Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2012, 10:39 PM   #1
derek.fulmer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago
Safari refreshing my tabs automatically...

If I am running multiple tabs and navigate away from one or more of them for several minutes, once I switch back to a previously unopened tab, Safari refreshes it. Why is this? This is making it incredibly hard to accomplish tasks when in Safari.
__________________
MacBook Pro - iPhone 4
derek.fulmer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 10:42 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Are you running out of RAM?
Open Activity Monitor and select All Processes and then sort by Real Mem to show you the process(es) using up your RAM.
Using Activity Monitor to show you CPU and RAM usage
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 11:03 PM   #3
derek.fulmer
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Are you running out of RAM?
Open Activity Monitor and select All Processes and then sort by Real Mem to show you the process(es) using up your RAM.
Using Activity Monitor to show you CPU and RAM usage

Hopefully I can answer this correctly...

I have 8GB of RAM in my MBP. Activity Monitor is showing that I have USED 2.41 GB and FREE 5.58 GB.




I have heard that this occurs in the new version of Lion, making it act more iOS like.
__________________
MacBook Pro - iPhone 4
derek.fulmer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 11:12 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by derek.fulmer View Post
Hopefully I can answer this correctly...

I have 8GB of RAM in my MBP. Activity Monitor is showing that I have USED 2.41 GB and FREE 5.58 GB.




I have heard that this occurs in the new version of Lion, making it act more iOS like.
You seem to have enough RAM, maybe it is just a bug. I have experienced the same in Safari, but on Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard just yesterday, but I had two windows with at least ten tabs each open, though I didn't monitor the RAM usage to see, if RAM was the culprit, or if it might be just a bug.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 11:17 PM   #5
derek.fulmer
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
You seem to have enough RAM, maybe it is just a bug. I have experienced the same in Safari, but on Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard just yesterday, but I had two windows with at least ten tabs each open, though I didn't monitor the RAM usage to see, if RAM was the culprit, or if it might be just a bug.
I've been googling for a while now and I came across another board that said this was just how Safari is behaving now. Supposed to be more iOS like? I'm not sure but it's annoying as can be.

If anyone can chime in, would be much appreciated.


Thank you, simsaladimbamba, for your help. Any other idea as to what it could be? Remedies?
__________________
MacBook Pro - iPhone 4
derek.fulmer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2012, 11:18 PM   #6
Zerozal
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: PA
Definately not a RAM issue--I think it's either a bug or some kind if cruel "feature", since it's been happening for quite a while, and is one of the things that finally made me switch to Chrome. Here's a thread from last year on this topic:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1206460
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 2.93 Quad, 12GB RAM, 300GB Velociraptor, 2x 1TB WD Caviar Blacks in RAID 0, ATI 5870, 24" LED Cinema Display, iPhone 6, iPad Air
Zerozal is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Safari without tabs refreshing Grolubao Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Mar 17, 2014 08:56 AM
Possible fix for safari and auto-refreshing tabs severage iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Mar 7, 2014 10:42 AM
Safari iCloud tabs show old iPhone tabs Iwan M iOS 7 4 Sep 27, 2013 04:50 PM
iPad: Tabs constantly refreshing, lots of freezing. Just lack of ram or what? StealthGhost iPad 6 Mar 28, 2013 06:55 PM
Jailbreak tweak to stop Safari tabs from refreshing/reloading? Enlightenment1 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Feb 13, 2013 05:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC