Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:09 PM   #1
mikeyrko
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SC
iMac G4 won't upgrade past 10.4

HI I recently got a 1.25 iMac G4,,
A friend gave me a copy of leopard on a single layer dvd I could not get it to boot into it so I installed 10.4 Tiger.
Then I tryed a iso of leopard on the desktop it will reboot then never go any further with the install. Also evertime the computer starts it shows the grey screen like there is no hard drive then it boots.
mikeyrko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:16 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
1. Leopard does not come on a Single Layer DVD, thus your copy is missing some things.
2. We don't provide information on how to circumvent the law, especially when it is pirating.
3. It could have been a model specific DVD, which will not with any other Mac, than the one, it came with.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:25 PM   #3
Xandros
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Yea you've probably just got some dud Leopard installations, you need to locate a retail one on a dual layer DVD.
Xandros is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:26 PM   #4
mikeyrko
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
1. Leopard does not come on a Single Layer DVD, thus your copy is missing some things.
2. We don't provide information on how to circumvent the law, especially when it is pirating.
3. It could have been a model specific DVD, which will not with any other Mac, than the one, it came with.
Yes it was a copy that had stuff removed and no I am not doing anything illegal I have a legit iso of leopard on my computer it will not upgrade to.
mikeyrko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:27 PM   #5
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyrko View Post
Yes it was a copy that had stuff removed and no I am not doing anything illegal I have a legit iso of leopard on my computer it will not upgrade to.
Then if you have a legit .iso of Leopard, which is a bit unlikely, then why not use that? Burnt to a proper Dual Layer DVD of course.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:37 PM   #6
mikeyrko
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Then if you have a legit .iso of Leopard, which is a bit unlikely, then why not use that? Burnt to a proper Dual Layer DVD of course.
Becouse I was told a iMac g4 could not read a Dual layered dvd

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xandros View Post
Yea you've probably just got some dud Leopard installations, you need to locate a retail one on a dual layer DVD.
I dont think 2 different copys would both be duds
mikeyrko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:40 PM   #7
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyrko View Post
Becouse I was told a iMac g4 could not read a Dual layered dvd
By whom?
If it can read video DVDs, then it can read dual layer DVDs, as commercial video DVDs are dual layer DVDs (in most cases), but the optical disk drive (ODD) might have problems with some DVD-R or DVD+R media.

Anyway, your model might not be able to WRITE DL-DVDs, only SL-DVDs.
http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl....25_17_fp.html
http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl....25_20_fp.html

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyrko View Post
I dont think 2 different copys would both be duds
You have one copy on DVD by your friend, and one copy of an .iso file on your Desktop. Do you mean those with "2 different copies"? Because the latter is not bootable.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 08:56 PM   #8
mikeyrko
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SC
Ok tried burning it to a dvd and it had a error and that was my last DL DVD so I need to go order more.
mikeyrko is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Tags
imac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Past time for me to upgrade - need to do it toddburch OS X 6 Dec 21, 2013 09:09 AM
iPhone 4s Won't Charge Past 71% appleisgod iPhone 4 Sep 28, 2012 08:52 AM
Iphone won't boot past apple logo AdamBurko iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Sep 16, 2012 01:07 PM
Ipod won't go past Apple Screen jennow iPod touch 0 Aug 23, 2012 06:55 PM
2009 C2D 27" iMac won't accept RAM upgrade, 3 beeps Buffsteria iMac 7 Jul 4, 2012 02:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps