Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 30, 2012, 01:08 AM   #1
prism
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Does wifi only iPad 3 have a gps chip?

Clearly no aGPS according to apple specs but I get the impression it uses something beyond just wifi geolocation because when I call up maps, it's almost instantaneous, precise and the small gps logo appears on the top right!
The iPad 2 was much slower and imprecise in comparison, what gives?
__________________
MBP13" i5
prism is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 01:58 AM   #2
homeboy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London
If you have location service enabled, especially features like "find my iPad" our location has already been recorded before you open the maps app.
homeboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 02:55 AM   #3
admanimal
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by prism View Post
Clearly no aGPS according to apple specs but I get the impression it uses something beyond just wifi geolocation because when I call up maps, it's almost instantaneous, precise and the small gps logo appears on the top right!
The iPad 2 was much slower and imprecise in comparison, what gives?
The icon is for location services, not GPS specifically.
admanimal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 04:03 AM   #4
tmoerel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by prism View Post
Clearly no aGPS according to apple specs but I get the impression it uses something beyond just wifi geolocation because when I call up maps, it's almost instantaneous, precise and the small gps logo appears on the top right!
The iPad 2 was much slower and imprecise in comparison, what gives?
No it doesn't have a GPS. But using wifi access point triangulation it sort of can give a position.
tmoerel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 02:35 PM   #5
urherenow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Hold up. How exactly does using wifi work? I purchased my new iPad when I was in Guam, and turned off location services after playing with the map a bit. Now, I'm in my home in Japan, with a U.S. IP address (via a VPN service my router sends everything through) but when I just turned on location services and opened the map, it showed me EXACTLY where I am in less than3 seconds!

My iPad is the latest model, 64GB wifi only.
urherenow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 02:50 PM   #6
iAppl3Fan
macrumors 6502a
 
iAppl3Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by urherenow View Post
Hold up. How exactly does using wifi work? I purchased my new iPad when I was in Guam, and turned off location services after playing with the map a bit. Now, I'm in my home in Japan, with a U.S. IP address (via a VPN service my router sends everything through) but when I just turned on location services and opened the map, it showed me EXACTLY where I am in less than3 seconds!

My iPad is the latest model, 64GB wifi only.
Your IP is still JPN that's why you're iPad picked up your location as JPN. The VPN is just a secure tunnel for you to do work remotely to access corporate resources.
__________________
 13" MacBook Air (Mid 2013) + Dual 27" Thunderbolt Display
 15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display (Mid 2012) + 24" LED Cinema Display
 TV |  Time Capsule |  iPod |  iPhone |  iPad Air/mini
iAppl3Fan is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 02:51 PM   #7
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
The WiFi only iPads use location services based on IP address. The same thing works when using Google maps on your PC or Mac browser.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 02:53 PM   #8
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by urherenow View Post
when I just turned on location services and opened the map, it showed me EXACTLY where I am in less than3 seconds!

My iPad is the latest model, 64GB wifi only.
Given you only have the WiFi iPad that does not have GPS and is only using cellular tower and WiFi triangulation it is not showing you exactly where you are. GPS is much more accurate than cellular or WiFi triangulation and would be considered exact when compared to them. Consumer GPS is usually considered accurate to within 10-15 meters.
brand is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 10:05 PM   #9
urherenow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
No, my ip address is a US IP address, just like I said. ABC, CW, Netflix, you name it, have no problem working for me.

This is wifi only, again, so there's no way cellular triangulation has anything to do with it.

Last edited by urherenow; Apr 23, 2012 at 10:16 PM.
urherenow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 10:57 PM   #10
jimHdk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
On a WiFi-only iPad location services works by accessing a database of router physical locations. This database is accessed by using the MAC address of the router. Note that you do not actually have to be connected to a router for this to work.

This has nothing to do with the IP address that you are using.
jimHdk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 07:40 AM   #11
Ultrafied
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Riverside, CA
Nmea?

Will the WiFi only iPad be able to use the GPS capability (streaming NMEA) of the Novatel MiFi 4260L? If so, will the normal GPS applications like Garmin or CoPilot work with it or would they have to be re-written to accept the NMEA data stream?
__________________
Mike
iPhone 5S . | ... iMac
iPhone 4S . | ... MacBook Pro
iPhone 4 ... | ... iPad (1st Gen)
Ultrafied is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 08:28 AM   #12
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
As soon as it's jailbroken, you'll be able to install the GPS hack on it to connect to external GPS receivers over BT. It works flawlessly on my iDevices.
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 08:42 AM   #13
phpmaven
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Clemente, CA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martha71 View Post
I get the impression it uses something beyond just wifi geolocation because when I call up maps, it's almost instantaneous, Image
Well, you might havebthat impression, but nonetheless, it does not have any kind of GPS chip, period. This topic has been done to death.
phpmaven is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC