Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 20, 2012, 08:13 PM   #1
DIMEZ
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MD
Send a message via AIM to DIMEZ
WI FI Keeps dropping

I have a 2011 Imac and the wifi keeps disconnecting. It happens very often, Atleast 10 times a day. Its not problem with my router becuase my macbook doesn't lose service. Is anyone familiar with this? Should I take it to the genius bar?
__________________
27in" Imac , 3.4GHz I7 680MX
15" Macbook Pro retina, 2.6GHz, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD
Iphone 6 128GB
DIMEZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 08:24 PM   #2
striker33
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DIMEZ View Post
I have a 2011 Imac and the wifi keeps disconnecting. It happens very often, Atleast 10 times a day. Its not problem with my router becuase my macbook doesn't lose service. Is anyone familiar with this? Should I take it to the genius bar?
Its an extremely common problem that has existed since the launch of OS X Lion. Apple has yet to fix it.

Saying that, mine was fine, before Apple then released so called "fixes" for the WiFi, which actually broke mine.

Expect it to be a major feature of OS X Mountain Lion
__________________
6th rMBP returned. 3rd iPhone 5 returned. Gone back to the trusty 4S. Tim Cook sucks.
striker33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 09:57 PM   #3
DIMEZ
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MD
Send a message via AIM to DIMEZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by striker33 View Post
Its an extremely common problem that has existed since the launch of OS X Lion. Apple has yet to fix it.

Saying that, mine was fine, before Apple then released so called "fixes" for the WiFi, which actually broke mine.

Expect it to be a major feature of OS X Mountain Lion
Great, this is extremly annoying. I will be in the middle of downloads and it just stops.

The only annoyance with my mac.
__________________
27in" Imac , 3.4GHz I7 680MX
15" Macbook Pro retina, 2.6GHz, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD
Iphone 6 128GB
DIMEZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 10:11 PM   #4
BlackFalcon448
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DIMEZ View Post
I have a 2011 Imac and the wifi keeps disconnecting. It happens very often, Atleast 10 times a day. Its not problem with my router becuase my macbook doesn't lose service. Is anyone familiar with this? Should I take it to the genius bar?
Apple actually released an update not too long ago that fixed this very problem. I would know, because I was having the constant dropping issue too. The fix was to apply the update, then go into the wi-fi settings, then advanced, then foget all of the networks there by pressing the - button. After doing that rejoin all the networks and you should be all set. At least, that's what I did and my iMac had been running for 23 days now without issue.

MacRumors actually did a story about the update:
http://www.macrumors.com/2012/02/24/...i-update-v1-0/
__________________
iPhone 5 32 GB Verizon
BlackFalcon448 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 07:57 AM   #5
striker33
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DIMEZ View Post
Great, this is extremly annoying. I will be in the middle of downloads and it just stops.

The only annoyance with my mac.
Its the very reason I'm (reluctantly) selling mine.

Its perfectly fine in Windows, no dropouts at all. I dont understand how Apple can get something so basic so so sooooo wrong.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackFalcon448 View Post
Apple actually released an update not too long ago that fixed this very problem. I would know, because I was having the constant dropping issue too. The fix was to apply the update, then go into the wi-fi settings, then advanced, then foget all of the networks there by pressing the - button. After doing that rejoin all the networks and you should be all set. At least, that's what I did and my iMac had been running for 23 days now without issue.

MacRumors actually did a story about the update:
http://www.macrumors.com/2012/02/24/...i-update-v1-0/
Didn't fix it at all unfortunately. I've followed the steps many times and am still faced with the same issue. But like I said, I didnt have any of these issues before Apple released the so-called fix.
__________________
6th rMBP returned. 3rd iPhone 5 returned. Gone back to the trusty 4S. Tim Cook sucks.
striker33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 06:38 PM   #6
DIMEZ
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MD
Send a message via AIM to DIMEZ
I will try those and see if it works, Has anyone ever taken it to a genius bar?
__________________
27in" Imac , 3.4GHz I7 680MX
15" Macbook Pro retina, 2.6GHz, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD
Iphone 6 128GB
DIMEZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2012, 03:48 PM   #7
stevenb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I was having the same problem several months before my Time Capsule finally failed. Do you have an Airport Extreme Base Station or a Time Capsule that is getting around 2.5-3 years old? If so, it may be the problem. I waited until mine finally died. I bought a new Time Capsule and no further problems. Just a thought.
__________________
Refurb. 4.1 MacBook Pro 17" Hi-Res Matte, 2.6 Ghz, 4 GB Ram, 200 GB HD, 8600M GT 512 MB; Refurb. 9.1 24" iMac 3.06 Ghz, 4 GB Ram, 1 TB HD, ATI 4850 512 MB ; 1T Time Capsule to bring it all together.
stevenb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2012, 09:07 PM   #8
ri0ku
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Mine has been doing the same thing since I got it... its annoying as hell. In fact this will be the only iMac I ever buy, its been nothing but a nightmare issue after issue I'm onto my 3rd machine now and even now I'm still getting issues (dust under the screen starting to happen in one corner) apple care still not transferred over to the replacement iMac etc etc...

Frustrating and annoying. Great machine design but still has issues that shouldn't happen not on such an expensive machine.
ri0ku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 11:20 AM   #9
DIMEZ
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MD
Send a message via AIM to DIMEZ
Ok this is getting pretty annoying now. it drops about 10 times a day..anything can be done about this??
__________________
27in" Imac , 3.4GHz I7 680MX
15" Macbook Pro retina, 2.6GHz, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD
Iphone 6 128GB
DIMEZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 11:33 AM   #10
Mister Bumbo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I've had this problem on iMac, Mac Mini and MacBook - the fix I found only worked for the MacBook and the iMac, and it was to manually add the DNS-Server ip's (in the internet settings) provided by my internet provider.

But as I said - it did NOT work for the Mac Mini, so there might be more to this problem than meets the eye (if indeed the same problem). This problem has also been consistent with different routers and different Wifi-networks.

Last edited by Mister Bumbo; May 10, 2012 at 12:08 PM.
Mister Bumbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 11:54 AM   #11
DIMEZ
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MD
Send a message via AIM to DIMEZ
I even ran snow leopard of an external..so it isnt a software issue...it drops with sl too...I am so pissed. My applecare expired 5 days ago. I put in on my phone when the expiration date was to remind me to buy coverage. I must have done something wrong with cloud because it was no longer in my calendar.
__________________
27in" Imac , 3.4GHz I7 680MX
15" Macbook Pro retina, 2.6GHz, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD
Iphone 6 128GB
DIMEZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 12:43 PM   #12
InlawBiker
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Before you do something extreme make sure you do a WiFi analysis. There are dozens of free ones for your phone or computer.

Look for conflicts on the channel you're using. This is often an issue in a crowded apartment building or dorm where a whole bunch of AP's are using the same frequency.

For example Linksys always uses Channel 6 for default and most people don't change it. Then you end up with everybody using Channel 6 and a lot of interference.
InlawBiker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 01:03 PM   #13
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by InlawBiker View Post
Before you do something extreme make sure you do a WiFi analysis. There are dozens of free ones for your phone or computer.

Look for conflicts on the channel you're using. This is often an issue in a crowded apartment building or dorm where a whole bunch of AP's are using the same frequency.

For example Linksys always uses Channel 6 for default and most people don't change it. Then you end up with everybody using Channel 6 and a lot of interference.
I use iStumbler on the Mac for this.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 6  Apple TV 2  iPad Air 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 01:07 PM   #14
leman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackFalcon448 View Post
Apple actually released an update not too long ago that fixed this very problem.
Well, it doesn't work. Actually, my problems only become worse after the update. All other devices and laptops work like a charm, only the iMac makes problems. It used to work great on Snow leopard, so its s Lion drivers issue.
leman is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 01:53 PM   #15
Chippy99
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I can only assume it's dependent upon which router you have. My 2011 Mini hasn't dropped a connection since I plugged it in 10 months ago.
Chippy99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 02:05 PM   #16
DIMEZ
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MD
Send a message via AIM to DIMEZ
but my mac mini ,macbook pro, pc, ipade never lose connection...its just the iMac..Its hard to believe its a router problem when everything works so perfect...i just opened up the iMac to cHeck the airport card.
__________________
27in" Imac , 3.4GHz I7 680MX
15" Macbook Pro retina, 2.6GHz, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD
Iphone 6 128GB
DIMEZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 02:07 PM   #17
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by DIMEZ View Post
but my mac mini ,macbook pro, pc, ipade never lose connection...its just the iMac..Its hard to believe its a router problem when everything works so perfect...i just opened up the iMac to cHeck the airport card.
Could be a million different things.. distance to router, amount of interference between computer and router, strength of signal of competing networks.. these things will all be different for each computer, unless they're literally on top of each other.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 6  Apple TV 2  iPad Air 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 02:10 PM   #18
leman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by forty2j View Post
Could be a million different things.. distance to router, amount of interference between computer and router, strength of signal of competing networks.. these things will all be different for each computer, unless they're literally on top of each other.
If a computer works perfectly using one OS, but drops WiFi when switching to another OS, this is hardly a router issue.

Accept it: Lion has a bug in its Atheros drivers and Appel has not fixed it yet.
leman is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 02:15 PM   #19
Chippy99
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DIMEZ View Post
but my mac mini ,macbook pro, pc, ipade never lose connection...its just the iMac..Its hard to believe its a router problem when everything works so perfect...i just opened up the iMac to cHeck the airport card.
Well, there must be some difference between your iMac and mine given the huge difference in our experiences. Maybe some are faulty and you are unlucky. But my bet would be on a compatibility issue between the iMac and certain routers. Prior to my Mini I was using an AppleTV that would constantly drop its connection to my Linksys router, and as soon as I replaced that with a Netgear it was rock solid - even though the wifi signal was no stronger. It was just something to do with the two devices not getting on together. Linksys and Apple were aware of the issue, but couldn't seem to fix it between them.

EDIT: Please ignore me, I have had a brain failure and was thinking you were talking about a Mini, not an iMac. Not the first time I have been in the wrong forum!!?!?!?
Chippy99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 02:20 PM   #20
Flunkyturtle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I'm having the same problem as this.

Just run i stumbler...

This doesn't look good....?

I live in a shared house, router on the ground floor, me on the 3rd floor.

Would a repeater help?


By flunkyturtle at 2012-05-10

My network is the top one
Flunkyturtle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 02:24 PM   #21
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by leman View Post
If a computer works perfectly using one OS, but drops WiFi when switching to another OS, this is hardly a router issue.

Accept it: Lion has a bug in its Atheros drivers and Appel has not fixed it yet.
Lion has problems. But I believe the OP noted that, on the same computer, he booted into Snow Leopard and still has the same problems.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flunkyturtle View Post
I'm having the same problem as this.

Just run i stumbler...

This doesn't look good....?

I live in a shared house, router on the ground floor, me on the 3rd floor.

Would a repeater help?

Image
By flunkyturtle at 2012-05-10

My network is the top one
If you have the ability to go 5 GHz, you should. Your 2.4 GHz is jammed. If you can't (iPhones are notable for not working on 5 GHz ), switch the channel to one not currently being used, like 3 or 9, and see if things get better.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 6  Apple TV 2  iPad Air 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 02:28 PM   #22
Flunkyturtle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by forty2j View Post
Lion has problems. But I believe the OP noted that, on the same computer, he booted into Snow Leopard and still has the same problems.

----------



If you have the ability to go 5 GHz, you should. Your 2.4 GHz is jammed. If you can't (iPhones are notable for not working on 5 GHz ), switch the channel to one not currently being used, like 3 or 9, and see if things get better.
Thanks for that

How would i go about changing the channel?

Presumably purchasing an Airport extreme will allow me to have the WIFI in 5ghz as well?
Flunkyturtle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 02:28 PM   #23
InlawBiker
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Yep, switch the router to anything but 6, 11 or 1. Then see what happens.
InlawBiker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 02:30 PM   #24
Flunkyturtle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by InlawBiker View Post
Yep, switch the router to anything but 6, 11 or 1. Then see what happens.
How do i switch the router to a different signal?
Flunkyturtle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 02:57 PM   #25
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flunkyturtle View Post
How do i switch the router to a different signal?
What brand is it?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flunkyturtle View Post
Presumably purchasing an Airport extreme will allow me to have the WIFI in 5ghz as well?
Yes, the Apple routers support 5 GHz. But again, that's only good if everything you need on wireless supports it. Xbox 360 Slims are another example of something built recently but doesn't know 5 GHz exists.

Most 5 GHz routers are simultaneous dual band, (supporting 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz), but that still leaves the problem of getting 2.4 GHz working for anything that needs it.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 6  Apple TV 2  iPad Air 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X 10.9.2 wi fi is dropping davorp OS X Mavericks (10.9) 5 Apr 7, 2014 10:56 AM
iOS 6.1 MAJOR issues, calls dropping, data dropping, shortcuts not saving, imessage.. BigB82 iPhone 19 Apr 10, 2013 02:18 PM
Dropping your iPhone shenfrey iPhone 6 Feb 21, 2013 09:34 AM
Dropping wifi Nepaiphoneuser iPad 1 Oct 24, 2012 09:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC