Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 16, 2012, 02:28 AM   #1
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Handbrake

So I've been unimpressed with the performance of handbrake. I'd been averaging 20ish FPS with every movie I'd convert. Last week I started looking around the internet for an older version of handbrake that might be happier to play with PowerPC. I went to (www.oldapps.com) and downloaded .90 which is from 2007. This week I've run six movies through HB and none of the have have converted at less the 70fps. During that time my RAID card came in and I've installed it, the movies are located and transcoded on that RAID array but I don't believe that is the only cause of the increase in speed. I believe that HB .90 is the reason for the increase far more than the RAID card w/array. This is just a headsup, I'd be curious to know if some of you gentlemen notice a difference if you try it.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 12:54 PM   #2
pistooli
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hungary
0.9.4 is the last officially supported build, I think. Have you tried 0.9.5? I came across a 0.9.5 ppc build here.
__________________
MacBook Air, 13", Mid 2012, Mountain Lion
Mac Mini, Late 2006, upgraded to 2GHz, 2GB, Lion 10.7.5
iBook G4, 1.42 MHz, 1.5 GB, 160 GB, Leopard
PowerBook 5300cs, 3400c, G3 Pismo, Mac Mini G4 1,33
pistooli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 12:59 PM   #3
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
I'm using the latest version with great results...Will do some more over the weekend, too busy setting up my new iPad and the ATV3
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 01:56 PM   #4
GermanyChris
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
I wasn't impressed with the new builds..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 10:47 PM   #5
kumquat
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Wow, you were getting 20fps?! I'm running 9.1 and averaging between 4 and 9 fps! It's unbearable!

pistooli, will that 9.5 build work on 10.4.11?
kumquat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 12:59 AM   #6
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
lol, you have to mention what codec your using as saying i get 20fps is useless unless you state the compression type and settings..
__________________
2008 Mac Pro 3,1
2.8Ghz V8/12GB/GTX470/8800GT/SSD
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 1x24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 01:12 AM   #7
kumquat
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Mp4/h.264
kumquat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 01:13 AM   #8
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
mate, as per the other post, its a loosing battle with h.264 on ppc. even on my Quad, it took forever.
oh on hb.90, i know that HB does hardcode settings in some of its versions. So you may find that your getting a speed increase due to lower quality. have a close look at the exact setting your using for compression..
__________________
2008 Mac Pro 3,1
2.8Ghz V8/12GB/GTX470/8800GT/SSD
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 1x24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 01:17 AM   #9
GermanyChris
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
I just transcode DVD rips..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 01:18 AM   #10
kumquat
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
What settings have you gotten decent speeds with?
kumquat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 01:21 AM   #11
GermanyChris
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by kumquat View Post
What settings have you gotten decent speeds with?
I just duplicate to my HD and use default settings to transcode..

I really don't know much about this stuff..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 02:09 AM   #12
pistooli
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hungary
Quote:
Originally Posted by kumquat View Post
Wow, you were getting 20fps?! I'm running 9.1 and averaging between 4 and 9 fps! It's unbearable!

pistooli, will that 9.5 build work on 10.4.11?
I do not have Tiger installed, so can not confirm.
__________________
MacBook Air, 13", Mid 2012, Mountain Lion
Mac Mini, Late 2006, upgraded to 2GHz, 2GB, Lion 10.7.5
iBook G4, 1.42 MHz, 1.5 GB, 160 GB, Leopard
PowerBook 5300cs, 3400c, G3 Pismo, Mac Mini G4 1,33
pistooli is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Mini, Eye TV Hybird, Handbrake, Apple TV 2 sblanford Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Jan 11, 2012 09:25 PM
Handbrake problems - won't rip R1 discs Dunkrag Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jan 12, 2011 05:48 PM
assistance regarding Avi to mp4 using handbrake PinkSakura MacBook Pro 2 Nov 29, 2010 07:48 AM
iPod (5G) Not Syncing Handbrake Files sarahfelldown iPod 0 Nov 9, 2010 12:32 AM
Handbrake Lite vs. Handbrake vs. Something Else? neoelectronaut iPod 9 Feb 6, 2006 10:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC