Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 1, 2012, 07:57 PM   #51
swindmiller
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaflash View Post
For the AppleTv to work correctly it expects the first track to be AAC and the second track to be AC3. You can just have the AAC track, but you cannot just have the AC3 track.

iTunes *will* take it if it just has the AC3 track but no apple iOS devices or the AppleTV will play it.
Thanks, that is what I thought. It would have sucked for me to do all of this searching if I was wrong
For the future I will use the Apple TV preset in Handbrake but now I need to find a way to add that AAC in to my existing videos without having to re-encode the video.
swindmiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 09:51 PM   #52
Alrescha
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by swindmiller View Post
Thanks, that is what I thought. It would have sucked for me to do all of this searching if I was wrong
For the future I will use the Apple TV preset in Handbrake but now I need to find a way to add that AAC in to my existing videos without having to re-encode the video.
MP4Tools will do this.

A.
Alrescha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 10:35 PM   #53
swindmiller
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Anything for windows?
swindmiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 06:42 AM   #54
MonkeySee....
macrumors 68040
 
MonkeySee....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
If anyone is interested I downloaded SmartConverter from the Mac App store last night.

Its a cross between Handbrake and Subtler. So so easy.

http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/smart...47513724?mt=12

I downloaded the free one and then purchased the Pro within about 5 mins. No hesitation.
__________________
If you’re busy making everything, how can you perfect anything? - Apple

Always keep the rhythm in your feet and a little party in your shoulders. - Phil Dunphy
MonkeySee.... is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2012, 02:19 PM   #55
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
well the issue still remains.
the audio appears to be slightly behind the video (only very slightly).

1080p MKV with DTS track, run thru MP4Tools to remux it to M4V with stereo AAC and DD51 AC3 audio tracks.

is this an issue with MP4Tools itself? the original MKV file does not have audio sync issues.

Last edited by chenks; May 12, 2012 at 03:03 PM.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2012, 10:03 PM   #56
ugp
macrumors 65816
 
ugp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Inverness, Florida
Send a message via AIM to ugp Send a message via Yahoo to ugp Send a message via Skype™ to ugp
iVl and MP4Tools will do the trick. iVl will label your items correctly and import them as well if you like.
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB Black
2nd Gen 16GB iPad Mini
ugp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2012, 03:21 AM   #57
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugp View Post
iVl and MP4Tools will do the trick. iVl will label your items correctly and import them as well if you like.
irrelevant to the question i asked.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2012, 11:20 AM   #58
Alrescha
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
is this an issue with MP4Tools itself? the original MKV file does not have audio sync issues.
I've seen the problem with certain files - but not all. There are beta versions of MP4Tools available, so you might try those. I have found that the betas work better for some files (and worse for others - sigh).

A.
Alrescha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2012, 11:22 AM   #59
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alrescha View Post
I've seen the problem with certain files - but not all. There are beta versions of MP4Tools available, so you might try those. I have found that the betas work better for some files (and worse for others - sigh).

A.
eeesh... that sounds like a chore!
will try the beta version on the same original MKV file and see what happens.

are there any other tools that do the same job? just to see if that makes any difference?
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2012, 01:22 PM   #60
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alrescha View Post
I've seen the problem with certain files - but not all. There are beta versions of MP4Tools available, so you might try those. I have found that the betas work better for some files (and worse for others - sigh).

A.
beta version made no difference.
both stereo and dd5.1 tracks are still behind the video.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 11:55 AM   #61
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefpavvy View Post
Yes, if you have told it to prefer 5.1 it will. Default is the 2-channel AAC track however.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
beta version made no difference.
both stereo and dd5.1 tracks are still behind the video.
If you open the file in Subler and select the AC3 track and deselect the AAC track the ATV will auto-play AC3 if the Surround option is set to auto.

Selecting both will cause issues though.

I personally use the mkvdtstoac3 and subler to mux and I've never had a audio issue.
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 11:59 AM   #62
chenks
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
I personally use the mkvdtstoac3 and subler to mux and I've never had a audio issue.
does that not result in just the 1 AC3 5.1 audio track though?
i might give it a try if it results in the same as what MP4Tools does, (ie create a stereo AAC and 5.1 AC3 track).
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 12:03 PM   #63
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
does that not result in just the 1 AC3 5.1 audio track though?
i might give it a try if it results in the same as what MP4Tools does, (ie create a stereo AAC and 5.1 AC3 track).
You can just re-add the audio track from the MKV and tell subler to do an AAC conversion instead of AC3 pass-thru. You will then have two tracks.
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 02:59 PM   #64
Phish311
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Has anyone tried bigasoft total video converter?
Phish311 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 05:14 PM   #65
benh911f
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
If you open the file in Subler and select the AC3 track and deselect the AAC track the ATV will auto-play AC3 if the Surround option is set to auto.

Selecting both will cause issues though.

I personally use the mkvdtstoac3 and subler to mux and I've never had a audio issue.
Am I understanding correctly that in Subler, to get the TV to output Surround, you check the AC-3 6 ch option and unselect the AAC 2 ch?
benh911f is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 05:18 PM   #66
FlatlinerG
macrumors 6502a
 
FlatlinerG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada
I use AirVideo Server on my MacBook (works on Windows too) and the AirVideo app on my iPhone. The app lets you browse your computers hard drive and either play or covert the videos and play them directly on the AppleTV through AirPlay.
__________________
Late 2011 MBP 13"
2TB Time Capsule, 2nd Gen AppleTV
16GB Black iPhone 5, 32GB Black iPad 2
...and many more.
FlatlinerG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 05:34 PM   #67
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by benh911f View Post
Am I understanding correctly that in Subler, to get the TV to output Surround, you check the AC-3 6 ch option and unselect the AAC 2 ch?
That's correct. Just make sure both aren't checked otherwise you'll get no sound.
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 06:28 PM   #68
benh911f
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
That's correct. Just make sure both aren't checked otherwise you'll get no sound.
One more thing that I don't really understand. Firstly, all my own media I have ripped and tagged in Subler, I have checked both options, and I have had sound, however I'm assuming it's stereo and not surround.
Second, if you are supposed to check the surround tab, why does media I've purchased on iTunes have the stereo selected and surround unselected?

Thanks for the help.
benh911f is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 06:34 PM   #69
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by benh911f View Post
One more thing that I don't really understand. Firstly, all my own media I have ripped and tagged in Subler, I have checked both options, and I have had sound, however I'm assuming it's stereo and not surround.
Second, if you are supposed to check the surround tab, why does media I've purchased on iTunes have the stereo selected and surround unselected?
Image
Thanks for the help.
No idea - I think it tells which track to default to and will get confused if both are selected. Your amp should tell you if you are getting 5.1 or not - read your manual.

I don't have any apple bought tracks - I do what works for me so YMMV depending on ATV version, software version, amp etc.
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2012, 07:40 AM   #70
DustinT
macrumors 68000
 
DustinT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adobe75 View Post
It's not free, but I use iFlicks to automatically convert avi/mkv to iTunes and add metadata. I'm pretty sure it supports 1080p mkv files.

It is also very smart about audio tracks. It will automatically preserve AC3 audio and create a 2-ch AAC track. It will also convert DTS to AC3.

I use MP4tools also, but iFlicks is automatic when scripted and does a killer job on metadata.
Agreed. I have uTorrent monitoring an RSS feed for some stuff I like to watch so it automatically downloads. Then I set iFlicks to automatically transcode that media to an AppleTV friendly format and move it automatically into iTunes. Using the scripts provided by the Dev of iFlicks it took about 20 minutes to set that all up. It's a fool proof solution and I can't imagine anything doing a better job.
__________________

My townhouse could pass for a well stocked Apple store.
DustinT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 10:35 PM   #71
macUser2007
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinT View Post
Agreed. I have uTorrent monitoring an RSS feed for some stuff I like to watch so it automatically downloads. Then I set iFlicks to automatically transcode that media to an AppleTV friendly format and move it automatically into iTunes. Using the scripts provided by the Dev of iFlicks it took about 20 minutes to set that all up. It's a fool proof solution and I can't imagine anything doing a better job.
iFlicks is good, but it sucks for most subtitled MKVs. Even though it's supposed to work in the latest version, it doesn't in most cases. Weirdly, the developers are not even addressing the issue on their forums, even though there are enough people bitching about it.
macUser2007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 07:40 AM   #72
JMEANS
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
So I have read through this thread which was originally about changing the MKV container to ATV compatible mp4 container without changing the quality or the size of the original MKV file. I would love to accomplish this as well! I use Handbreak when i want to reduce an MKV size but have been on the look out for a program that doesnt! after reading thru this thread the conclusion I have come to is MP4Tools, iFlicks and iVI accomplish the container switch without changing the integrity of the original MKV correct? The thread sort of went off with audio sync issues and track selection, playback etc. so I just wanted some confirmation the container switch programs-Thanks Jim
JMEANS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 08:19 AM   #73
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMEANS View Post
So I have read through this thread which was originally about changing the MKV container to ATV compatible mp4 container without changing the quality or the size of the original MKV file. I would love to accomplish this as well! I use Handbreak when i want to reduce an MKV size but have been on the look out for a program that doesnt! after reading thru this thread the conclusion I have come to is MP4Tools, iFlicks and iVI accomplish the container switch without changing the integrity of the original MKV correct? The thread sort of went off with audio sync issues and track selection, playback etc. so I just wanted some confirmation the container switch programs-Thanks Jim
Yes, all three can remux. Of the three, I recommend the beta version (NOT the non-beta one!!!) MP4Tools the most - the other two apps are considerably slower.
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 09:30 AM   #74
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Menneisyys2 View Post
Yes, all three can remux. Of the three, I recommend the beta version (NOT the non-beta one!!!) MP4Tools the most - the other two apps are considerably slower.
What about Subler???? You are always a big proponent.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 10:14 AM   #75
JMEANS
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Thank you! so MP4Tools Beta, i will try it!
Subler doesn't convert MKV container to MP4 container does it?! I use it all the time for tagging only... If it can switch container does it keep the file the same size? I do not want to shrink the file or mess with structure. Thanks

Last edited by JMEANS; Oct 30, 2012 at 10:25 AM.
JMEANS is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MKV to MP4 Help ash211 Apple TV and Home Theater 11 Aug 13, 2014 12:48 PM
Best MKV to MP4 converter for ML? blast87 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 16 Jul 29, 2014 04:12 AM
MKV to MP4 conversion nhlducks35 Apple TV and Home Theater 2 May 31, 2013 07:11 AM
Mkv to mp4/m4v lossless Spacecowboy1 Apple TV and Home Theater 66 Oct 7, 2012 04:55 PM
mkv to mp4 - easiest method? bluestarCVO Apple TV and Home Theater 34 Jul 30, 2012 12:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC