guys at Apricorn so they will surely workout something to resolve the issues.



Do you mean running VMware Fusion in OS X using the bootable Windows 8 partition? I'm running VMware Fusion myself.

----------



Tried both the SOLO & DUO, but in my MP 3.1 a no-go! Bootproblems seem to be happening with the DUO. Apricorn is working on all issues.
I have had the "Boot Option" screen problem come and go with my Sonnet Tempo Pro dual drive card ... it's working now, but I don't know what I did to enable that. Sonnet was able to reproduce the problem (I was on a MP 3,1 at the time, now on a 5,1).

The Solo x2 card does not achieve double throughput speeds if both SATA channels are operating at the same time (such as in RAID-0 with a single card) due to a single controller for both ports. This speed limitation "may" occur with virtual machines using the bootable Windows image (VMware or Parallels) since both OS X and Windows installations are being accessed through the 2 separate SSD interfaces. I haven't tried it... and don't know how you would measure it since it would only occur within the VM.

I have 2 of the Solo x2 cards and was never able to get them to work at the same time ... but I was also fighting controller conflicts with several different eSATA cards (including CalDigit eSATA/USB3.0). Once I removed the eSATA card and went totally USB 3.0 for external drives, I was able to get my current configuration working (MP 5,1):

-- OS X on Sonnet Tempo Pro with RAID-0 SSD
-- Windows 8.1 on Solo X2 SSD
-- Inatek 4-port USB 3.0 (new Mac version)
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apricorn velocity and Bootcamp Modplod Mac Pro 20 Jul 27, 2014 02:01 PM
BootCamp problem with Apricorn Velocity Solo x2 snarfquest Mac Pro 16 Mar 7, 2014 09:53 AM
Apricorn Velocity V2 solo in 2012 MP Marty62 Mac Pro 13 Feb 27, 2014 03:37 PM
Apricorn Velocity Solo X2 and Boot Camp with Win 7 x64 = Endless Rebooting Loop Dr. Stealth Mac Pro 9 Apr 30, 2013 02:43 AM
Apricorn Velocity Solo Pinwheeling and freezing albert1028 Mac Pro 5 Jul 4, 2012 08:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2015, MacRumors.com, LLC