Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2012, 03:15 PM   #1
chenks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
MKV to MP4 for AppleTV

If I have a 1080p MKV file, what is the quickest way to turn this into an MP4/M4V file for playback on AppleTV2/3? ie no reconverting, just turning it into an MP4 "as is".

I believe there are a few tools that will do this (on a mac), looking for suggestions etc.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 04:08 PM   #2
Bill.the.Cat
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
MP4Tools is what you are looking for (as long as the mkv contains h264/x264 video)
Bill.the.Cat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 04:13 PM   #3
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
yeah they are x264 inside an MKV container.
so, the MKV has both DTS and AC3 audio, I guess I don't need to bother with the DTS track as it's for AppleTV playback.

I do know that the AppleTV needs 2 audio tracks (AAC and AC3 pass-thru), but when I quickly tried MP4Tools, it created an M4V file that only had the AC3 audio track?
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 05:57 PM   #4
Alrescha
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, MA
If the contents of the file are ATV 2/3 compatible, then you want Subler.

A.
Alrescha is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 06:12 PM   #5
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alrescha View Post
If the contents of the file are ATV 2/3 compatible, then you want Subler.

A.
I believe subler and mp4tools will do the same task.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 11:27 PM   #6
Bill.the.Cat
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
I do know that the AppleTV needs 2 audio tracks (AAC and AC3 pass-thru), but when I quickly tried MP4Tools, it created an M4V file that only had the AC3 audio track?
You need to check the "add a 2-channel track" box, that will add an AAC track in addition to the AC3 track.
Bill.the.Cat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 07:51 AM   #7
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill.the.Cat View Post
You need to check the "add a 2-channel track" box, that will add an AAC track in addition to the AC3 track.
trying it just now, does this look correct?

chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 10:38 AM   #8
Bill.the.Cat
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Yes, just don't forget to set Device to "Apple TV." All it really does is make sure the output file gets the .m4v extension instead of mp4.
Bill.the.Cat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 11:13 AM   #9
androiphone
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill.the.Cat View Post
Yes, just don't forget to set Device to "Apple TV." All it really does is make sure the output file gets the .m4v extension instead of mp4.
does that actually matter? the tech specs says it supports .m4v .mp4 and .mov
androiphone is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 11:17 AM   #10
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by androiphone View Post
does that actually matter? the tech specs says it supports .m4v .mp4 and .mov
is some instance it does matter.
for example if the file has an MP4 extension, sometimes chapters don't work. but change the extension to M4V and they do.
chenks is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 11:20 AM   #11
androiphone
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
is some instance it does matter.
for example if the file has an MP4 extension, sometimes chapters don't work. but change the extension to M4V and they do.
ah that's good to know
androiphone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 05:00 PM   #12
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
got this prompt appear when working on one file.
something to be concerned about? and what is the appropriate response for what I am doing?

chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 05:05 PM   #13
Sedulous
macrumors 65816
 
Sedulous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
got this prompt appear when working on one file.
something to be concerned about? and what is the appropriate response for what I am doing?

Image
The answer is sometimes. It doesn't hurt to let MP4Tools remux the mkv to remove the header compression. Then load up the remuxed mkv and then convert that to mp4. Skipping this sometimes doesn't seem to result in any problems but sometimes I have had problems with the converted .mp4 behaving in weird ways (i.e. one audio track refuses to play).
Sedulous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 10:32 PM   #14
littfam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Please help a newbie here. I'm wondering if there should be some adjustments to the video frame rate, and the audio bit rate for my "soon to arrive" ATV3. Does this look ok? Isn't the audio bitrate to high? Should I use 29.97 for the frame rate?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2012-03-12 at 7.21.53 PM.png
Views:	563
Size:	121.1 KB
ID:	329275  
__________________
2 iMacs - 2.5 Ghz i5, 500 gig HD's
MacBook Air - 2.0 Ghz i7, 256 SSD, 8 Gb ram
White Crackbook 2.16 Ghz C2D 500 gig HDD
MLion 10.8.2 etc... etc... And all that good stuff!
littfam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 12:45 AM   #15
Sedulous
macrumors 65816
 
Sedulous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by littfam View Post
Please help a newbie here. I'm wondering if there should be some adjustments to the video frame rate, and the audio bit rate for my "soon to arrive" ATV3. Does this look ok? Isn't the audio bitrate to high? Should I use 29.97 for the frame rate?
Don't change the framerate. Audio would be out of sync.

BTW, if you want to keep the subs, you can check those and choose mux (soft). This would allow you to turn subs on/off during playback.
Sedulous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 07:02 AM   #16
slothrob
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sedulous View Post
BTW, if you want to keep the subs, you can check those and choose mux (soft). This would allow you to turn subs on/off during playback.
Though, unless the handling of soft subs changes on the aTV3 from the aTV2, you won't be able to turn them on. The aTV2 will only play back closed-captions (or hard subs of course)
slothrob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 11:18 AM   #17
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
got round to testing playback on the AppleTV (v2) today, and all seems OK so far.

One strange anomaly is that iTunes thinks the file is 720P even though the resolution is actually 1920x800.

Guess there must be yet another iTunes meta tag somewhere that tells it whether it is 720P or 1080P.

chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 11:31 AM   #18
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
got round to testing playback on the AppleTV (v2) today, and all seems OK so far.

One strange anomaly is that iTunes thinks the file is 720P even though the resolution is actually 1920x800.

Guess there must be yet another iTunes meta tag somewhere that tells it whether it is 720P or 1080P.

Image
My guess is the calculation is based on the vertical resolution more then the horizontal. Since the vertical at 800p is closer to 720p then 1080 - it went with tagging the file at 720.

Just a wild guess though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slothrob View Post
Though, unless the handling of soft subs changes on the aTV3 from the aTV2, you won't be able to turn them on. The aTV2 will only play back closed-captions (or hard subs of course)
You can turn off and on subs now with the ATV2 -it allows selection of multiple soft subs. Just hold down the select button while a movie is playing and you can change the subtitle track or the audio track selected.

Nice if you want to include a commentary track in your movie.
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 11:42 AM   #19
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
My guess is the calculation is based on the vertical resolution more then the horizontal. Since the vertical at 800p is closer to 720p then 1080 - it went with tagging the file at 720.

Just a wild guess though.
adding a few more with varying resolutions above 720, so will see what those come out as.

as a side note, the tracks have a stereo and 5.1 audio track (both English), when selecting a different audio track on the AppleTV, they are both just listed as "English" so know quick way of telling which is which. Is there a way to set it so that it shows what each track actually is ?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
My guess is the calculation is based on the vertical resolution more then the horizontal. Since the vertical at 800p is closer to 720p then 1080 - it went with tagging the file at 720.

Just a wild guess though.
nope it's not that.
added a full 1920x1080 file and it still reckons it's 720P



probably a hidden meta tag somewhere that defaults to 720P unless specifically changed.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 11:48 AM   #20
Sedulous
macrumors 65816
 
Sedulous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
adding a few more with varying resolutions above 720, so will see what those come out as.

as a side note, the tracks have a stereo and 5.1 audio track (both English), when selecting a different audio track on the AppleTV, they are both just listed as "English" so know quick way of telling which is which. Is there a way to set it so that it shows what each track actually is ?

----------



nope it's not that.
added a full 1920x1080 file and it still reckons it's 720P

Image

probably a hidden meta tag somewhere that defaults to 720P unless specifically changed.
That's interesting. I've never even tried feeding a 1080p file to iTunes. Maybe it is a bug since 1080p is a new "thing" for the iTunes ecosystem?
Sedulous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 12:12 PM   #21
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
as a side note, the tracks have a stereo and 5.1 audio track (both English), when selecting a different audio track on the AppleTV, they are both just listed as "English" so know quick way of telling which is which. Is there a way to set it so that it shows what each track actually is ?
No I don't - I know in Subler you can select the language of the track. I've never actually tried changing it to anything but english. Maybe instead of English you could put "AAC" or something along those lines to distinguish tracks.

Which ever is the "selected" track should be the one that plays by default (which also means if you have more then one audio track only one should be selected) but it's something I never played around with.

In regards to the 1080p tag - I'm guessing you are right. I guess we would have to open a new iTunes 1080p file and see what it's meta tags are. Previously Apple just tagged hi-def as HD. I guess now they are distinguishing it.

Edit:

The latest beta of Subler allows 1080p tagging.
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 12:13 PM   #22
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
In regards to the 1080p tag - I'm guessing you are right. I guess we would have to open a new iTunes 1080p file and see what it's meta tags are. Previously Apple just tagged hi-def as HD. I guess now they are distinguishing it.
yeah that will be it.
the original HD tag is probably now the "720P HD" tag. so apps like Subler and MP4Tools etc will probably need to update to support the new 2 tier HD tag.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 12:19 PM   #23
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
yeah that will be it.
the original HD tag is probably now the "720P HD" tag. so apps like Subler and MP4Tools etc will probably need to update to support the new 2 tier HD tag.
Check out the latest beta of Subler (15 beta 3). He added support for 1080P tagging. It's also a pretty sweet tool that auto adds other meta tags (description, directors, etc).
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 12:41 PM   #24
eliehass
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by slothrob View Post
Though, unless the handling of soft subs changes on the aTV3 from the aTV2, you won't be able to turn them on. The aTV2 will only play back closed-captions (or hard subs of course)
That is not true. If a video has soft subs, press and hold select during playback (the button in the center of the directional wheel). A menu will appear allowing you to select a soft subtitle.
eliehass is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 01:51 PM   #25
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
Check out the latest beta of Subler (15 beta 3). He added support for 1080P tagging. It's also a pretty sweet tool that auto adds other meta tags (description, directors, etc).
i've used Subler all the time, will give this new beta a try.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MKV to MP4 Help ash211 Apple TV and Home Theater 11 Aug 13, 2014 01:48 PM
Best MKV to MP4 converter for ML? blast87 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 16 Jul 29, 2014 05:12 AM
MKV to MP4 conversion nhlducks35 Apple TV and Home Theater 2 May 31, 2013 08:11 AM
Mkv to mp4/m4v lossless Spacecowboy1 Apple TV and Home Theater 66 Oct 7, 2012 05:55 PM
mkv to mp4 - easiest method? bluestarCVO Apple TV and Home Theater 34 Jul 30, 2012 01:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC