Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Apple Collectors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2012, 07:49 PM   #1
clearfire62
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Apple External Floppy Drive

Does anyone know the connector that the old 800k external floppy drive used? I would like to connect to my Performa some how but it doesn't have that type of connector. I'm thinking that it could possibly be converted to the SCSI that the Performa has.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/stevenf/5375889864/
clearfire62 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 10:51 PM   #2
David Schmidt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southeastern USA
Send a message via Yahoo to David Schmidt
Which Performa do you have? Either it has a floppy interface on the back (a DB-19, by the way) or you can't hook one of these to it. Only a few Performas had external floppy connectors. There are no adapters to go from anything else to these external floppy drives.
David Schmidt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 05:41 PM   #3
MacTech68
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia, Perth
IIRC the only Performa with an external floppy drive port is the Performa 200 (a thinly disguised Classic II).

What is the reason for wanting to do this? I can think of 2.

__________________
iBook14" 1.42Ghz, G4 DigitalAudio 733Mhz, iMac Snow 700Mhz, iBook SE 466Mhz, PowerBook Pismo 500Mhz, G3 B&W, G4 MDD 1.25Ghz, iMac 233 1998, iMac G4 USB2 1.25Ghz, iMac C2D 2.16Ghz, MacMini G4 1.25Ghz
MacTech68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2012, 07:09 PM   #4
clearfire62
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Sorry for the really long delay.

I want to use my old floppy drive to recover files from my old 800k disks. I have a Performa 6110CD which has a 1.4MB drive. The external drive is the only drive besides my Plus that has 800k drive to read the disks.
clearfire62 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2012, 10:04 PM   #5
David Schmidt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southeastern USA
Send a message via Yahoo to David Schmidt
Quote:
Originally Posted by clearfire62 View Post
I want to use my old floppy drive to recover files from my old 800k disks. I have a Performa 6110CD which has a 1.4MB drive. The external drive is the only drive besides my Plus that has 800k drive to read the disks.
Your performa should be able to read the 800k disks directly. Have you tried popping them in?
David Schmidt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2012, 11:08 PM   #6
clearfire62
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Yes I have. I don't remember what it says verbatim, but it says they cannot be read and need to be initialized. If you attempt to, it will fail. I thought that 800K and 1.4MB are incompatible, aren't they?

Also, did I put this in the right category on this forum?
clearfire62 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2012, 01:05 AM   #7
MacTech68
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia, Perth
Correct forum. You're fine there.

You need to check your 800K floppy only has a single hole (the write protect hole), normally has a sliding switch underneath.

If your 800K floppy has two holes, then it is really a 1.44MB diskette which may have been formatted in an 800K only drive mechanism. I've seen this done. The problem is when you put such a disk in a 1.44MB drive, the drive detects it as a 1.44MB disk and expects it to be formatted as such. If this is the case, you can attempt to read it as an 800K by putting some tape over the top and bottom of the second hole (NOT the write protect hole).

The other cause can be a failure of the 1.44MB detect switch in the drive. When an 800K disk is inserted, the switch is pushed down and closes the detect circuit. If the switch is faulty (dirty, oxidized), then it won't detect the 800K disk. Sometimes a drop of contact cleaner on the white actuator of the switch will work. This runs down the white actuator and into the switch, aiding the contacts to make 'better' contact. I have had situations where I've had to replace the switch.

There are a number of other possibilities like dirty heads. Also, if the data on the disk is important to you, DO NOT "Initialize" the disk. Doing so will erase it.

See the difference in the holes here:
http://floppydisk.com/images/dd_vs_hd.jpg
__________________
iBook14" 1.42Ghz, G4 DigitalAudio 733Mhz, iMac Snow 700Mhz, iBook SE 466Mhz, PowerBook Pismo 500Mhz, G3 B&W, G4 MDD 1.25Ghz, iMac 233 1998, iMac G4 USB2 1.25Ghz, iMac C2D 2.16Ghz, MacMini G4 1.25Ghz
MacTech68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2012, 07:42 AM   #8
David Schmidt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southeastern USA
Send a message via Yahoo to David Schmidt
Quote:
Originally Posted by clearfire62 View Post
I thought that 800K and 1.4MB are incompatible, aren't they?
In any other situation, on any other platform... yes. But any built-in 1.4MB floppy disk drive on Apple hardware is capable of anything from 400k all the way up to 1.4MB.
David Schmidt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2012, 07:25 PM   #9
skinny*k
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
If you don't mind opening your computer and taking apart the external case, the 20 pin ribbon cable attached to your internal drive will fit the connector on the external drive. If that solves your problem you can copy your files to the HD.

Some Macs (up until the first iMacs) had an "extra" floppy port on the motherboard that you could use for a permanent solution, but I don't know about your Performa—which one is it?
skinny*k is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Apple Collectors

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External hard drives on network not recognized scisport iMac 2 Mar 18, 2012 08:08 AM
External Hard Drive Suggestions rabsparks iMac 9 Dec 30, 2011 12:09 AM
Cannot format my WD MyBook Essential External Hard Drive - showing error crmpicco Mac Peripherals 6 Feb 21, 2011 07:57 AM
External HD help njsa04playa Buying Tips and Advice 1 Nov 27, 2010 10:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC