Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:01 AM   #1
JohnFeeser
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: York,PA
Help! Installed Leopard, won't start the whole way?

Hi, I started installing Leopard (I had Tiger) on my Powerbook G4 last night.
This morning it was all finished. I did Software Update and it found a few things to update, so I started it downloading everything. Then it said it needed to restart to complete the changes. I clicked OK and it shut down and started back up to the white screen with the gray apple, and there wasno loading symbol. I came back a few minutes later and it was still the same. I came back half an hour or so later and it still hadn't changed. I gave it a few more minutes and then shut it off. (by holding down the power button) I tried starting it back up and it still just goes to the white screen, and doesn't go any further. It still is making noise and after awhile it just "idles" like it does when it's working, but it isn't doing anything.
I have no clue what to do now!
I know next to nothing about computers!
Please Help!

Thanks!

(Also, the install disk is still in the drive)
JohnFeeser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:05 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Have you tried any of these steps?
Mac doesn't boot

Resolve startup issues and perform disk maintenance with Disk Utility and fsck

Troubleshooting: My computer won't turn on

A flashing question mark appears when you start your Mac
Force Eject a Stuck CD or DVD
Apple Computers: Troubleshooting the slot load optical disc drive
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 12:26 PM   #3
tom vilsack
macrumors 65816
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
Press (and hold) Option key during startup...This will get you to the startup Manager, where you can select a Mac OS X volume to start from...

tom vilsack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 07:34 PM   #4
JohnFeeser
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: York,PA
I followed the directions from the links above and got it working. I had to use the Disk Utility and do something with permissions? I think?

Anyway, thanks for the help!

John
JohnFeeser is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mainstage 2 won't start up after install and D/L the basic extra content? 21stcenturykid Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Feb 6, 2012 02:39 AM
MacBook Pro won't start - Linux ate my computer. Molecule MacBook Pro 5 Jun 4, 2011 07:49 AM
Recovered jailbroken 3GS (i didnt jailbreak), have to start the whole process over. SayNoToPistons Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jan 28, 2011 08:15 AM
Please help!!! Kernel Panic at Start up. kanvas Mac Pro 1 Nov 7, 2010 10:31 AM
Watch this the whole way through.... iGary Community Discussion 29 Jun 19, 2006 08:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC