Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Who's for the iPad to have an educational discount?

• Yes

Votes: 94 69.6%
  • No

Votes: 41 30.4%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

raynold2010

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 18, 2010
As you know, iOS devices are not benefiting from the educational discount, which is particularly shameful for the iPad, touted as the "ultimate teacher's tool".

This post is intended as a wake-up call for Apple - stop being greedy and offer some commercial gesture toward us teachers (as Cameron Diaz said in "Bad Teacher" : "I'm a teacher, not a drug dealer").

So, who's for an educational discount for the iPad ? Just a yes or no will do.

bobsentell

macrumors 6502a
Nov 14, 2008
Alabama
Huh, good luck with that. As long as the iPad continues to sell faster than they can make them, Apple is under no obligation to provide a discount. Just be happy they haven't raised the price on the thing.

Last edited:

siilver1984

macrumors member
Mar 12, 2012
There is no student discount?
When I was buying mine I tried the student discount it gave me the discount
Didn't take as I'm not a student lol and didn't want any problems with getting th pad

number84

macrumors 6502
Mar 30, 2011
No educational discount but they do offer a very small corporate discount if you work for a company that has an EPP plan with Apple.

aneftp

macrumors 601
Jul 28, 2007
I think Apple gives a lot of corporations or volume purchasers around a 10% discount on the iPad.

So no
discount for individual. But if your school district orders say 1000 iPads, Apple will cut them a deal.

The federal government got a 10% volume discount on iPad purchases recently.

number84

macrumors 6502
Mar 30, 2011
I'm talking about individual employee purchase plans. It's not much of a savings though. Around $10 only for the iPad. Just google apple and CEPP.

wpotere

Oct 7, 2010