Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 5, 2012, 12:39 AM   #1
Iking D man
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Unhappy HELP!!! how to unlock iPhone 4 from softbank japan to use in Philippines??

Please someone help me on how can I unlock my iPhone 4 ??
It was originally purchased at japan (softbank - name of the carrier)
I dont know what to do so I can use it here in the Philippines..
Also I'm planning to subscribe to one of our provider here maybe GLOBE..
Phone info:
iOS version 4.1
Firmware 02.10.04


Please! Please! Please! Help me.. ))

Thanks a Ton.
Iking D man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2012, 01:00 AM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Only option is to purchase a gevey turbo sim.
Make sure you dont update to the official 5.0.1 firmware or you will not be able to use anything to unlock it then.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2012, 11:31 AM   #3
Iking D man
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Question

So I will keep my iOS as 4.1? How can I use some latest application? I also asked a store here nearby and I wa told that he can keep the firmware to 02.10.04 plus update the version to 5.0.1 then at the same time I can have it unlocked and use local network provider????

Do think this is all true?

Thanks
Iking D man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2012, 12:33 PM   #4
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iking D man View Post
So I will keep my iOS as 4.1? How can I use some latest application? I also asked a store here nearby and I wa told that he can keep the firmware to 02.10.04 plus update the version to 5.0.1 then at the same time I can have it unlocked and use local network provider????

Do think this is all true?

Thanks

Yes, 02.10.04 is your baseband version. Not the firmware.
Your firmware is 4.1
You can update to a custom 5.0.1 ipsw with redsnow and keep your old unlockable baseband version.
You will still need to buy a gevey.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 10:47 PM   #5
Iking D man
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Question

Now, I have the Gevey sim inserted and currently using a local sim network.. Also still have the version 4.1 ..
I would like to upgrade it to 5.0.0 or 5.0.1
Please show me how.. thanks a million.
Iking D man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 11:08 PM   #6
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iking D man View Post
Now, I have the Gevey sim inserted and currently using a local sim network.. Also still have the version 4.1 ..
I would like to upgrade it to 5.0.0 or 5.0.1
Please show me how.. thanks a million.
Go to iClarified.com and get a tutorial that uses Redsn0w and includes a No_BB IPSW to preserve your 2.10.xx baseband

Just remember, the clock is ticking
Once Apple stops signing 5.0.1, you can only go to 5.1 (and Redsn0w won't work for doing that)
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad Air2 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 12:16 AM   #7
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Yes, use Tinyumbrella to save your shsh blobs.
Hope Apple still releases 5.0.1 of you'd be stuck stayin at 4.1 or going to 5.1 and losing the unlock ability.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 03:42 AM   #8
Iking D man
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Unhappy

Guys.. Sorry for being so stupid.. can you please send me the URL? And where to go..
Coz I've been looking but I can't find the right tutorials..
Please please I'm badly begging you guys..

Thanks sooooo much..
Iking D man is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 04:33 AM   #9
Iking D man
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Exclamation

Hi. I keep on trying to look for the right tutorial but have no luck.
Please guys help me..
Some tutorials are for Mac but currently I'm using win7 computer.
Iking D man is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 11:40 AM   #10
Iking D man
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Unhappy

Someone help me please...
Iking D man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 11:50 AM   #11
TriJetHero
macrumors 601
 
TriJetHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: World
download redsn0w 9.10b5c

than follow this

http://www.iphoneheat.com/2011/12/cr...mware-redsn0w/
__________________
iPhone 6 iOS 8.1 Pangu
iPhone 5 iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 4 3G iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 2 WIFI iOS 8.0 GM
TriJetHero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 01:43 AM   #12
Iking D man
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
One more question please.. Do I go for unlocking it first or jailbraek?
Iking D man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 10:30 PM   #13
mirutamarisen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
HElp iphone 4 firmware 04.12.01 update5.1 from japan need to unlock!!

I also have the same problem my iphone is from softbank in japan and I need to unlock it but to use it in the dominican republic, I have moved from japan back home and Ive been told I cant use my phone because the firmware is 04.12.01 and it has the update for 5.1 so there is no turbosim for that, what can I do?
I want to be able to use it here.
mirutamarisen is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 11:30 PM   #14
gngan
macrumors 68000
 
gngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MacWorld
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirutamarisen View Post
I also have the same problem my iphone is from softbank in japan and I need to unlock it but to use it in the dominican republic, I have moved from japan back home and Ive been told I cant use my phone because the firmware is 04.12.01 and it has the update for 5.1 so there is no turbosim for that, what can I do?
I want to be able to use it here.
Did you not read what Applejuice said?
Your firmware is 5.1 and 04.12.01 is your BASEBAND. Of cause you want to use it in Dominican Republic but you can't because your BASEBAND isn't supported.

It took me 10 seconds to search Gevey turbo sim and it's not supported for your baseband. It's not that difficult, isn't it?
__________________
2011 13''MBP i5 Dual HDD (128GB SSD+1TB HDD)+8gb RAM; iPhone 5S, iPod Nano 3rd & 6th gen; iPod Wheel; iPad Air 64gb; Airport Extreme/Express; Synology 4tb +WD 2tb; Canon 5D MKIII
gngan is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 11:33 PM   #15
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Nothing you can do to unlock it.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2012, 02:15 AM   #16
waynef89
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Ain't there the SAM way
waynef89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2012, 04:09 PM   #17
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynef89 View Post
Ain't there the SAM way
SAM is patched over a month ago.
Cant be used to unlock.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 12:39 AM   #18
cashel26
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
my iphone 4s(softbank carrier) from japan was updated in version 6.0.1 in Philippines(already using the gevey sim before updating).. after updating it says "only compatible sim cards from a supported carrier may be used to activate iphone" ..but i've lost my softbank(sim). what should i do????
cashel26 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 06:42 AM   #19
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
You can try and find a grey market vendor who can IMEI unlock your phone.
I do know that IMEI unlocks for SoftBank phones are very hard to find.
Many others have posted this repeatedly.
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad Air2 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 10:13 AM   #20
jmnijuan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: 1135 Suante Compound Almanaza Uno Las Piņas City
PLEASE DO HELP ME!!! on how to openline my iphone 4 black edition from japan.

I want to use it here in the philippines. Please do help me

It was originally purchased at japan. I dont think that it is softbank. but maybe it is. idk also im planning to subscribe to one of our provider here maybe GLOBE.

Phone Information:
iOS version: 6.1.3
Modem Firmware: 04.12.05
32 GB
Black Edition
Japan Baseband

Pleaaaase do heeeellllp meee!!!!!
Thanks a lot!!!
jmnijuan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 02:10 PM   #21
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
The only unlock for your phone is IMEI, very expensive for SoftBank phone ($250)

Sell it, buy a phone you can unlock to use in Philippines.
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad Air2 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 08:31 AM   #22
gngan
macrumors 68000
 
gngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MacWorld
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmnijuan View Post
I want to use it here in the philippines. Please do help me
I want to win lottery too. Please help me?


Quote:
It was originally purchased at japan. I dont think that it is softbank. but maybe it is. idk also im planning to subscribe to one of our provider here maybe GLOBE.

Phone Information:
iOS version: 6.1.3
Modem Firmware: 04.12.05
32 GB
Black Edition
Japan Baseband

Pleaaaase do heeeellllp meee!!!!!
Thanks a lot!!!
What the hell is Japan Baseband?! Don't make things up!

If you actually READ the thread then you will know Modem Firmware IS the baseband.

You need to learn how to search and read. Not going to mouth feed you.
__________________
2011 13''MBP i5 Dual HDD (128GB SSD+1TB HDD)+8gb RAM; iPhone 5S, iPod Nano 3rd & 6th gen; iPod Wheel; iPad Air 64gb; Airport Extreme/Express; Synology 4tb +WD 2tb; Canon 5D MKIII
gngan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 12:06 PM   #23
FlyUnlock.com
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
 
You can't unlock this one. I think you should rather stop searching for the unlock as you would be scammed by someone claiming he can unlock it. So beware !
FlyUnlock.com is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2013, 09:53 AM   #24
angelikha27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
HELP!!!! Can I update my Iphone4 from version 4.1 to 6.1.3

I already unlocked my phone using Gevey sim. My phone is from Japan and I'm using it here in the Philippines. I can already text or call in my phone but the problem is I can't download application because it requires a higher version. Can I update my phone from 4.1 to 6.1.3 using iTunes. Is it a good idea or not? What might happened to my phone if I update it?

Iphone 4
version 4.1
firmware 02.10.04
angelikha27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2013, 10:11 AM   #25
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelikha27 View Post
I already unlocked my phone using Gevey sim. My phone is from Japan and I'm using it here in the Philippines. I can already text or call in my phone but the problem is I can't download application because it requires a higher version. Can I update my phone from 4.1 to 6.1.3 using iTunes. Is it a good idea or not? What might happened to my phone if I update it?

Iphone 4
version 4.1
firmware 02.10.04
If you update the baseband, the sim interposer will no longer work.
You can use Sn0wbreeze to update to 6.1.3 and preserve the baseband, but it will be a tethered jailbreak (if you require the jailbreak to use the sim interposer - that might be an issue)
Contact the sim manufacturer or retailer for correct support.
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad Air2 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Can Iphone 4 in Japan be unlocked in the Philippines? robelramos Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Dec 31, 2013 12:49 AM
iPhone: Unlocking 32GB Softbank Japan iPhone iOS 6(Band:04.12.02) Kaffy Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 9 Nov 28, 2012 01:44 PM
iPhone: Help trying to use Softbank iPhone (Japan) 4s 5.1.1 baseband 2.0.12 on AT&T(USA) audiotronica Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Aug 18, 2012 05:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC