Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 21, 2012, 09:12 PM   #1
parkm13
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
iphone 4s could not activate cellular data network

i am getting this error whenever i try to use data (other then wi-fi). i am on sprit and have spent hours on the phone, they ended up saying i have to go to an apple store to get it fixed. i could do this but the closest apple store is over a hour away and i do not really want to drive that far if someone here can fix it! any ideas would be great!
parkm13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 09:13 PM   #2
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Plug it into iTunes and Restore
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 09:14 PM   #3
parkm13
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
is that the only option?
parkm13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 09:16 PM   #4
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
I guess you could try:

Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings

You'll have to set up your WiFi again (if you use it), but it might work.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 09:20 PM   #5
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
You don't have any iOS beta software software on there do you?
__________________
Because I'm a smartass.
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 09:22 PM   #6
parkm13
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by r.j.s View Post
I guess you could try:

Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings

You'll have to set up your WiFi again (if you use it), but it might work.
i have done that but it has not worked. is there any way to restore without downloading the 800+ mb software? i updated it through the phone not my macbook so it has to re-download everything and that will take 2 hours on my slow internet

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jessica. View Post
You don't have any iOS beta software software on there do you?
i have used it in the past but not now, stock 5.1
parkm13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2012, 06:17 PM   #7
parkm13
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I did a restore and that has worked for the past week but now it's saying that again. However this time the data still works (for now)
parkm13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could not activate cellular data network Scott-n-Houston iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 54 Nov 8, 2011 12:20 AM
could not activate cellular data network... WTF frankiechan1 iPhone 6 Jul 13, 2009 09:53 AM
Could Not activate cellular data network. WTF! RKilbane20 iPhone 11 Jun 19, 2009 12:18 PM
3.0 GM on 1st Gen iPhone Error: Could not activate cellular data network badmac78 iPhone 14 Jun 12, 2009 07:43 AM
Could not activate cellular data network. mizelly41 iPhone 0 Oct 9, 2008 03:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC