Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 8, 2012, 08:38 PM   #1
SRLMJ23
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York
Processor Change...?

I was wondering something: Since my MacBook Air has an Intel Core 2 Duo chip in it, couldn't I technically upgrade the chip to a Core 2 Quad? There is one Core 2 Quad that runs on a LGA 775 platform which I'm assuming (have to do a little more digging) is what my processor is based on.

On the other hand I am kind of scared to open up my Mac and mess around with the CPU because I just got it at Christmas and if I ruined I would kill myself!

What do you all think?
__________________
2013 “The New MacBook Air” 11 Inch, iPhone 5 Slate 32gb, iPad Mini Retina Slate 16gb WiFi, Apple TV (Revision 3), iPod Touch White 32gb (4th Generation), iPod Video 5th Generation 32gb.
SRLMJ23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 09:42 PM   #2
KylePowers
macrumors 68000
 
KylePowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
CPU is soldered, not socketed. Can't replace it



CPU is in red
KylePowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 09:45 PM   #3
anirudh
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: India
you have a 2011 MBA with a C2D processor

And no, the processor is not replaceable.
__________________
Custom gaming rig (the Beast)
iPad Air
iPhone 5
anirudh is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2012, 09:33 AM   #4
upsguy27
macrumors 65816
 
upsguy27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Arizona
Send a message via AIM to upsguy27 Send a message via MSN to upsguy27 Send a message via Skype™ to upsguy27
The only sort of CPU "replacement" you could do would be putting a logic board from a newer/higher specced Air, such as the mid-2011 logic board.

I might be wrong about this; I'm not sure if Apple changed the size of the board from 2010 to 2011.
__________________
2.4Ghz i5 Late 2013 Retina MacBook Pro 13", 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD Mac Pro Hackintosh Samsung Galaxy S 5 Black Canon 7D
upsguy27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2012, 09:43 AM   #5
Acorn
macrumors 68020
 
Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fangorn Forest
you sure its not the orange. it looks like the orange is the cpu to me. the reason i think that is because the die is bigger for the included intel hd graphics built into the same chip.
__________________
o/
Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2012, 11:05 AM   #6
KylePowers
macrumors 68000
 
KylePowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
He has a 2010. The orange is the Nvidia GPU
KylePowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 02:28 PM   #7
SRLMJ23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York
Yeah I have a Late 2010, i put the wrong date in my signature (gotta change that). So yeah late 2010.
__________________
2013 “The New MacBook Air” 11 Inch, iPhone 5 Slate 32gb, iPad Mini Retina Slate 16gb WiFi, Apple TV (Revision 3), iPod Touch White 32gb (4th Generation), iPod Video 5th Generation 32gb.
SRLMJ23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Early 2009 Single Processor to Dual Processor sunman Mac Pro 11 Jun 21, 2014 11:19 AM
A7 Processor Manufactured by Samsung, M7 is Standalone Processor From NXP MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 149 Oct 14, 2013 06:40 PM
Can we change out the processor on Macbook Air 13 in N3w2Mac MacBook Air 3 Feb 11, 2013 07:38 AM
The Processor. mikethebigo iPhone 4 Sep 12, 2012 12:13 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC