Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 11, 2012, 10:45 PM   #1
tech324
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Adding Macbook Air to Windows Domain

Anyone have any good resources or howtos to add my macbook air (2011) to a windows AD Domain (Windows 2008 R2). I want to be able to add the computer to the domain, use a domain account to login, and possibly have a roaming profile and / or login script run from the domain controller.
tech324 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 01:01 AM   #2
JHUFrank
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1192732

This is a pretty good example within this forum that describes a greater problem with OSX Lion that is pretty rampant out in the interwebs. I remember working with OSX beta and .1 in testing out the beginning AD plugins and I thought they had this well settled. Well looks like it is a bugaboo again. FYI, its in accounts, login options, join network.
__________________
13" Macbook Air, 4gigs ram, 256gig SSD ;
Lenovo T420, 16gigs ram, 256 SSD, 750 Hybrid
Samsung Galaxy Note 2; Lenovo and Apple Fanboy
JHUFrank is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 07:32 PM   #3
falterego
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern California
I've setup about a dozen of the 2011 MBA machines, all running Lion from 10.7.1 up to the latest 10.7.3 and every one of them has bound to our Win2k3 domain without a problem. On every machine I've gone into System Preferences > Users & Groups > Login Options > Join (Network account server) > Open Directory Utility. I open the Active Directory section, point at my FQDN and select advanced options. The boxes I check are:

User Experience
- Create mobile account at login
- Require confirmation before creating
Administrative
- Prefer this DC > Point at local DC since my GC is remote
- Allow administration by
- Allow authentication from any domain in the forest

I hit OK, enter my domain admin credentials and binding is complete. I've had no problem using domain authentication to connect to SMB shares after setting up binding and mobile accounts haven't had any issues signing in when not connected to the network. Maybe I've just been lucky a dozen times in a row, but I don't see where the Lion/AD issue comes into play.
__________________
Why am I sticky and naked? Did I miss something fun?
2012 13in MBA | 2011 Mini Server | VZW iPhone 5s | VZW iPad mini | Airport Extreme N
Solid state is my way of life.
falterego is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 12:32 PM   #4
JHUFrank
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by falterego View Post
I've setup about a dozen of the 2011 MBA machines, all running Lion from 10.7.1 up to the latest 10.7.3 and every one of them has bound to our Win2k3 domain without a problem. "Juicy techy stuff cut here"
Maybe I've just been lucky a dozen times in a row, but I don't see where the Lion/AD issue comes into play.
Im guessing the difference is 2008 vs 2003. Mind you, I have had no experience with binding to AD since OS 10.3 and Windows 2000 domain, and it was working pretty darn well then.
__________________
13" Macbook Air, 4gigs ram, 256gig SSD ;
Lenovo T420, 16gigs ram, 256 SSD, 750 Hybrid
Samsung Galaxy Note 2; Lenovo and Apple Fanboy
JHUFrank is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2012, 12:10 PM   #5
falterego
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern California
Conveniently I just opened a brand new 13" MBP and now I can't bind it to the domain. First one out of about 30 that we've done so far since Lion came out. Did too much Googling and came up empty handed. The terminal commands both respond saying that no action was requested, date/time are spot on within 1 minute of the server, I can ping all DCs in the domain, single domain forest, confirmed my account is not locked and is still domain admin, no available system updates, made sure an existing domain object didn't already exist for the computer name......starting to think this user is going to get sent out with a local account which is irritating.
__________________
Why am I sticky and naked? Did I miss something fun?
2012 13in MBA | 2011 Mini Server | VZW iPhone 5s | VZW iPad mini | Airport Extreme N
Solid state is my way of life.
falterego is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joining MacBook Pro to Windows Domain Rogergovernor MacBook Pro 8 Jan 19, 2014 08:15 AM
Adding other resolutions to MacBook Air 11" jamesjingyi MacBook Air 2 Oct 27, 2013 08:10 AM
adding an imac to a Windows domain? davewill2010 OS X 2 May 16, 2013 02:02 PM
Resolved: Adding registration domain/lazy AWACS client/awacsd 62353037.members.btmm.icloud.com. MrElvey OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jan 11, 2013 06:46 PM
Adding Retina to the Macbook Air bpd115 MacBook Air 2 Jun 21, 2012 08:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC