Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 6, 2012, 09:32 PM   #1
Chiuy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NorCal, Bay Area
Send a message via AIM to Chiuy Send a message via MSN to Chiuy Send a message via Skype™ to Chiuy
How to know if your iPhone is unlocked?

I have the iPhone 3GS and was hoping to sell it. How do I know if it is unlocked? (Beside putting in another carrier SIM)
I jailbroken it before though, not sure if it is unlocked.
The phone can be used without the SIM card though.

Can I just also sell it to another ATT user? Will that work too?
__________________
13" MacBook Pro 2011, Intel i5 2.3GHz
HP Elite, Intel i7 960 @3.2GHz 2GB ATI 5770, 12GB Ram, 1.5TB HD, 22" Samsung PX2370.
Chiuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2012, 09:34 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Restore it in iTunes. If iTunes says "This iPhone has been unlocked", it's unlocked. If it is originally an AT&T 3Gs, it iTunes won't say this. Yes, you can sell it to other AT&T users if that is an AT&T 3Gs.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2012, 11:36 PM   #3
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
type in the iPhone model number and I will repply back with the carrier it's locked too...
apollo1444 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 01:53 AM   #4
reclusive46
macrumors 6502a
 
reclusive46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Restore it in iTunes. If iTunes says "This iPhone has been unlocked", it's unlocked. If it is originally an AT&T 3Gs, it iTunes won't say this. Yes, you can sell it to other AT&T users if that is an AT&T 3Gs.
Thats not true for iPhones that came unlocked. They never say anything. The only way to try is to put another carrier sim in.
reclusive46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 02:07 AM   #5
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by reclusive46 View Post
Thats not true for iPhones that came unlocked. They never say anything. The only way to try is to put another carrier sim in.
This holds true in the UK, not sure about the US though...All my phones have been purchased through Apple and any sim will work...If I don't like my current provider (O2) I ditch them (three month rolling contract) and go elsewhere. I guess we have it better than you guy's what with AT7T, Verizon etc. locking phones down. You are sort of "Buying" a provider with the phone.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 02:14 AM   #6
JD92
macrumors 6502a
 
JD92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Unless you explicitly set out to unlock it at some point, it's probably still locked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
This holds true in the UK, not sure about the US though...All my phones have been purchased through Apple and any sim will work...If I don't like my current provider (O2) I ditch them (three month rolling contract) and go elsewhere. I guess we have it better than you guy's what with AT7T, Verizon etc. locking phones down. You are sort of "Buying" a provider with the phone.
How did you get a three month O2 contract? I know Tesco do them, but Tesco's missing a few features I like - I'd love it if I could get a three month O2 contract.
JD92 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 04:47 AM   #7
chenks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacksteruk309 View Post
How did you get a three month O2 contract? I know Tesco do them, but Tesco's missing a few features I like - I'd love it if I could get a three month O2 contract.
you can get 1 month rolling contracts on O2 as well.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 05:37 AM   #8
otchealth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
iphone unlock

While most iPhone users are aware of unofficial unlock methods, you may be surprised to discover that itís possible to legally unlock your device, courtesy of Apple.
__________________
glucose test
test strips
otchealth is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 08:11 AM   #9
goosnarrggh
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by otchealth View Post
While most iPhone users are aware of unofficial unlock methods, you may be surprised to discover that it’s possible to legally unlock your device, courtesy of Apple.
... Only if Apple has received permission, from the carrier through which the iPhone was originally sold, to apply the official unlock.

The OP owns an iPhone 3GS, and lives in Northern California. That means it was most likely sold through AT&T. So, with overwhelimg probability, it is fairly safe to say that the OP does not own an iPhone that was sold through a carrier that has given Apple permission to apply an official unlock.

Anyway, even if you don't have Apple's permission to do so, unofficial iPhone unlocks have been ruled "not illegal" in the USA.
goosnarrggh is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 09:44 AM   #10
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo1444 View Post
type in the iPhone model number and I will repply back with the carrier it's locked too...
The iPhone model number is not a reliable way to check if the iPhone is unlocked. It is only good for telling which location the iPhone was sold in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reclusive46 View Post
Thats not true for iPhones that came unlocked. They never say anything. The only way to try is to put another carrier sim in.
Even factory unlocked iPhones need to be unlocked via iTunes. By default all iPhones are locked and when they are restored, iTunes checks with Apple to see if that particular iPhone can be unlocked. Apple can lock or relock all iPhones and iPads simply by removing that device from the unlock database.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 09:47 AM   #11
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Even factory unlocked iPhones need to be unlocked via iTunes. By default all iPhones are locked and when they are restored, iTunes checks with Apple to see if that particular iPhone can be unlocked. Apple can lock or relock all iPhones and iPads simply by removing that device from the unlock database.
Nobody has disagreed with that*, but the "Congratulations, your iPhone is unlocked" message doesn't normally appear if you bought your phone directly from Apple "factory unlocked".

My iPhone 4 shows that message when I restore in iTunes because I bought it from my old carrier and they unlocked it for me (for free).

*Except I will now! How can all iPhones be locked by default? Which carrier would they be locked to?

The real answer is that an iPhone is not locked to any carrier until it is activated. Apple sends an WildcardTicket to the device at the time of activation which tells the device which carrier(s) it is locked to and whether a country lock is in effect (as is the case with Verizon/Sprint unlocks).
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium

Last edited by Daveoc64; Mar 7, 2012 at 12:50 PM.
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 12:06 PM   #12
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
They are not locked to any carrier, just locked.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 12:46 PM   #13
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
They are not locked to any carrier, just locked.
In what way?

The carrier lock is controlled solely by the WildcardTicket. An unactivated device has no WildcardTicket, so it cannot be locked or unlocked in that state.
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 12:52 PM   #14
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
No real way to tell except taking it to a Apple store genius or trying a foreign sim.
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 12:59 PM   #15
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daveoc64 View Post
In what way?

The carrier lock is controlled solely by the WildcardTicket. An unactivated device has no WildcardTicket, so it cannot be locked or unlocked in that state.
It's locked in that the baseband hasn't been set and is in its default state of null.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 01:10 PM   #16
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
It's locked in that the baseband hasn't been set and is in its default state of null.
Baseband hasn't been set!? That statement is in the state of null!
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 01:18 PM   #17
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
We're both discussing it being in the same state, but we're using different words.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 01:19 PM   #18
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
We're both discussing it being in the same state, but we're using different words.
Ok then.
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 09:31 PM   #19
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
The iPhone model number is not a reliable way to check if the iPhone is unlocked. It is only good for telling which location the iPhone was sold in.



Even factory unlocked iPhones need to be unlocked via iTunes. By default all iPhones are locked and when they are restored, iTunes checks with Apple to see if that particular iPhone can be unlocked. Apple can lock or relock all iPhones and iPads simply by removing that device from the unlock database.
true but if it's an iPhone 3GS sold in the UNITED STATES the obvious answer is ATT don't you think?
same with an iPhone 4 GSM sold in the states...

sure they can be factory unklocked USA phones but you wouldn't want to know if it belongs to a carrier if the phone is already unlocked...
apollo1444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 10:01 PM   #20
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo1444 View Post
true but if it's an iPhone 3GS sold in the UNITED STATES the obvious answer is ATT don't you think?
same with an iPhone 4 GSM sold in the states...

sure they can be factory unklocked USA phones but wouldn't you want to know if it belongs to a carrier if the phone is already unlocked...
There can be a factory unlocked 3Gs in the US and an AT&T unlocked one. There was this popular service that was able to insert an iPhone unique number into Apple's unlock database. Some people with AT&T iPhones had their numbers added. Thus, the creation of some unlocked AT&T iPhone 3Gs'.

Apple and AT&T both sell unlocked iPhone 4's in the US. They sometimes have the same model number as the locked ones. Making the model an unreliable way to checking upon a carrier lock.

If an iPhone is sold factory unlocked by Apple (not AT&T), it is carrier free and being carrier free, it never belonged to any single carrier. Some of these carrier free ones have the same model number as an AT&T locked one.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2012, 02:59 AM   #21
Tea-Aholic
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Even factory unlocked iPhones need to be unlocked via iTunes.
Technically you are somewhat right, but it's wrong to say that all iPhone are locked. All iPhone come unactivated and the activation process determines the lock status of the phone.
__________________
MacBook Pro with Retina display (returned)
MacBook Air, 11.6-inch, 1.7 GHz/4 GB/128 GB
Sony Xperia Z1, White, 16 GB
iPad Air, Wi-Fi + Cellular, Space Grey, 64 GB
Tea-Aholic is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 05:16 AM   #22
kyjaotkb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Paris, France
You guys might want to check this
http://www.dev.mk/

to figure out if your iPhone is locked or not.
Found the link there
http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...ed-with-no-sim

at your own risks... seems to be working OK though!
__________________
13" MBA '11, 1.7/4/256 ; 16GB iPad 4 Wifi ; 16GB 3GS ; 160GB iPod Classic '07 ; 8GB nano 3G ; 1GB Shuffle 2G
kyjaotkb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 07:58 AM   #23
Mr Hill
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Put a tmobile sim card in it.
Mr Hill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 09:45 AM   #24
Gib
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Did you try this?

__________________
How is it everyone in my family has 3rd or 4th Generation iPads, I am still plugging away on my sluggish 1st Generation? Oh, yeah. I'm a school teacher.
Gib is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 03:50 PM   #25
HomerM1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Atlanta.GA
To check if phone is unlocked

Hmmm... I don't know about giving out your IMEI number to a website. The 2 ways that I'm aware of is to either
1) Call your service provider and ask them(AT&T, Verizon, etc...)
-or-
2) put in a different carriers SIM card (as mentioned earlier in the postings.)

As far as the UK having the month to month or 3 month contract for iPhones, we also have this now in US. Go to link below for more info

http://www.mcewenmedia.com/SOLAVEI

HomerM1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: How to backup and restore jailbreak unlocked (not factory unlocked) iphone 3Gs nEO5592 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Apr 19, 2014 04:53 AM
No Unlocked Message from iTunes - iPhone 5S Unlocked Purchased from Apple Store khhntz iPhone 2 Sep 26, 2013 08:24 AM
iPhone: Apple-unlocked GSM iPhone 5 vs. 3rd-party-unlocked iPhone 5 profinite Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 12 Dec 9, 2012 01:19 PM
iPhone 4S: factory unlocked vs. AT&T unlocked vs. Verizon unlocked 13ms13 iPhone 3 Oct 3, 2012 01:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC