Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 7, 2012, 12:49 PM   #251
URFloorMatt
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Washington, D.C.
Well, this thread is pretty eye opening. I'm glad I don't have any of the issues described here because the Apple TV has become my go-to for Netflix streaming.

The interface is better than Xbox or my Blu Ray, and unlike my Xbox, the device is silent. Picture quality is top notch. My wifi setup is using a FiOS router.
__________________
iPhone 5 64 GB (VZ) | MacBook Pro 15" (Retina) | Apple TV (3rd gen) | LED Cinema Display 27" | B&W MM-1
URFloorMatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2012, 12:57 PM   #252
metaphored
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Just adding my contribution again, I have both ATV2 and PS3 wired through a gigabit switch directly to a Time Capsule - so I would not bother trying changing routers...

Also tried using wireless through an airport express connected to the time capsule, wirelessly connecting directly to the time capsule...

In all situations, PS3 is EXTREMELY better at netflix, with no chance for comparison. Already gave up a long time ago on ATV2 for netflix, it is really broken - my brother ATV2, in a different setup, shows the same problem, as well as my mother's ATV3.

All of this in 20mbps connections in different points of the city. That is why I am amazed at how many people keep getting full HD like quality in their Apple TVs - maybe the three I have available for testing are all from a wrong batch hehe

PS: I would REALLY like to use Netflix on ATV - less power, less noise, better interface - if anyone may have a suggestion, I would be glad to try it :-)

Last edited by metaphored; Aug 7, 2012 at 12:58 PM. Reason: P.S. added
metaphored is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 07:09 AM   #253
Frederico Luna
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Unhappy Apple TV + Netflix (Brazil)

Apparently, this problem is worldwide. I'm currently using my Apple TV 2 with Netflix in Brazil. I started using the service about a month ago and everything was running smoothly, but last sunday the ATV started to pause the movie a lot of times to buffer.

At the same time, I checked my ISP on a speed test website and got 35mbps.

Yesterday I was having the same problem and switched my streaming to the PS3. The movie played just fine.

I feel really sad, since it looks like there is no solution.
Frederico Luna is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 08:49 AM   #254
emieczko
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frederico Luna View Post
Apparently, this problem is worldwide. I'm currently using my Apple TV 2 with Netflix in Brazil. I started using the service about a month ago and everything was running smoothly, but last sunday the ATV started to pause the movie a lot of times to buffer.

At the same time, I checked my ISP on a speed test website and got 35mbps.

Yesterday I was having the same problem and switched my streaming to the PS3. The movie played just fine.

I feel really sad, since it looks like there is no solution.

Wow, this thread really makes me wonder what's going on.

I'm on the opposite end of the spectrum. My family watches a couple of hours of streaming Netflix content a day without so much as a hiccup. We have one TV upstairs running an ATV2 that's on a WiFi connection and a 2nd TV downstairs with an ATV3 hardwired. Both stream flawlessly.

I changed to the ATV from a PS3 specifically because the streaming was so much better and the "user experience" was incomparable. My wife would never put up with the PS3's interface, but she and my 4yo daughter use the ATV's w/o complaint.
emieczko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 09:40 PM   #255
actripxl
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Send a message via AIM to actripxl Send a message via MSN to actripxl Send a message via Yahoo to actripxl
I thought it was just me but Netflix looks much better on my PS3 than on my ATV, then again at this point I don't care since I'm just ripping my Blu Rays and integration with iTunes is awesome.
__________________
Game Over Man, Game Over
actripxl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 10:57 PM   #256
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
I tried that one week trial of Hulu Plus and noticed issues with it as well. Seems streaming in general is hit and miss for me on the ATV 3. It'll run ok for a while, then rebuffer and go low-res.
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 01:05 PM   #257
eNcrypTioN
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Mine looks great with Netflix! I'm using a 2012 51" Samsung Plasma 1080 and the atv3. Must be your Internet connection or your setup.
eNcrypTioN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 08:11 PM   #258
karter16
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
buffering issue - possible fix.

Hi all,

For what it's worth, my parents have been experiencing many issues with netflix frequently pausing and buffering video on their ATV3, even though the internet connection has plenty of headroom (confirmed with network monitoring).

I haven't experience any issues on my ATV3 so got to work examining differences.

After some investigation it transpires that the buffering issue (at least in our case) was resolved by restoring the standard screensaver (national geo), rather than photos via home sharing, and then rebooting the ATV.

I surmise that for some reason the caching logic in the ATV prioritises images for the screensaver (something that can be confirmed in that the screensaver still displays, even when the network source of the images is offline). I'd guess that if you have enough images in your screensaver it starts to impact the available cache for applications like netflix.

It might not solve everyone's problems, but I definitely think it might be at least worth looking at what might be chewing up cache.

Cheers,

Matt
karter16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 08:53 PM   #259
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Good job! Trying it out now, so far so good.

I'd like to know if others having the issue had changed the screen saver? I had mine set to my photo stream.
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2012, 05:29 AM   #260
WilliamLondon
macrumors 68000
 
WilliamLondon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tawmus View Post
Hm. Maybe OpenDNS?

208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220
I found OpenDNS to be so much slower, so I switched back to my ISP's DNS servers.
WilliamLondon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2012, 03:17 PM   #261
karter16
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geckotek View Post
Good job! Trying it out now, so far so good.

I'd like to know if others having the issue had changed the screen saver? I had mine set to my photo stream.

Any luck Geckotek - did it seem to help at all?
karter16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2012, 03:37 PM   #262
melbri
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Netflix File Quality

Haven't read thru all the posts, so forgive me if it was mentioned.

Some service providers (I'm in Canada) limit your download GB's per month, so Netflix set up 3 different file qualities so that people could watch as much as they want and not be charged for "extra" GB's of data. You need to go into your Netflix account on-line and see where you are at; can;'t remember the settings, but there are three, choose the best one and then try again. It may take some time to kick in or could start right away.

I signed up for the free first month and was surprised & disappointed about the quality. I did some digging on the internet and figured this out.

It did stream better to my iPad when I selected the 'best' option, but did not try my TV before I cancelled.

I cancelled because selection is very poor in Canada.
melbri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2012, 05:30 PM   #263
teknikal90
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill.the.Cat View Post
Netflix looks great in HD on my 56" LCoS RPTV. Cox cable internet, 25-28Mbps downstream via speedtest.net to ATV2 over hard-wired Cat6.
blah blah blah

netflix looks great on my big screen tv. using 20mbits internet, wired.
__________________
Logic Pro and Mainstage 3 User. I use iOS a lot.
teknikal90 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2012, 10:11 PM   #264
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by karter16 View Post
Any luck Geckotek - did it seem to help at all?
The first program I watched was good, but the second paused a lot. I think it may have been network congestion in the building.

Tonight I've streamed several episodes of The Peep Show without only one pause. Overall it seems to have made an improvement.
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2012, 12:48 PM   #265
kobiano
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
glad i found this post!
kobiano is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2012, 01:46 PM   #266
Ezra923
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I cant go 5 minutes of watching Breaking Bad on my jailbroken ATV2 without getting that an error has occured message!! Ahhhh! Lol alll i use it for is Breaking Bad at the moment i wish it worked. Netflix works perfect on my ipad 3 but i dont like wear ear buds in the house. This sucks and its the only apple product that is giving me issues.
Ezra923 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2012, 08:06 PM   #267
davidoloan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Had Netflix on Apple TV since it was launched in the UK. Never had a single problem streaming at highest quality.

For the last week it's fallen apart.

Resolution changing to bad.
Sound getting out of sync with pictures.
Picture getting stuck on one frame while sound continues.
Stopping and rebuffering.
Can't pause and expect it to start properly again.

Have 40mb fibre so get at least 22mb at all times.

If this continues I will cancel which will be disappointing but not putting up with it.

Anybody know why this would start?
Apple tv is up to date and no recent updates


EDIT

Phoned Netflix who seem to have good customer service which surprised me.

They said there is a widespread problem with BT ISP. They are attempting to resolve it with BT. Doesn't surprise me too much, though I didn't suspect BT as everything else works ok. Hope this is not a deliberate problem by BT. Have never had an ISP deliver even remotely close to what they advertise, which is not what they contract if you read the fine print i.e "you are entitled to a reasonable expection of a broadband service" rather than xx mb/s. They use OFCOMs definition of broadband which used to be something like 1 mb/s.

Last edited by davidoloan; Sep 3, 2012 at 08:40 PM.
davidoloan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2012, 08:12 PM   #268
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Mine is freezing up a lot tonight. Video stalling and rebuffering. Not sure if it's network or what.

Switching to Xbox. I'll let you know if it continues.

Nvm - gotta renew XBL. grrrrrr. Anybody got any coupons to share?
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr

Last edited by Geckotek; Sep 3, 2012 at 09:18 PM.
Geckotek is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2012, 09:14 PM   #269
Irishman
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ezra923 View Post
I cant go 5 minutes of watching Breaking Bad on my jailbroken ATV2 without getting that an error has occured message!! Ahhhh! Lol alll i use it for is Breaking Bad at the moment i wish it worked. Netflix works perfect on my ipad 3 but i dont like wear ear buds in the house. This sucks and its the only apple product that is giving me issues.
If you want reliability from your Apple devices, stop jailbreaking them.
Irishman is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2012, 10:23 PM   #270
98EXL
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: not on the moon
I always, always, always blame comcast when it looks like crap because it is 99.5% of the time
__________________
Late 2013 15" rMBP 2.0 GHz i7, 8 GB RAM, 256 flash
Late 2012 Mac Mini 2.6 GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB + 240 GB SSD's
Airport Extreme (Tower of Doom)
too many iOS devices, more than one man should own
98EXL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2012, 04:50 PM   #271
RightToDream
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
NetFlix uses adaptive streaming, it can vary the data rate of the stream according to your Internet connection speed. If you have a slow Internet connection speed this will result in a lower quality movie.
RightToDream is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2012, 06:29 PM   #272
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Did you read ANY of the posts in this thread?
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2012, 06:06 PM   #273
slothrob
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I saw what i think people are talking about here for the first time, this weekend. When I rewound then hit play, the show I was watching reverted to SD for about 15 seconds. It then went back to HD, though.
slothrob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 04:12 AM   #274
Demerzel
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I dont get why the user interface is so poor compared to ps3..

-too many steps
-its fracking SLOW.. "acessing netflix" between menu pages.
-dosent return me to episode list after ep finshed
-inconsistent episode marking after watching an episode and pressing back to episode list.

ps3 netflix is ****ing tits
Demerzel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:47 AM   #275
Jenni8
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demerzel View Post
I dont get why the user interface is so poor compared to ps3..

-too many steps
-its fracking SLOW.. "acessing netflix" between menu pages.
-dosent return me to episode list after ep finshed
-inconsistent episode marking after watching an episode and pressing back to episode list.

ps3 netflix is ****ing tits
I didn't like it at first either. It actually like it better now than PS3 as the playback is far better and more consistent for me. (Although the rewinding and fast forwarding sucks.) I found out that at the full list of episodes, you can just press play instead of hitting enter then play. In doing this, it will automatically go to the next episode in the list after watching the episode. Hope this tip helps as much as it did for me.
Jenni8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About to give up on ATV Netflix streaming nconnella Apple TV and Home Theater 22 Jan 3, 2014 01:32 PM
New Netflix Interface Rollout - Will ATV get this smp99 Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Nov 15, 2013 12:10 PM
Netflix on ATV - Billing questions. aquaboy Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Mar 17, 2013 02:33 PM
Apple TV: ATV Jailbreak & Netflix atvtester Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Dec 8, 2012 07:02 PM
ATV Netflix and Hulu Plus undies1993 Apple TV and Home Theater 12 Jul 31, 2012 09:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC