Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 15, 2012, 07:39 AM   #26
Concorde Rules
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
NEW Alpha for Dual Processor People only

I don't have a DP machine so this might not work, but please give me your feedback.

The CPU A Fan Control sliders effect CPU B too. CPU B uses it's own temperature however, i.e. if CPU B is loaded, it will use the conditions set for CPU A and spin up accordingly. I couldn't see a reason why you'd want them different TBH.

http://www.concorde-photos.co.uk/mac...Control2b5.zip

PLEASE REPORT BACK IF IT WORKS! I can then tidy up the UI.

Cheers

Last edited by Concorde Rules; Apr 22, 2012 at 10:19 AM.
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 09:58 AM   #27
xEradx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde Rules View Post
The SMC itself controls the CPU fan at 142.5% of whatever the intake/exhaust fans are at.
By my calculations it seems that the CPU fans are 185% of the intake & exhaust fans. I have tried many diff speeds and it always comes out to 185-187%. Maybe my computer is too warm to hit 142%?

Second thought is could you add a PCI fan controller? Mine always runs at 800rpm and is the loudest of the bunch. It would be nice to get it down when not using graphic intense apps.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sensor Overview.png
Views:	67
Size:	132.8 KB
ID:	336040  
__________________
Mac Pro 8-core 2.26GHz, 6 GB Ram, 650 GB HD & 500gb x2 raid 0, NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 with 512MB of GDDR3
xEradx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 03:51 PM   #28
Concorde Rules
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by xEradx View Post
By my calculations it seems that the CPU fans are 185% of the intake & exhaust fans. I have tried many diff speeds and it always comes out to 185-187%. Maybe my computer is too warm to hit 142%?

Second thought is could you add a PCI fan controller? Mine always runs at 800rpm and is the loudest of the bunch. It would be nice to get it down when not using graphic intense apps.
Yours is a DP machine with smaller fans, so that could very well be true.

Definitely 142.5% on SP machines with bigger fans.

As for the PCI-E fan, I could do, but I have no temperature sensors that I could use to control it against.

I don't know what Apple use to control the temp of the PCI-E fan, it might be fan RPM, fan duty % or temp, but I can't extract any of them from the SMC.

Does my fan app work for you?
Concorde Rules is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 09:45 AM   #29
xEradx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde Rules View Post
I don't know what Apple use to control the temp of the PCI-E fan, it might be fan RPM, fan duty % or temp, but I can't extract any of them from the SMC.

Does my fan app work for you?
I will try the new app later today! Did not have time yesterday. I will let you know how it works for me.

Bummer about the PCI fan. Thanks anyways.
__________________
Mac Pro 8-core 2.26GHz, 6 GB Ram, 650 GB HD & 500gb x2 raid 0, NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 with 512MB of GDDR3
xEradx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 04:07 PM   #30
xEradx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde Rules View Post
To be honest, as long as the temp shown is under 67C (Throttling temp) then it is ok.

Tcase is where the CPU starts to not Turboboost, my W3520 didn't hit 67C there so sat at 2.8GHz all the time, but this W3680 hits it pretty quickly, so I've set it so it aims to sit at 64/65C in a cool room at 100% load. Basically, as long as the CPU is under 67C I want my fans as slow as poss!
Are you talking about 67C for the CPU heatsink temp or the CPU core temp?
__________________
Mac Pro 8-core 2.26GHz, 6 GB Ram, 650 GB HD & 500gb x2 raid 0, NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 with 512MB of GDDR3
xEradx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 05:00 PM   #31
Concorde Rules
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by xEradx View Post
Are you talking about 67C for the CPU heatsink temp or the CPU core temp?
CPU Core temps can be anything up to ~95C, CPU 'A' or 'B' is 67C.

Although today, I let my MP get really hot and it didn't start throttling until 95C core temp. So I aim to keep my cores under 80C.

Will do more testing soon.
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 01:41 PM   #32
xEradx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde Rules View Post
Does my fan app work for you?
Nope. It made my CPU fans max out all the time. I uninstalled and app and restarted and they were still blasting. So installed the original app that seemed to work fine. Well then CPU B fan was still blasting. So I uninstalled again this time holding command+option +P+R at restart. That did it.
Now Im back to using the old app and it works great. It does change both CPU fans! So really the only thing you need to add is the temps that you had for the DP app. That part was cool. I liked seeing the extra temps!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DP app.png
Views:	34
Size:	85.8 KB
ID:	336319  
__________________
Mac Pro 8-core 2.26GHz, 6 GB Ram, 650 GB HD & 500gb x2 raid 0, NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 with 512MB of GDDR3
xEradx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 05:43 PM   #33
Concorde Rules
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by xEradx View Post
Nope. It made my CPU fans max out all the time. I uninstalled and app and restarted and they were still blasting. So installed the original app that seemed to work fine. Well then CPU B fan was still blasting. So I uninstalled again this time holding command+option +P+R at restart. That did it.
Now Im back to using the old app and it works great. It does change both CPU fans! So really the only thing you need to add is the temps that you had for the DP app. That part was cool. I liked seeing the extra temps!
*ponders*.

That *is* weird.

Can you do something for me?

Uninstall my app, then load up the first CPU.
Use this: ftp://mersenne.org/gimps/Prime95-MacOSX-266.zip
It is a command line app, select "15" (Stress testing), Cores "4" (Edit: If yours are hex cores then make this 6!) and then "2".
Run it until the CPU fans start speeding up.

I want to know if the SMC controls both fans at the same time or not.

My new version would have run the fans depending on the temp of *that* CPU, not just CPU A.

Can you also run the sensors app (attached)? If you can copy and paste the output that would be great.

If I can't figure out why it doesn't work I'll disable the second CPU fan control code and release that (so it works as the old one did).
Attached Files
File Type: zip sensors.zip (81.5 KB, 31 views)
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2012, 11:25 AM   #34
xEradx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde Rules View Post
*ponders*.

That *is* weird.

Can you do something for me?

Uninstall my app, then load up the first CPU.
Use this: ftp://mersenne.org/gimps/Prime95-MacOSX-266.zip
It is a command line app, select "15" (Stress testing), Cores "4" (Edit: If yours are hex cores then make this 6!) and then "2".
Run it until the CPU fans start speeding up.

I want to know if the SMC controls both fans at the same time or not.

My new version would have run the fans depending on the temp of *that* CPU, not just CPU A.

Can you also run the sensors app (attached)? If you can copy and paste the output that would be great.

If I can't figure out why it doesn't work I'll disable the second CPU fan control code and release that (so it works as the old one did).
The sensor app won't run for me. It keeps crashing. Maybe because Im running Lion?
Next I no matter how I configure Prime95 both temps on my CPUs go up as well as both fans??? Can the OS spread out the work load regardless of the settings used?
__________________
Mac Pro 8-core 2.26GHz, 6 GB Ram, 650 GB HD & 500gb x2 raid 0, NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 with 512MB of GDDR3
xEradx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2012, 02:57 PM   #35
Concorde Rules
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by xEradx View Post
The sensor app won't run for me. It keeps crashing. Maybe because Im running Lion?
Next I no matter how I configure Prime95 both temps on my CPUs go up as well as both fans??? Can the OS spread out the work load regardless of the settings used?
It should run on Lion, I don't understand why it won't :/

As for Prime 95 probably, slightly annoying but nevermind. I'll put it back to how it was.

I'll add in a switch so that the hottest CPU takes over control of the fans.

I'll do this over the weekend hopefully.
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2012, 07:55 AM   #36
melx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Anyone got it workning properly with mac pro 2008? Missing some temps and problems with lowering fan speeds.. Cheers!
melx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2012, 08:29 AM   #37
Concorde Rules
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by melx View Post
Anyone got it workning properly with mac pro 2008? Missing some temps and problems with lowering fan speeds.. Cheers!
The key codes are different for the 2008 version then.

App won't work until I get the right codes
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 10:20 AM   #38
Concorde Rules
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
New Alpha!

Can people try this please? I've removed the CPU 'B' fan control code and instead made the temperature the controller uses is the maximum of the two.

So if CPU B is hotter than CPU A, then it will use the temperature of CPU B to control the fan speeds.

Here it is:
http://www.concorde-photos.co.uk/mac...Control2b5.zip

Feedback would be great.

Thanks!
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 08:22 PM   #39
riggieri
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Concorde

This app is great. I have been using it on my 2009 Dual 2.66 and it runs great. Using your latest alpha without any bugs.

I would love to be able to control the PCI fan with this utility. All my PCI slots are full to the brim, usually multiple graphics cards, hot ass ATTo R680, RED Rocket, Black Magic Decklink, and it would be great to have PCI fan control. When rendering with the rocket, I have to run SMCfancontrol in order to push the PCI fan higher to cool all the cards. Any way you could add this?

Cheers
Matt
riggieri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 05:33 AM   #40
Concorde Rules
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by riggieri View Post
Concorde

This app is great. I have been using it on my 2009 Dual 2.66 and it runs great. Using your latest alpha without any bugs.

I would love to be able to control the PCI fan with this utility. All my PCI slots are full to the brim, usually multiple graphics cards, hot ass ATTo R680, RED Rocket, Black Magic Decklink, and it would be great to have PCI fan control. When rendering with the rocket, I have to run SMCfancontrol in order to push the PCI fan higher to cool all the cards. Any way you could add this?

Cheers
Matt

I've got no temperatures I can use to control that fan, unless you just want a simple 'base speed' box so that you can adjust the base speed as and when you want?
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 10:45 AM   #41
riggieri
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Concorde

Yea that would be great. Or just a slider that I can manually adjust.

Thanks for the work on this program. It is great. Got my 2009 set so it runs quiet and cool, never hitting the too high of a temp to not turbo up.

Cheers
Matt
riggieri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2012, 05:16 AM   #42
Beckett5
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Paris
Concorde

Hi Concorde, I'd really love to to control the PCI fan too. Mine is always too loud and running probably much too fast. Don't know why cause everything is cool. If you manage to control it please let me know. It would be really cool. Thanks a lot for your help (and sorry for my english, I'm french
Cheers. olivier
Beckett5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2012, 09:03 AM   #43
Concorde Rules
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beckett5 View Post
Hi Concorde, I'd really love to to control the PCI fan too. Mine is always too loud and running probably much too fast. Don't know why cause everything is cool. If you manage to control it please let me know. It would be really cool. Thanks a lot for your help (and sorry for my english, I'm french
Cheers. olivier
If it is running faster than 800RPM then I can't help you.

That means the SMC is controlling it. I control the *minimum* fan speeds the fans can run at, so if the SMC wants 800 RPM and I've set the minimum to 1000 RPM the fan has to run at 1000RPM, etc...

I will add this functionality at some point, but probably not until late June (exams and stuff coming up!).
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 06:49 PM   #44
luistrenker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Perfect

I love you for this 2b5 version...last week i bought a used 2x2.93 2009macpro and wanted to sell it again, because when cpu was over 50% more than a minute, i couldn't hear my 4-month old daughter crying lying next to me....cpu A heat never more than 78...cpu B never more than 55......2b5 works perfect and the Baby is happy again :-)))
luistrenker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 01:05 PM   #45
rarz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Hello there. I have a strange issue here. Please see the attached image. Istat shows different values than Fan Control. Fan Control also has some issues to detect CPU B. I have a dual quad mac pro. When using strongly CPU for rendering images in maya or something similar, CPU fans start to spin strong making a big noise, even when temps are down. Any help?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Captura de pantalla 2012-05-09 a las 18.58.41.png
Views:	69
Size:	101.7 KB
ID:	339033  
rarz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2012, 07:17 AM   #46
riggieri
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Any update on this Concorde?
riggieri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 07:53 AM   #47
c:v
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Love it, runs great! I'm not sure I fully understand the lower and upper threshold though. What settings are you using and why? I have a mid-2010 2.8GHz Mac Pro and using it for rendering 3D visuals (Cinema4D).

Cheers!
c:v is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2012, 11:27 AM   #48
Washac
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
What would be a good middle of the road setting for this ?

Intake & Exhaust Control (Combined)

Base Speed ?

Lower Threshold ?
Upper Threshold ?

CPU A Fan Control

Base Speed ?

Lower Threshold ?
Upper Threshold ?


Thanks.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.5/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:51 AM   #49
Concorde Rules
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Apologies guys for the lack of response, I've subscribed to this thread now so I'll get notifications if anyone posts.

@rarz, Are you sure you are running a 09/10 Mac Pro? [Not that it matters 8 months later ]

For the record, I haven't changed anything since the last upload and frankly can't remember what I did change!!
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 12:36 PM   #50
sarthak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Using it on my MP 4,1. Works well.

P.S. If you don't mind can we please get a new icon? Kind of makes it feel like a new app again.

Last edited by sarthak; Feb 3, 2013 at 10:09 AM.
sarthak is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible GPU Fan issue (?) with 2009 Mac Pro Dual 2.26 Seems like Trav Mac Pro 4 Aug 6, 2013 09:53 AM
Replacing a fan in 2009 Mac Pro Studio K Mac Pro 3 May 24, 2013 07:43 PM
Mac pro 2009 fan noise when running video encoding resonate Mac Pro 10 Apr 26, 2013 10:43 PM
Mac Pro 2009 early 2009 vs 2010 vs new ivybridge quad core i7 Aleymeow Mac Pro 8 Sep 21, 2012 04:53 PM
Mac Pro 4,1 (Early-2009) - PCIe Fan Broken? Daphoid Mac Pro 5 Jun 30, 2012 12:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC