Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 12, 2012, 11:40 AM   #76
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilot1226 View Post
Correct. I already upgraded back to 0.9.6 to create another failure, going to send the log to Handbrake forums. Didn't think this forum really cared about that stuff.
Awesome, thanks for following up.
__________________
Mac Mini (2.0GHz i7) | 27" Apple TB Display
15" Macbook Pro Retina (2.3GHz i7) | 11" Macbook Air 1.4GHz
AppleTV (x2)| 32GB iPad Mini (Wi-Fi) | 32GB iPhone 4S (x2)
Netgear ReadyNAS Ultra 4+ (4x2TB)
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 03:33 PM   #77
green94
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilot1226 View Post
Update: Yup, it was 0.9.6; changing back to 0.9.5 worked fine. No problems.
Where did you download 0.9.5? I can't find it on the HB website anymore.
green94 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 04:48 PM   #78
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by green94 View Post
Where did you download 0.9.5? I can't find it on the HB website anymore.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/handbrake/files/
dynaflash is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 07:00 PM   #79
scrunner
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaflash View Post
How do I change the pre settings to a higher setting like 1920x1080? mine won't let me go above 720x480?!?!
Sounds like you are using a dvd source in which case you cannot size up past the source since there is no point in doing so.

Edit: well you can with custom anamorphic. but 720 to 1920 is a heck of stretch..[/QUOTE]

Newbie question: Will I gain anything by going to ATV3 from ATV2 if I only use dvd source files (ISO)? Same question for viewing pictures using iTunes?

Thanks....
scrunner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 05:46 AM   #80
WebHead
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaflash View Post
Not sure. we talked about turning around a quick release with a new preset. But there are other considerations....

yes, nightlies are stable enough that I use them all of the time ... that said .. its a nightly and could contain bugs etc. For now Go with nightlies once they are back and running. As for right now 0.9.6 is as new as anything we have for mac.
If we wanna stick with the "official" release will the new preset be available under "Update Built-in Presets", or are there other reasons for using the nightlies?
WebHead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 12:58 PM   #81
shortcut3d
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Right now I'm able to encode Blu-ray discs using the Apple TV 2 preset and they work on our iPhone 4S, iPad 2, Apple TV 2, and Xbox 360 Media Center Extender. We are upgrading to the new iPad (FedEx tracking already received ) and an Apple TV 3. My question is will the Xbox 360 Media Center extender playback a new Apple TV 3 preset when its released? If so, I have all the Blu-ray main movie folders backed up ready to re-encode our favorite titles in 1080p.
__________________
2013 13" rMBP 2.8GHz i7|16GB 1600MHz|512GB SSD PCIe
shortcut3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 03:35 PM   #82
atandon
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortcut3d View Post
Right now I'm able to encode Blu-ray discs using the Apple TV 2 preset and they work on our iPhone 4S, iPad 2, Apple TV 2, and Xbox 360 Media Center Extender. We are upgrading to the new iPad (FedEx tracking already received ) and an Apple TV 3. My question is will the Xbox 360 Media Center extender playback a new Apple TV 3 preset when its released? If so, I have all the Blu-ray main movie folders backed up ready to re-encode our favorite titles in 1080p.
Can't comment on the xbox but i know ps3 supports this. The mp4/m4v container is actually well supported by most devices (compared to mkv).
BTW, I presume u are using handbrake. The apple tv2 preset forced max o/p resolution to 720p. You may want to start using high profile instead if you are interested in 1080p

----------

Folks,
Had a question regarding the picture settings in handbrake. For my blu ray encodes I use the high preset and my picture settings are as under -
o decombing and detelecine - OFF (since the source content is progressive)
o Crop - manually set to 0 in all 4 directions
o Anamorphic - strict (so that the output is always 1920 x 1080)

Trying to figure out if there is a good reason for different anamorphic or crop settings
atandon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 03:36 PM   #83
kagharaht
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by atandon View Post
Can't comment on the xbox but i know ps3 supports this. The mp4/m4v container is actually well supported by most devices (compared to mkv).
BTW, I presume u are using handbrake. The apple tv2 preset forced max o/p resolution to 720p. You may want to start using high profile instead if you are interested in 1080p
That's odd. I read on HB forum from a developer that you can simply select ATV2 now. Adjust the picture size to max, select web optimized and add an advance string he posted to improve streaming for 1080p encode.

Are you saying that even after these slight modifications the ATV3 will force the output to 720p rather than 1080p?
kagharaht is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 03:39 PM   #84
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by atandon View Post
Can't comment on the xbox but i know ps3 supports this. The mp4/m4v container is actually well supported by most devices (compared to mkv).
BTW, I presume u are using handbrake. The apple tv2 preset forced max o/p resolution to 720p. You may want to start using high profile instead if you are interested in 1080p

----------

Folks,
Had a question regarding the picture settings in handbrake. For my blu ray encodes I use the high preset and my picture settings are as under -
o decombing and detelecine - OFF (since the source content is progressive)
o Crop - manually set to 0 in all 4 directions
o Anamorphic - strict (so that the output is always 1920 x 1080)

Trying to figure out if there is a good reason for different anamorphic or crop settings
No reason to encode the black pixels that make up the matting for sources wider than 1.78:1. Not sure what benefit to leaving anamorphic on either.
__________________
Mac Mini (2.0GHz i7) | 27" Apple TB Display
15" Macbook Pro Retina (2.3GHz i7) | 11" Macbook Air 1.4GHz
AppleTV (x2)| 32GB iPad Mini (Wi-Fi) | 32GB iPhone 4S (x2)
Netgear ReadyNAS Ultra 4+ (4x2TB)
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 03:49 PM   #85
atandon
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightStorm View Post
No reason to encode the black pixels that make up the matting for sources wider than 1.78:1. Not sure what benefit to leaving anamorphic on either.
So essentially default picture settings at high profile should be fine? Does it make sense to at least turn off detelecine and decomb for progressive sources?
atandon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 03:51 PM   #86
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by atandon View Post
So essentially default picture settings at high profile should be fine? Does it make sense to at least turn off detelecine and decomb for progressive sources?
While I leave detelecine and decomb on by default for my DVD preset, I do not use either of these filters for my HDDVD and Bluray encodes.
__________________
Mac Mini (2.0GHz i7) | 27" Apple TB Display
15" Macbook Pro Retina (2.3GHz i7) | 11" Macbook Air 1.4GHz
AppleTV (x2)| 32GB iPad Mini (Wi-Fi) | 32GB iPhone 4S (x2)
Netgear ReadyNAS Ultra 4+ (4x2TB)
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 03:55 PM   #87
shortcut3d
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by atandon View Post
Can't comment on the xbox but i know ps3 supports this. The mp4/m4v container is actually well supported by most devices (compared to mkv).
BTW, I presume u are using handbrake. The apple tv2 preset forced max o/p resolution to 720p. You may want to start using high profile instead if you are interested in 1080p

----------

Folks,
Had a question regarding the picture settings in handbrake. For my blu ray encodes I use the high preset and my picture settings are as under -
o decombing and detelecine - OFF (since the source content is progressive)
o Crop - manually set to 0 in all 4 directions
o Anamorphic - strict (so that the output is always 1920 x 1080)

Trying to figure out if there is a good reason for different anamorphic or crop settings
The Xbox 360 Media Center Extender can even support MKV at 1080p. The down side is that transcode is performed real time on the host Media Center PC. Although I'm running a 2011 Mac mini 2.7GHz Dual-Core Intel i7, 8GB 1866MHz Kingston Hyper X, 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 MAX IOPS, and 750GB WD Scorpio Black the Xbox 360 transcode can really tax the system when 6 live TV streams are being recorded. The transcode video quality is also poor. So I prefer to keep the movie in a format and quality that the Xbox 360 can handle natively in Media Center Extender mode. M4V are supported natively, its the bit rate and audio format that are a concern. Up until now, the Apple TV 2 preset in Handbrake was no problem for all my devices because the Apple TV 2 was the limiting factor at 720p and this was more than acceptable for the iPad 2 and iPhone 4S. Obviously, with the new iPad and Apple TV 3 1080p will be preferred, but I need to make sure I'm not exceeding the Xbox 360s capabilities.

I'll test encode with the suggestions made and see if the results work cross platform on Friday.
__________________
2013 13" rMBP 2.8GHz i7|16GB 1600MHz|512GB SSD PCIe
shortcut3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 03:57 PM   #88
atandon
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightStorm View Post
While I leave detelecine and decomb on by default for my DVD preset, I do not use either of these filters for my HDDVD and Bluray encodes.
Thanks Nightstorm
atandon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 08:04 AM   #89
btomasie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
All,

how can I confirm that when I go back and do 1080p H.264's of my Blu-Ray movies for my ATV3, that Handbrake is set for "High Profile 4.0" ?

What is the "specs" on High Profile 4.0 so that we can set all the various things in the Advanced settings to maximize the ATV3's improved HW ?

Thanks!
Brian
btomasie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 11:00 AM   #90
bucksaddle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by btomasie View Post
All,

how can I confirm that when I go back and do 1080p H.264's of my Blu-Ray movies for my ATV3, that Handbrake is set for "High Profile 4.0" ?

What is the "specs" on High Profile 4.0 so that we can set all the various things in the Advanced settings to maximize the ATV3's improved HW ?

Thanks!
Brian
Nothing in the advanced options will make an encode "Profile 4.0" - its the resolution jump (going from 1280x720 to 1920x1080) that makes it Level 4 or above.

The encode log within HandBrake tells you what level it has encoded at so you can confirm it.
bucksaddle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 11:30 AM   #91
martinm0
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by atandon View Post
Can't comment on the xbox but i know ps3 supports this. The mp4/m4v container is actually well supported by most devices (compared to mkv).
BTW, I presume u are using handbrake. The apple tv2 preset forced max o/p resolution to 720p. You may want to start using high profile instead if you are interested in 1080p

----------

Folks,
Had a question regarding the picture settings in handbrake. For my blu ray encodes I use the high preset and my picture settings are as under -
o decombing and detelecine - OFF (since the source content is progressive)
o Crop - manually set to 0 in all 4 directions
o Anamorphic - strict (so that the output is always 1920 x 1080)

Trying to figure out if there is a good reason for different anamorphic or crop settings
I've been using the AppleTV2 preset as the base for my 1080p encodes and then modifying the preset for the following: up the resolution to 1080p, set it as "Same as Source" (seems defaulted now), I use Strict with no anamorphic, leave the cropping as is (since these are black bars and just increase the overall file size), and I set the stereo track to 192 from 160. (CQ is left at 20 as well).

I'm happy with the file sizes and the quality looks pretty much as good as it will get being a compressed file (moving to 18 and 17 CQ didn't seem to offer any extra quality and file size jumps up a bit). Eager to see what the HB crew has in store for us shortly.
martinm0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 11:53 AM   #92
khollister
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by martinm0 View Post
Eager to see what the HB crew has in store for us shortly.
Unless the Handbrake crew finally gets around to supporting PGS subtitles for BD rips, I'm sticking with iFlicks and iVI.

iFLicks doesn't support PGS subs, but does High profile L4.1 encodes. iVI burns in PGS subs, but currently only does Baseline/L3.0 encodes. The iVI dev said they will release a 1080p ATV3 preset with High/L4.1 encoding shortly.
__________________
3.33 GHz 6-core 2010 Mac Pro + 27" ACD
Late 2013 2.3 GHz i7 15" Retina MacBook Pro
iPad 3, iPhone 5C, ATV3
khollister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 01:09 PM   #93
osohardy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by khollister View Post
Unless the Handbrake crew finally gets around to supporting PGS subtitles for BD rips, I'm sticking with iFlicks and iVI.

iFLicks doesn't support PGS subs, but does High profile L4.1 encodes. iVI burns in PGS subs, but currently only does Baseline/L3.0 encodes. The iVI dev said they will release a 1080p ATV3 preset with High/L4.1 encoding shortly.

not sure if you said this before--does iVi do DTS to AC3 transcode as well like iFlicks? I have iFlicks already and have submitted a request for PGS subs too.
osohardy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 02:06 PM   #94
Scarpad
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
I've used Iflicks before but what is iVi ?
__________________
Imac 2011 I5 12gb * Ipod Touch 5g 16gb* Ipad Air 128gb LTE *ATV 3
Scarpad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 02:24 PM   #95
khollister
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scarpad View Post
I've used Iflicks before but what is iVi ?
http://www.southpolesoftware.com/iVI/iVI.php

Similar type of app to iFlicks, but offers a few more options and Supports PGS subtitles. It currently does not create a high profile encode regardless of the compression settings, but it is coming soon.

And yes, it does TrueHD/DTS-MA conversion to AC3/AAC as well, just like iFlicks.

Does the metadata thing like iFlicks too. One thing I have not figured out if it does is remixing of H.264 video streams in MKV's to MP4's - it seems to always compress. iFlicks has a way to remix streams without compressing if you want to play full size BD rips (assuming they are AVC, not VC_1 or MPEG2)

I was just comparing an iFlicks High/L4.1 encode of The Fifth Element to a straight remux of the BD rip (9 GB vs 27 GB). Really quite good. Yes, I can tell the difference on my calibrated Sony 55HX929, but it would require direct comparison for most folks to see it at normal viewing distances. Way, way better than most cable or sat "HD" PQ.

It will do nicely as a video jukebox of all my movies for casual watching. For when I really care about audio/video quality, I will play the BD on my Oppo or Panasonic players.

----------

One heads up - iVI is available on the App Store in a version that does not rip DVD's. While I don't care about that (all my stuff gets ripped with MakeMKV), the Pro version they sell directly on the web site is updated quicker due to less red tape. The pro version is only $10, so I recommend buying that just for the quicker updates.
__________________
3.33 GHz 6-core 2010 Mac Pro + 27" ACD
Late 2013 2.3 GHz i7 15" Retina MacBook Pro
iPad 3, iPhone 5C, ATV3

Last edited by khollister; Mar 15, 2012 at 02:21 PM.
khollister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 02:48 PM   #96
atandon
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by khollister View Post
I was just comparing an iFlicks High/L4.1 encode of The Fifth Element to a straight remux of the BD rip (9 GB vs 27 GB).
Which profile did u select in iFlicks. Is it the itunes 1080p one?
Also, how long does iFlicks take for the conversion.
Noticed that handbrake takes on an average 4-5 hours on my imac for a 1080p encode
atandon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 04:08 PM   #97
khollister
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by atandon View Post
Which profile did u select in iFlicks. Is it the itunes 1080p one?
Also, how long does iFlicks take for the conversion.
Noticed that handbrake takes on an average 4-5 hours on my imac for a 1080p encode
"HD 1080p" is the preset name. It takes about 3 hours I think on my Mac Pro - I really haven't paid too much attention. Handbrake is about the same speed for similar type and amount of compression.
__________________
3.33 GHz 6-core 2010 Mac Pro + 27" ACD
Late 2013 2.3 GHz i7 15" Retina MacBook Pro
iPad 3, iPhone 5C, ATV3
khollister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 06:23 PM   #98
WebHead
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
In light of this comparison at Ars Technica - 1080p video smackdown: iTunes vs. Blu-ray - I think what I was trying to ask earlier was whether Apple is now using a more efficient compression method than HandBrake? Or are the algorithms all the same?
WebHead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 07:24 PM   #99
chiefpavvy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by WebHead View Post
In light of this comparison at Ars Technica - 1080p video smackdown: iTunes vs. Blu-ray - I think what I was trying to ask earlier was whether Apple is now using a more efficient compression method than HandBrake? Or are the algorithms all the same?
It isn't the algorithm, it is the source material. Apple gets the studio masters which are much higher quality than even Blu-Ray disc (which is lossy to begin with) so they are able to create a file of higher quality at a lower overall bitrate and file size than anything you could do from Blu-Ray. And unless you have a "friend" who can feed you the studio masters you aren't going to do it.
chiefpavvy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 07:24 PM   #100
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by WebHead View Post
In light of this comparison at Ars Technica - 1080p video smackdown: iTunes vs. Blu-ray - I think what I was trying to ask earlier was whether Apple is now using a more efficient compression method than HandBrake? Or are the algorithms all the same?
Handbrake has been able to encode high profile h.264 via x264 for a long time. As the person above stated, its more about the source.
__________________
Mac Mini (2.0GHz i7) | 27" Apple TB Display
15" Macbook Pro Retina (2.3GHz i7) | 11" Macbook Air 1.4GHz
AppleTV (x2)| 32GB iPad Mini (Wi-Fi) | 32GB iPhone 4S (x2)
Netgear ReadyNAS Ultra 4+ (4x2TB)
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Apple TV and Flickr SrWebDeveloper Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Mar 9, 2012 04:54 AM
New apple TV (Set top box) for iOS 5.1 Jordom115 Apple TV and Home Theater 15 Feb 10, 2012 09:32 AM
Handbrake settings for more than one platform? S1njin iPad 5 Sep 15, 2011 12:49 PM
Handbrake Settings for MAX quality? iPadPublisher Apple TV and Home Theater 2 May 15, 2011 03:12 PM
Handbrake setting for New Apple TV toro1966 Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Dec 20, 2010 11:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC