Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

WhoisMedina

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 10, 2012
Rhode Island
I'll be starting my technical classes at New England Tech and wanted to know if a 13" MBA 4GB 128SSD would be fine or should I go with 13"MBP 4GB 500GB Harddrive. I would be replacing optical drive on MBP with an SSD drive this summer. Thanks in advance.

bogatyr

macrumors 65816
Mar 13, 2012
I'll be starting my technical classes at New England Tech and wanted to know if a 13" MBA 4GB 128SSD would be fine or should I go with 13"MBP 4GB 500GB Harddrive. I would be replacing optical drive on MBP with an SSD drive this summer. Thanks in advance.

Either should work just fine for you. If you need space you can get an external USB drive for the Air or an SD card.

Up to whichever format you prefer.

KylePowers

macrumors 68000
Mar 5, 2011
I'm an electrical engineering student, but I've been required to take two different programming classes, and have to learn a couple different programming languages for my research.

I would suggest the 13in MBA, because when you program, you'll want as much screen real state as possible, and the MBA's resolution trumps the MBP's in that aspect.

Granted, if you're going to be hooked up to an external (which is highly suggested), perhaps my aforementioned statement is a moot point. I'd still suggest the MBA though.

DDustiNN

macrumors 68020
Jan 27, 2011
What are you using for development? You may need to install Windows 7 if it's Visual Studio, for example. You could do a dual-boot partition or run it in a Virtual Machine.

I use my 13" MBA for Xcode (iOS) and Eclipse (Java), which works perfectly fine. I have the 2011/i5/4GB/256GB model. I've installed Windows 8 using VirtualBox and it works just fine, but more RAM would certainly be preferred.

bogatyr

macrumors 65816
Mar 13, 2012