Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 4, 2012, 02:40 PM   #1
pmz
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Locationd Taking 95% CPU constantly in ML

I've had ML on my iMac 7,1 since release. This last week or so, locationd keeps running every few minutes and taking 95% of CPU.

I've tried turning off all Location Services in ML, including Find My Mac and Sending Apple Diagnostics, and it has had no affect whatsoever.

What the heck is going? Why would this start happening? Why is Apple siphoning location data from me without my consent? And why is it running constantly?
pmz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 03:32 PM   #2
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0

Did you turn off automatic time zone updating? As for the CPU usage...it's still in beta.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 03:47 PM   #3
pmz
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Yep I've turned it off, I've turned off everything related to location.

im getting ready to dump ML for now,
pmz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 04:56 PM   #4
haravikk
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2005
Weird that it should be using so much CPU, you might want to grab a profile of it using Activity Monitor and submit it to Apple via bugreport.apple.com, let them know you're having trouble so they make sure to fix it.

What happens when you just kill the process?
__________________
"Early 2008" MacPro, 2 x 3.2ghz Quad-Core Xeons, 10gb DDR2 800mhz ECC RAM, 120gb Solid State Drive (Mac & Windows OS), 4 x 750gb hard-drives (striped, users/files), NVidia GeForce 8800GT (512mb).
haravikk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2012, 03:48 AM   #5
tarasis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Here, there and everywhere
I've seen that too, but it's usually not every few minutes. Also not entirely sure why it's happening.
__________________
Lots of gear since Jan 2007. Damn Them
tarasis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2012, 05:22 PM   #6
lostngone
macrumors 6502a
 
lostngone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Anchorage
Why would you get rid of it? Have you submitted a bug report?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmz View Post
Yep I've turned it off, I've turned off everything related to location.

im getting ready to dump ML for now,
lostngone is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All We Know About Maximizing CPU Related Performance Tutor Mac Pro 1017 Apr 10, 2014 01:30 PM
ruby process running in background, taking 100% cpu zentenk MacBook Pro 1 Nov 9, 2011 12:46 PM
Dashboard Client taking ~3-4% CPU constantly while idle? Bottomsup OS X 1 May 28, 2011 09:48 PM
Dashboard client takes up 99.8% of CPU constantly. BJB Productions Mac Basics and Help 3 Jul 2, 2010 09:26 PM
XP home at 95% CPU even when idle. wtf? shecky Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 7 Oct 16, 2007 10:16 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC