Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 22, 2012, 04:14 PM   #1
ero87
macrumors 65816
 
ero87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York City
How to set up Remote app with AppleTV?

Any idea on how to do this? When I launch the remote app it just says Home Sharing and Add and iTunes library, but I just want to control the apple tv.
ero87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2012, 04:16 PM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
You need to have Home Sharing enabled before you can use it to control the ATV. Enable it in Settings.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 12:28 AM   #3
scottness
macrumors 65816
 
scottness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Room 101
I'm having a similar problem. Home sharing is enabled, their both on the same wifi network, and the Remote app still won't find the AppleTV.
__________________
Smart or stupid, rich or poor, pretty or pretty ugly, you're still gonna die one day.
scottness is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 01:53 AM   #4
mbell1975
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
If you have a new ATV (the 1080 ones thats just came out) you are SOL until they release an update. Wont work.
mbell1975 is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 02:46 PM   #5
lordofthereef
macrumors 603
 
lordofthereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbell1975 View Post
If you have a new ATV (the 1080 ones thats just came out) you are SOL until they release an update. Wont work.
Wow, that's disappointing. Granted I did buy it with intentions of loading XBMC on the thing and streaming off my HTPC, but that really is a bummer.
__________________
I use iOS and Android daily and, more recently, Windows Phone 8. If what I say upsets you, it's probably because of your brand loyalty.
lordofthereef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 04:24 PM   #6
jkeith0919
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbell1975 View Post
If you have a new ATV (the 1080 ones thats just came out) you are SOL until they release an update. Wont work.
I just bought the new ATV & the Remote app is working just fine...
jkeith0919 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 04:46 PM   #7
lordofthereef
macrumors 603
 
lordofthereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkeith0919 View Post
I just bought the new ATV & the Remote app is working just fine...
Not working for me.

Admittedly I didn't care much to troubleshoot. Basically waiting for jailbreak. Watching a bit of netflix here and there too.
__________________
I use iOS and Android daily and, more recently, Windows Phone 8. If what I say upsets you, it's probably because of your brand loyalty.
lordofthereef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 04:52 PM   #8
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4S)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbell1975
If you have a new ATV (the 1080 ones thats just came out) you are SOL until they release an update. Wont work.
I had no problem setting up my ATV3 with my existing network. Remote.app works just fine with it and I still have my ATV2 running in the bedroom as well.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 05:01 PM   #9
chrisu91
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbell1975 View Post
If you have a new ATV (the 1080 ones thats just came out) you are SOL until they release an update. Wont work.
Works perfectly fine on my 4S and 3rd gen iPad with my new Apple TV.
chrisu91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 05:14 PM   #10
lordofthereef
macrumors 603
 
lordofthereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Seems like some people have issues while others don't?
__________________
I use iOS and Android daily and, more recently, Windows Phone 8. If what I say upsets you, it's probably because of your brand loyalty.
lordofthereef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 06:58 PM   #11
omyard
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbell1975 View Post
If you have a new ATV (the 1080 ones thats just came out) you are SOL until they release an update. Wont work.
Works fine for me on my iPad 2 and iPad 3 and I have 2 new AppleTVs in my home.
omyard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 07:20 PM   #12
jburns
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NC-USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkeith0919 View Post
I just bought the new ATV & the Remote app is working just fine...
Working fine here too. It's especially good for searching. Instead of that horrible interface in ATV I just dictate what I want to search for.
jburns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 02:02 AM   #13
mbell1975
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisu91 View Post
Works perfectly fine on my 4S and 3rd gen iPad with my new Apple TV.
Are you on 5.1? Doesn't work on my iPad or 4s and a ton of others can't get it working either. There is no ATV option, just home sharing
mbell1975 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 11:52 AM   #14
jkeith0919
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbell1975 View Post
Are you on 5.1? Doesn't work on my iPad or 4s and a ton of others can't get it working either. There is no ATV option, just home sharing
I'm on 5.1 & the remote app is working on my iPhone 4 & iPad 2. There is no ATV option for me either, just had to enable home sharing on all devices & I believe in iTunes.
jkeith0919 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 12:11 PM   #15
mbell1975
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkeith0919 View Post
I'm on 5.1 & the remote app is working on my iPhone 4 & iPad 2. There is no ATV option for me either, just had to enable home sharing on all devices & I believe in iTunes.
So once you enable home sharing on all devices you can control your ATV? This makes no sense to me. My ATV is hooked up to my TV, not my computer.
mbell1975 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 01:45 PM   #16
jkeith0919
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbell1975 View Post
So once you enable home sharing on all devices you can control your ATV? This makes no sense to me. My ATV is hooked up to my TV, not my computer.
But your iPhone/iPad is not hooked up to your TV. If you want the app to work, you have to enable home sharing on your account & then on your devices.
jkeith0919 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 03:12 PM   #17
pilot1226
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Exclamation

I just got my new Apple TV today. It seems to be working okay. I connected it right out the box to the TV, enable home sharing, downloaded the remote app, and everything is working fine. In fact, I'm typing this while airplay mirrored to my TV.

My phone is a 4S running OS 5.1. my Windows PC is running the latest iTunes, and the Apple TV is running whatever it is out-of-the-box.
__________________
-- Pilot
iPad 3 (April '12) 16 GB Wifi (Black), Sprint iPhone 5S 16 GB (Space Gray) [Spigen Neo Hybrid (Black)], AppleTV 3
pilot1226 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 04:08 PM   #18
mbell1975
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Eh, finally got it.

Last edited by mbell1975; Mar 26, 2012 at 04:16 PM.
mbell1975 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 06:48 PM   #19
chrisu91
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbell1975 View Post
Are you on 5.1? Doesn't work on my iPad or 4s and a ton of others can't get it working either. There is no ATV option, just home sharing
Yes I'm on 5.1. I enabled home sharing on all my devices, which is likely how I got it to work. It was my first time setting up Apple TV.
chrisu91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AppleTV-Like Universal Remote Control XmasRights Apple TV and Home Theater 10 May 21, 2014 11:02 PM
Remote App not working iPhone 5S. 3GS Perfect! AppleTV 1st Gen covertsurfer iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Oct 13, 2013 10:54 AM
Remote app only detecting one of my AppleTV's brettO5 Apple TV and Home Theater 9 Jun 14, 2013 12:18 AM
Resolved: Simplest way to set up Remote Desktop jackotack OS X 4 Mar 7, 2013 08:37 PM
using the apple remote that came with appletv v4 tbluhp MacBook Pro 4 Jul 4, 2012 02:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC