Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 7, 2012, 08:16 PM   #26
newagemac
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by WalledMacGarden View Post
Does it control Youtube or Netflix or allow you to do searches on Netflix? If it does I missed that in the description. I always thought it just controlled your itunes library and you could use the play FF volume ...etc..

If I can do searches on Netflix that would be awesome.
Yes it controls Youtube, Netflix, and every other app on the Apple TV. And yes searches in all the apps work with the Remote app.
newagemac is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 09:24 PM   #27
trip1ex
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulfly22583 View Post
Question for those that know way more about the Apple TV line -

Why do they not have a 10/100/1000 ethernet card in the device? I for the life of me cant think of why they would not have that functionality.

Thanks to anyone that can share some input
Size and cost probably. Mix in the fact that 10/100 offers around 50 mb/s which is higher than the bit rate BR is recorded at.

How many have wired homes that are streaming ripped uncompressed BR movies? Probably tiny percentage of users.
trip1ex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 09:26 PM   #28
d.steve
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulfly22583 View Post
Question for those that know way more about the Apple TV line -

Why do they not have a 10/100/1000 ethernet card in the device? I for the life of me cant think of why they would not have that functionality.

Thanks to anyone that can share some input
ATV3 does have a 10/100 port. So does ATV2, and probably ATV1. No gigabit. sorry.
d.steve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2012, 09:55 PM   #29
WalledMacGarden
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by newagemac View Post
Yes it controls Youtube, Netflix, and every other app on the Apple TV. And yes searches in all the apps work with the Remote app.
Amazing! Thanks I just got it and it works perfect! great app, only thing missing is seeing the actual apple TV screen on the ipad, but I can live with just looking at the TV.

I bet the voice dictation on the keyboard will work with the new ipad to do searches too!
WalledMacGarden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 04:55 AM   #30
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by urkel View Post
That doesn't make sense at all. Its a set top box so why would it be forever restricted to only acquiring certain content from a remote device?
Quote:
Originally Posted by joseph2166 View Post
By that logic we wouldn't have Movies and TV Shows on there at the moment.
Quote:
Originally Posted by maturola View Post
LOL not sure how that would "kill" airplay...

sorry I didn't explain what I meant very well. The point I was trying to make is at the moment Apple have to sell you 2 devices to get Apps on your AppleTV.

The Apple TV is cheap $99. But in order to gain access to apps on your TV you have to purchase a more expensive component (iPod touch, iPhone or iPad).

If Apple allow the $99 device to have access to apps directly it could canibilise sales of other iDevices which are currently required to put apps on your TV via airplay mirroring. This is what I meant about kill airport mirroring.

Apple are great innovators, but they are experts at $$ too. They won't want to lose potential sales of other idevices by allowing apps to run on the AppleTV directly when it is the lowest priced device they offer.

We may see Apps on a more expensive Apple iTV Set, as it will be priced considerably higher that $99, but on this cheap as chips streaming desktop box - I do not see it ever happening directly.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 06:34 AM   #31
Ipadlover29
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
sorry I didn't explain what I meant very well. The point I was trying to make is at the moment Apple have to sell you 2 devices to get Apps on your AppleTV.

The Apple TV is cheap $99. But in order to gain access to apps on your TV you have to purchase a more expensive component (iPod touch, iPhone or iPad).

If Apple allow the $99 device to have access to apps directly it could canibilise sales of other iDevices which are currently required to put apps on your TV via airplay mirroring. This is what I meant about kill airport mirroring.

Apple are great innovators, but they are experts at $$ too. They won't want to lose potential sales of other idevices by allowing apps to run on the AppleTV directly when it is the lowest priced device they offer.

We may see Apps on a more expensive Apple iTV Set, as it will be priced considerably higher that $99, but on this cheap as chips streaming desktop box - I do not see it ever happening directly.
What's this airport mirroring feature you mentioned?
Ipadlover29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 06:36 AM   #32
darster
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ipadlover29 View Post
What's this airport mirroring feature you mentioned?
If you have ipad 2 or 3 or iphone 4s you can fully mirror what is on those displays to your ATV2 or ATV3. It's airplay mirroring.
darster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 06:42 AM   #33
Ipadlover29
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by darster View Post
If you have ipad 2 or 3 or iphone 4s you can fully mirror what is on those displays to your ATV2 or ATV3. It's airplay mirroring.


LOL. Yeah I know I was joking. He said it was called airport mirroring lol. Anyway I guess you missed that.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
sorry I didn't explain what I meant very well. The point I was trying to make is at the moment Apple have to sell you 2 devices to get Apps on your AppleTV.

The Apple TV is cheap $99. But in order to gain access to apps on your TV you have to purchase a more expensive component (iPod touch, iPhone or iPad).

If Apple allow the $99 device to have access to apps directly it could canibilise sales of other iDevices which are currently required to put apps on your TV via airplay mirroring. This is what I meant about kill airport mirroring.

Apple are great innovators, but they are experts at $$ too. They won't want to lose potential sales of other idevices by allowing apps to run on the AppleTV directly when it is the lowest priced device they offer.

We may see Apps on a more expensive Apple iTV Set, as it will be priced considerably higher that $99, but on this cheap as chips streaming desktop box - I do not see it ever happening directly.
I know where your coming from but thats why apple just released a newer apple tv they will probably only release apps on it officially and not the atv 2. Also their gonna make us buy the paid apps again to run on the newer apple tv. I'm sure we will have apps by the fall.
Ipadlover29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 06:58 AM   #34
whooleytoo
macrumors 603
 
whooleytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cork, Ireland.
Send a message via AIM to whooleytoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broph View Post
The only difference I'm assuming is that the ATV 3 can do 1080p?

Is that the only difference?
Seems to be. 1080p video streaming, but not 1080p Airplay mirroring. I don't know what resolution Airplay-enabled titles can use, 720p or 1080p.
__________________
Mac <- Macintosh <- McIntosh apples <- John McIntosh <- McIntosh surname <- "Mac an toshach" <- "Son of the Chief"
whooleytoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 07:42 AM   #35
JUMPINTHEGUN
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrikrox View Post
What you mean? that option has been there for like forever.

ipad can also do it, stuff you bought before can start to steam instantly while its downloading if you go to the video app.

also stuff you have bought/or rented can start instantly on the apple tv (but that feature isnt new)
I guess I have never messed with it that much other than airplay and some iMac iTunes/ipad to ATV streaming (repurchased and downloaded content)... I bought it, rented a couple of movies, it took 2 - 4 hours to download each before I could watch them, so I just started streaming movies in 1080 from my Xbox360. I would say it was my DSL speed, but the xbox360 streams them...
JUMPINTHEGUN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 07:53 AM   #36
nfl46
macrumors 68040
 
nfl46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Apple TV 3
A5
1080p

Apple TV 2
A4
720p

New interface is available on both.
__________________
| 16GB Apple iPhone 5 | 13" Macbook Pro | Apple TV 2 | 16GB Apple iPad Mini [Retina] |
nfl46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 08:35 AM   #37
Ccrew
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulfly22583 View Post
Question for those that know way more about the Apple TV line -

Why do they not have a 10/100/1000 ethernet card in the device? I for the life of me cant think of why they would not have that functionality.

Thanks to anyone that can share some input
They have 10/100. Why they didn't put GigE I dunno, but probably figured since it's just a streaming device it doesn't need that bandwidth.
Ccrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 08:41 AM   #38
vtstarck
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I believe the old Apple TV technical specs page listed Bluetooth 2.1. The new technical specs page doesn't say anything about Bluetooth. I wouldn't be surprised if it does have 4.0.
vtstarck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 08:44 AM   #39
afin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Midwest USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulfly22583 View Post
Question for those that know way more about the Apple TV line -

Why do they not have a 10/100/1000 ethernet card in the device? I for the life of me cant think of why they would not have that functionality.

Thanks to anyone that can share some input
I'm going to second what everyone else said about cost and necessity. 10/100 is still fairly speedy and helps apple keep the device under that 100 dollar envelope.
afin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 09:24 AM   #40
whooleytoo
macrumors 603
 
whooleytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cork, Ireland.
Send a message via AIM to whooleytoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by afin View Post
I'm going to second what everyone else said about cost and necessity. 10/100 is still fairly speedy and helps apple keep the device under that 100 dollar envelope.
True, though as broadband speeds increase (100+Mbps services are already available here) people won't want their local device's Ethernet to be the limiting factor.
__________________
Mac <- Macintosh <- McIntosh apples <- John McIntosh <- McIntosh surname <- "Mac an toshach" <- "Son of the Chief"
whooleytoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 10:12 AM   #41
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by whooleytoo View Post
True, though as broadband speeds increase (100+Mbps services are already available here) people won't want their local device's Ethernet to be the limiting factor.
But other than downloading a video directly to the paltry 8-16GB worth of Flash storage, THERE IS NO NEED FOR gb speeds on a media streaming device! And frankly, so what if the handful of people who have 100+Mbps connections can't maximize the download speed, as long as there is enough buffer ahead of the video they won't even realize (since you can download and watch at the same time) that they might have been able to download the video a few minutes faster. Even blu-ray's can't max out the bandwidth of 100mb connection when streamed from a host computer.

So how is this a limiting factor?
__________________
MBP 8,2 15" 2.2Ghz w/ 120GB SSD + 500GB
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 10:19 AM   #42
marzer
macrumors 65816
 
marzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Remote HD & aTV Flash

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalledMacGarden View Post
only thing missing is seeing the actual apple TV screen on the ipad
There's an app for that! Does require patching the Apple TV, but there's automated solutions available that make it easy.

It's pretty cool, being able to view the Apple TV screen on the iPad. If my son wants to watch a movie, I can get him set up without even being in the room.
marzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 11:00 AM   #43
whooleytoo
macrumors 603
 
whooleytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cork, Ireland.
Send a message via AIM to whooleytoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulrbeers View Post
But other than downloading a video directly to the paltry 8-16GB worth of Flash storage, THERE IS NO NEED FOR gb speeds on a media streaming device! And frankly, so what if the handful of people who have 100+Mbps connections can't maximize the download speed, as long as there is enough buffer ahead of the video they won't even realize (since you can download and watch at the same time) that they might have been able to download the video a few minutes faster. Even blu-ray's can't max out the bandwidth of 100mb connection when streamed from a host computer.

So how is this a limiting factor?
More a marketing issue than a technical one - people with 100+Mbps broadband won't want to buy local devices limited to 100Mbps; regardless of whether they actually use that much bandwidth.

Any reduction in buffer times for large videos would be welcome (even if just a few seconds), as would the response times when browsing remote content lists & thumbnails. And the extra speed would be handy for the few times you download iOS updates. But ultimately I think the ATV will have to have greater speed than 100Mbps if the owner has other 100+Mbps devices; it's just a perceived need.
__________________
Mac <- Macintosh <- McIntosh apples <- John McIntosh <- McIntosh surname <- "Mac an toshach" <- "Son of the Chief"
whooleytoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 11:34 AM   #44
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by whooleytoo View Post
More a marketing issue than a technical one - people with 100+Mbps broadband won't want to buy local devices limited to 100Mbps; regardless of whether they actually use that much bandwidth.
.
Show me a mainstream media device/streamer that has more than a 100mb ethernet port. Roku doesn't, the Western Digital Live doesn't, Boxee Box doesn't. About the only ones I know of that do, are the Popcorn Hour's but I'm not sure you can't call those mainstream.
__________________
MBP 8,2 15" 2.2Ghz w/ 120GB SSD + 500GB
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 11:49 AM   #45
danny_w
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Now I'm really glad that I just bought a new (2nd) ATV2 a week ago on this forum. I have absolutely no need for 1080p (my Samsung plasma is 720p) and I can get the new GUI on my current boxes.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.3 GHz Samsung 840 ssd 10.8.5, iPhone 4 (T-Mobile) 6.1, TV2 (2), iPad2 16GB
danny_w is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the difference between ATT & AT&T displayed on iPhone? chrisu91 iPhone 18 Mar 6, 2011 12:18 AM
Buying a surge protector for a 13" MBP: What's the difference between these 3 options doxavita MacBook Pro 10 Jul 16, 2010 06:52 PM
What's the difference between Cisco pix & router n8236 Community Discussion 2 Mar 9, 2009 02:20 PM
What's the difference between a DVD RW & DVD RAM? mperkins37 Mac Pro 4 Mar 21, 2008 02:30 PM
What's the difference between battery model A1039 & battery A1057 for 17" powerbook ? babka General Mac Discussion 4 Feb 4, 2005 09:09 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC