Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 8, 2012, 08:38 PM   #1
SRLMJ23
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York, New York
Processor Change...?

I was wondering something: Since my MacBook Air has an Intel Core 2 Duo chip in it, couldn't I technically upgrade the chip to a Core 2 Quad? There is one Core 2 Quad that runs on a LGA 775 platform which I'm assuming (have to do a little more digging) is what my processor is based on.

On the other hand I am kind of scared to open up my Mac and mess around with the CPU because I just got it at Christmas and if I ruined I would kill myself!

What do you all think?
__________________
iPhone 6 64GB Gold, 2013 MacBook Air 11 Inch, iPad Mini Retina Slate 16GB WiFi, Apple TV (Revision 3), Late 2010 MacBook Air, iPod Video 5th Generation 32GB, Apple AirPort Express (Rev. 2)
SRLMJ23 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 09:42 PM   #2
KylePowers
macrumors 68000
 
KylePowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
CPU is soldered, not socketed. Can't replace it



CPU is in red
KylePowers is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 09:45 PM   #3
anirudh
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: India
you have a 2011 MBA with a C2D processor

And no, the processor is not replaceable.
__________________
Custom gaming rig (the Beast)
iPad Air
iPhone 5
anirudh is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2012, 09:33 AM   #4
upsguy27
macrumors 65816
 
upsguy27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Arizona
Send a message via AIM to upsguy27 Send a message via MSN to upsguy27 Send a message via Skype™ to upsguy27
The only sort of CPU "replacement" you could do would be putting a logic board from a newer/higher specced Air, such as the mid-2011 logic board.

I might be wrong about this; I'm not sure if Apple changed the size of the board from 2010 to 2011.
__________________
2.4Ghz i5 Late 2013 Retina MacBook Pro 13", 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD Mac Pro Hackintosh Samsung Galaxy S 5 Black Canon 7D
upsguy27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2012, 09:43 AM   #5
Acorn
macrumors 68020
 
Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fangorn Forest
you sure its not the orange. it looks like the orange is the cpu to me. the reason i think that is because the die is bigger for the included intel hd graphics built into the same chip.
__________________
o/
Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2012, 11:05 AM   #6
KylePowers
macrumors 68000
 
KylePowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
He has a 2010. The orange is the Nvidia GPU
KylePowers is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 02:28 PM   #7
SRLMJ23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York, New York
Yeah I have a Late 2010, i put the wrong date in my signature (gotta change that). So yeah late 2010.
__________________
iPhone 6 64GB Gold, 2013 MacBook Air 11 Inch, iPad Mini Retina Slate 16GB WiFi, Apple TV (Revision 3), Late 2010 MacBook Air, iPod Video 5th Generation 32GB, Apple AirPort Express (Rev. 2)
SRLMJ23 is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Early 2009 Single Processor to Dual Processor sunman Mac Pro 11 Jun 21, 2014 11:19 AM
A7 Processor Manufactured by Samsung, M7 is Standalone Processor From NXP MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 149 Oct 14, 2013 06:40 PM
Can we change out the processor on Macbook Air 13 in N3w2Mac MacBook Air 3 Feb 11, 2013 07:38 AM
The Processor. mikethebigo iPhone 4 Sep 12, 2012 12:13 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC