Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 21, 2012, 10:12 PM   #1
parkm13
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
iphone 4s could not activate cellular data network

i am getting this error whenever i try to use data (other then wi-fi). i am on sprit and have spent hours on the phone, they ended up saying i have to go to an apple store to get it fixed. i could do this but the closest apple store is over a hour away and i do not really want to drive that far if someone here can fix it! any ideas would be great!
parkm13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 10:13 PM   #2
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Plug it into iTunes and Restore
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 10:14 PM   #3
parkm13
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
is that the only option?
parkm13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 10:16 PM   #4
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
I guess you could try:

Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings

You'll have to set up your WiFi again (if you use it), but it might work.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 10:20 PM   #5
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
You don't have any iOS beta software software on there do you?
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 10:22 PM   #6
parkm13
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by r.j.s View Post
I guess you could try:

Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings

You'll have to set up your WiFi again (if you use it), but it might work.
i have done that but it has not worked. is there any way to restore without downloading the 800+ mb software? i updated it through the phone not my macbook so it has to re-download everything and that will take 2 hours on my slow internet

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jessica. View Post
You don't have any iOS beta software software on there do you?
i have used it in the past but not now, stock 5.1
parkm13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2012, 07:17 PM   #7
parkm13
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I did a restore and that has worked for the past week but now it's saying that again. However this time the data still works (for now)
parkm13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: How exactly do I activate cellular data on my iPad? venividivigor iPad 7 Dec 24, 2013 08:51 AM
Carrier: Can't Activate T-Mobile Cellular Data on iPad Air caseyfitz iPad 2 Nov 4, 2013 12:41 PM
Could Not Activate Cellular Data Network Kohkane iOS 7 13 Jul 10, 2013 06:03 PM
iPhone: Unable to activate cellular network tkrechel Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Feb 5, 2013 11:59 AM
iPhone 4, Verizon, "Could not activate Cellular Data Network" iF34R iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Aug 19, 2012 11:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC