Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2012, 07:25 PM   #1
Mr_Brightside_@
macrumors 65816
 
Mr_Brightside_@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: below Ash Tree Lane
ProRes with QT 7.6.6, FCE 4.0.1 and Mpeg Streamclip

Hey all,
In attempting to export footage from a 5dmkii as ProRes footage for editing in FCE, I found that neither Streamclip nor QT Pro 7.6.6 have the ProRes format as an option. Any ideas if this can work? I'm under the impression that it can. I have the AppleProResDecoder component installed in /System/Library/QuickTime, version 1.0 currently.
Thanks!
__________________
All over the ship, dancing through the wreckage of the Pfhor computer core, DURANDAL WAS LAUGHING
Here is the toil of that house, and the inextricable wandering
Mr_Brightside_@ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 07:28 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Final Cut Express does NOT support the ProRes codec, it uses the Apple Intermediate Codec instead, which should be an option for Compression in MPEG Streamclip.

But if you use Final Cut Pro and not FCE:

I recently edited a short film with Canon 5D Mark II footage and had better results with the following application:
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 08:06 PM   #3
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
i recall being able to download the codec from apple's website...
that was about 2 months ago. That might be just to play it tho...
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 08:09 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by matteusclement View Post
i recall being able to download the codec from apple's website...
that was about 2 months ago. That might be just to play it tho...
This perhaps? But will FCE work with that?
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 08:32 PM   #5
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by matteusclement View Post
i recall being able to download the codec from apple's website...
that was about 2 months ago. That might be just to play it tho...
A playback only version has been available for a while, but to get the encoder I think you need to have one of Apples ProApps. You could pay $50 for Motion or Compressor to get access to the codec but, like simsaladimbamba, I don't know how well it will work w/FCE (if at all).

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
This perhaps? But will FCE work with that?
Being a ProApps update I don't know if it will work w/o having a qualifying app installed.
__________________
Looking For Lenny - documentary about comedian Lenny Bruce's timeless impact on stand-up comedy & Free Speech.
Netflix, iTunes, Amazon
LethalWolfe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 08:56 PM   #6
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by LethalWolfe View Post
A playback only version has been available for a while, but to get the encoder I think you need to have one of Apples ProApps. You could pay $50 for Motion or Compressor to get access to the codec but, like simsaladimbamba, I don't know how well it will work w/FCE (if at all).
I could however extract the codecs via Pacifist and was able to play a ProRes encoded video file in a Lion VM (which does not have any of the Pro Apps installed, as shown below).

Quote:
Being a ProApps update I don't know if it will work w/o having a qualifying app installed.
It will not work via the installer though:
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 10:52 PM   #7
Mr_Brightside_@
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Mr_Brightside_@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: below Ash Tree Lane
Hey all, thanks for the input.

As simsaladimbamba noted the ProApps version is meant for, well, Pro Apps. That said, I believe I have redemption codes for them all somewhere, and may use them simply to get at the codec for use with Streamclip and then (hopefully) editing in Express. I'll post back results about that later.

Can anybody weigh in on personal usage of AIC?

Best
__________________
All over the ship, dancing through the wreckage of the Pfhor computer core, DURANDAL WAS LAUGHING
Here is the toil of that house, and the inextricable wandering
Mr_Brightside_@ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 02:10 PM   #8
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
AIC is okay. The sizes are crazy 36GB per hour compared to 12GB per hour for mpeg2 stuff.
As long as you are using a firewire drive or internal 2nd drive, it's great. It's just really big.
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 04:46 PM   #9
nateo200
macrumors 68020
 
nateo200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rendering......
I used AIC when for whatever reason my ProRes encoder plugins or whatever weren't functioning. No issues or lessoned quality...though if I were editing a master piece to broadcasted in 1080p and thrown on BluRays I'd probably make a point to use the highest bit rate ProRes 422 if I were using a DSLR.
__________________
-15" rMBP 2.4/8/256/650M, FCP X, AE CS5.5, PS CS6
-USB3 180GB SSD, Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt
-Samsung Galaxy Note 8.0
-Canon 550D, GoPro3 Black, GoPro3 Silver
nateo200 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DESPERATE! Jailbroke iPhone 3GS 4.2.1 broadband 06.15.00 SteffiT Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 37 Jan 4, 2012 08:27 PM
3GS 5.0.1 OTA update produces DFU mode Wolffie iOS 5 and earlier 1 Nov 12, 2011 11:42 AM
Best MPEG Streamclip option? musique Digital Video 9 Sep 5, 2011 05:55 PM
Downgrading from 4.3.1 to 4.1/4.2 seble iPhone 0 Apr 14, 2011 01:55 AM
Apple TV with iOS 4.0 unable to be jailbroken? sidgriffey Apple TV and Home Theater 11 Nov 10, 2010 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC