Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 25, 2012, 02:36 AM   #1
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Considering adding an SSD - how to I migrate over my files

So, right now I've got a 1TB hard drive, with about 700GB used. I'd like to pick up an SSD, probably a 60GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G.

Obviously, 700GB of data won't fit on this tiny SSD, so I'm going to have the base system on it and then all my files on the 1TB hard drive. I've already got all my photos and movies and iTunes library saved in a folder located at / because I've got Filevault running and didn't want that stuff encrypted.

I also don't want to go through the hassle of manually reinstalling and updatng the system and so on, if I can avoid it.

So how do I move my data over? Can I install the hard drive and SSD, then boot from a USB of another Leopard installation, and just copy over the system files (e.g. /Applications, /System, /Library, /Users, /Developer, and the invisible UNIX files located at /, and have the system boot up fine? Combined, that'll take up about 30GB which is fine, it's my big folder of stuff located at / that currently takes up the other 670GB.

Thanks for any help
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro - 2.4GHz quad - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1024MB - 1TB - 10.9.4
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 08:45 AM   #2
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
you can use carbon copy cloner, and select the folder you don't want.
Personally I would install the system,update it and import the stuff through migration assistant, but if you don't want to, just use carbon copy cloner.
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 08:50 AM   #3
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
You're running 10.5 so just use Time Machine as it's already right there.

1. Do a current Time Machine backup

2. Boot from the 10.5 install disk

3. Once at the first install screen go up to the utilities menu and select "Restore from Time Machine".

Your files, user account and all your settings/preferences and even your desktop pic will all be restored perfectly on the new SSD.

You will need to exclude all the things you don't want on the SSD and that obviously won't fit in the TM preferences. Click options then the plus sign to add excluded items.

I would even keep 10.5 on the 1TB as it gives you another healthy boot drive if anything ever goes wrong with the SSD.

Last edited by zen.state; Mar 25, 2012 at 09:12 AM. Reason: adding excluding data info
zen.state is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 09:24 AM   #4
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Your all grown up now and you can do what ever you want but..

The people that have the most problems with the SSD particularly sand force SSD did exactly what you talking about..

I have issues with the Vertex 2 in this computer about 2 years ago, I called OCZ and the first question was "Did you do a fresh install or a clone" I had cloned..fresh install and everything was happy..

Put a fresh install on there and use your old Home folder on the TB drive and forget about it..if you need you can copy some preference folders over..
GermanyChris is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 09:29 AM   #5
Jethryn Freyman
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen.state View Post
You're running 10.5 so just use Time Machine as it's already right there.

1. Do a current Time Machine backup

2. Boot from the 10.5 install disk

3. Once at the first install screen go up to the utilities menu and select "Restore from Time Machine".

Your files, user account and all your settings/preferences and even your desktop pic will all be restored perfectly on the new SSD.

You will need to exclude all the things you don't want on the SSD and that obviously won't fit in the TM preferences. Click options then the plus sign to add excluded items.

I would even keep 10.5 on the 1TB as it gives you another healthy boot drive if anything ever goes wrong with the SSD.
LOL.

Thanks. The Time Machine + excluding idea is so simple yet never crossed my mind. I'm practically kicking myself now for not see it... and yes keeping the 1TB drive as bootable seems like a good idea too.
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro - 2.4GHz quad - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1024MB - 1TB - 10.9.4
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Migrate oMP Boot Camp HD to New SSD? bomberaia Mac Pro 1 Mar 7, 2014 06:28 AM
MBA to be replaced: how to migrate SSD data? Enrico MacBook Air 5 Sep 20, 2013 09:47 AM
Can I still migrate files from old MBP to new one after few months of use? hajime Mac Basics and Help 2 Apr 29, 2013 08:55 PM
How to migrate files to new iMac most efficiently mackingtosh iMac 21 Dec 4, 2012 01:54 PM
How to migrate to new SSD? unita_logica Mac Basics and Help 1 Aug 17, 2012 02:15 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC