Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 16, 2012, 02:59 PM   #1
chrysos
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Restore from backup or New install?

While I'm sitting here waiting for Fedex I am cleaning up Itunes and I was wondering if it is better to restore from a backup of my ipad 1 or set it up as a new ipad. My gut tells me its better to set up as new.

Any experiences with the restore from backup out there?
chrysos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:02 PM   #2
DS3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Ive never heard of it making any difference, this isn't windows ME or anything.

I restored rather than check through which apps I want and set up folders and settings all over again. No problem here.
DS3 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:03 PM   #3
iMaven
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I don't want to restore from my old iPad. I want to set it up as a new iPad then configure it and add a lot of the Retina Apps.
iMaven is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:03 PM   #4
KeithJenner
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I restored two new iPads from backup and it went perfectly.

Much easier than organising everything again.
KeithJenner is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:08 PM   #5
G77
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Restore of course. I restored for all my subsequent ios devices and it always worked great. You can restore directly from icloud...
G77 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:09 PM   #6
ZBoater
macrumors 604
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
I have 21GB of apps and there is no way I am recreating all those folders. Restore for me. Going on 5 hours now....
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air 2 | MacBook Air | Thunderbolt Display | Apple TV | Time Capsule
ZBoater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:11 PM   #7
larmonkm
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
well, my plan was to do a backup install. i did it, and it didn't go as quickly or as smoothly as i'd hoped. the big issue is that i have to redownload all my music from the cloud. i had hoped to avoid this, because i DON'T have unlimited internet (no choice where i live in alaska) and didn't want to use all my data on stupid music that i'd already put on an ipad once before. i tried to add music back via itunes, however it would not let me...telling me i had to use the cloud. so, i am now in the process of just starting over and hoping it works out.
larmonkm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:13 PM   #8
iapplelove
macrumors 68000
 
iapplelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Coast USA
at first i was gonna set up as new but just now decided on restore from back up

this thing is sick right away i noticed how incredibly sharp my background was
iapplelove is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:16 PM   #9
master-ceo
macrumors 65816
 
master-ceo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The SUN
After much self debate, I setup as new. I'm going to have to use the hell out of file explorer to get the data I want in my apps though.
__________________
-jungmark
Apple isn't going to have the lens stick out from the phone. The design would be awful.
master-ceo is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:17 PM   #10
ZBoater
macrumors 604
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by master-ceo View Post
After much self debate, I setup as new. I'm going to have to use the hell out of file explorer to get the data I want in my apps though.
So you are not restoring from backup because....?
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air 2 | MacBook Air | Thunderbolt Display | Apple TV | Time Capsule
ZBoater is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:18 PM   #11
K4LK
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrysos View Post
While I'm sitting here waiting for Fedex I am cleaning up Itunes and I was wondering if it is better to restore from a backup of my ipad 1 or set it up as a new ipad. My gut tells me its better to set up as new.

Any experiences with the restore from backup out there?
Setting up as new is way too much work. Restore from backup works great. Suggestion: remove all the big videos before you backup, otherwise iTunes will put them all on the new iPad (making you wait to play).
__________________
15" 2011 MacBook Pro 11" 2011 MacBook Air 128 Gbyte iPad Air 32 Gbyte iPad mini 2nd gen 128Gbyte iPhone 6Plus iPod nano (6th gen) Apple TV (3rd gen)
K4LK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:19 PM   #12
MaxxTraxx
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by larmonkm View Post
well, my plan was to do a backup install. i did it, and it didn't go as quickly or as smoothly as i'd hoped. the big issue is that i have to redownload all my music from the cloud. i had hoped to avoid this, because i DON'T have unlimited internet (no choice where i live in alaska) and didn't want to use all my data on stupid music that i'd already put on an ipad once before. i tried to add music back via itunes, however it would not let me...telling me i had to use the cloud. so, i am now in the process of just starting over and hoping it works out.
Just uncheck the box to sync with your computer
__________________
iPod Nano | iPod Classic [80GB] | Nikon D3100 | iPhone 4 32GB| '15 MacBook Pro 2.53 Ghz|
MaxxTraxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:19 PM   #13
Swampthing
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZBoater View Post
I have 21GB of apps and there is no way I am recreating all those folders. Restore for me. Going on 5 hours now....
I have over 30GB of apps, and it only took about 1 hour by doing a Restore from iTunes. Learned my lesson before with iPhone, it is much faster than restoring from the iCloud.
__________________
Mac Pro MD878LL/A (3.5GHz, 6 cores, 16GB RAM); MacBook Pro Retina (2.7 GHz, 4 cores, 16GB RAM); iPad Air 2 128GB LTE; iPod Classic 160GB; iPhone 6+ 128GB
Swampthing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:30 PM   #14
ZBoater
macrumors 604
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swampthing View Post
I have over 30GB of apps, and it only took about 1 hour by doing a Restore from iTunes. Learned my lesson before with iPhone, it is much faster than restoring from the iCloud.
Argghhh, and NOW you tell me!

I'm down to my last couple of apps, 5 1/2 hours in. Sheesh...
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air 2 | MacBook Air | Thunderbolt Display | Apple TV | Time Capsule
ZBoater is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:32 PM   #15
master-ceo
macrumors 65816
 
master-ceo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The SUN
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZBoater View Post
So you are not restoring from backup because....?
I was anxious to use the new beast. If it gets to overwhelming to transfer my data, I might let it restore overnight though.
__________________
-jungmark
Apple isn't going to have the lens stick out from the phone. The design would be awful.
master-ceo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:33 PM   #16
ZBoater
macrumors 604
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by master-ceo View Post
I was anxious to use the new beast. If it gets to overwhelming to transfer my data, I might let it restore overnight though.
Yeah, right? I probably should have done the same...
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air 2 | MacBook Air | Thunderbolt Display | Apple TV | Time Capsule
ZBoater is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:36 PM   #17
scriptlol
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
The thought of doing a 'fresh install' of an ipad never even crossed my mind. We aren't in the windows world.
scriptlol is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:38 PM   #18
G77
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by scriptlol View Post
The thought of doing a 'fresh install' of an ipad never even crossed my mind. We aren't in the windows world.
Exactly! I dont know why is somebody even thinking about it...
G77 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:43 PM   #19
jeffg819
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Forced simplicity. Doing a fresh install for me was a way to really think about the apps I use and whether to bring them to the new iPad.

Like a lot of things in life, the 80/20 rule rules!
jeffg819 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:43 PM   #20
Ayemerica
macrumors 6502a
 
Ayemerica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Philadelphia
Restore from backup, prevents a lot of headaches for me.
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB Space Grey - iPad 4 32GB Black - Mac mini 2012
Ayemerica is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:45 PM   #21
ZBoater
macrumors 604
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffg819 View Post
Forced simplicity. Doing a fresh install for me was a way to really think about the apps I use and whether to bring them to the new iPad.

Like a lot of things in life, the 80/20 rule rules!
This is a good point. I have sooooooo much crap on my iPad I could have used a fresh install.

Oh well, it's almost done now. Maybe for the new New iPad.
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air 2 | MacBook Air | Thunderbolt Display | Apple TV | Time Capsule
ZBoater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:47 PM   #22
G77
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffg819 View Post
Forced simplicity. Doing a fresh install for me was a way to really think about the apps I use and whether to bring them to the new iPad.

Like a lot of things in life, the 80/20 rule rules!
Well, you lose setup and data for apps you use... I am just ruthlessly deleting crap i dont use.
G77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:53 PM   #23
100Teraflops
macrumors 6502a
 
100Teraflops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithJenner View Post
I restored two new iPads from backup and it went perfectly.

Much easier than organising everything again.
I agree! I thought about setting up as a new iPad, but it would be more time consuming in the end.
__________________
Long live the photographer! Got memories? Record your moments with current electronic devices. I stumble, fall, get up and do it again.
100Teraflops is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 05:08 PM   #24
Colgin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
OK, so if I restore from backup will I be able to then rename the new Ipad to keep it distinct from the old one. We are keeping our Ipad 1, which will go to my wife. For initial setup of the Ipad 3 I like the simplicity of just doing from a backup. But going forward the contents of the two will be different and I don't want them to sync identically re apps, etc.
Colgin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 05:16 PM   #25
Bob Coxner
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colgin View Post
OK, so if I restore from backup will I be able to then rename the new Ipad to keep it distinct from the old one. We are keeping our Ipad 1, which will go to my wife. For initial setup of the Ipad 3 I like the simplicity of just doing from a backup. But going forward the contents of the two will be different and I don't want them to sync identically re apps, etc.
How to rename your device(s)

https://support.apple.com/kb/HT3965
__________________
MBA i5 13/4/128, iPad 1, iPad 3, iPod Touch 5g
Bob Coxner is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Restore SMS only from backup to clean install 7.0.4? Danimal1313 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Feb 18, 2014 04:42 PM
Can the Genius Bar see if a restore was a fresh install or from a backup? louis0nfire iPhone 5 Jan 14, 2014 08:59 PM
Can't restore from backup after fresh 10.9 install atticus27 MacBook Pro 1 Nov 15, 2013 10:20 PM
iPod Touch: HELP! Restore from backup app install problem Zmanbaseball2 iOS 6 3 Aug 7, 2013 06:48 AM
iPhone: Does restore from backup install iOS 6 guitarmandp Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Dec 18, 2012 04:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC