Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 1, 2012, 09:21 AM   #1
ccross13126
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
G4 RAM upgrade

Will any PC133 Low Density Non-ECC RAM work in my G4?
ccross13126 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 09:32 AM   #2
drewsof07
macrumors 68000
 
drewsof07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ohio
Not just any. My buddy had a G4 and bought some cheap ram off e*bay that worked in an old PC but was not compatible with his Powermac. Best to check that it is Mac compatible.
drewsof07 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 09:46 AM   #3
ccross13126
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewsof07 View Post
Not just any. My buddy had a G4 and bought some cheap ram off e*bay that worked in an old PC but was not compatible with his Powermac. Best to check that it is Mac compatible.
I have a box of Kingston PC133, was hoping something in there was compatible
ccross13126 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 09:47 AM   #4
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Only thing you can do is put in there and try booting it. If it works it is good, if not then it is not.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 10:00 AM   #5
ccross13126
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
Only thing you can do is put in there and try booting it. If it works it is good, if not then it is not.

It wont harm the system if its in compatible? Dont wanna destroy my $20 investment
ccross13126 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 10:01 AM   #6
adcx64
macrumors 65816
 
adcx64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cudi Zone
Agreed with Nameci. You can't hurt the computer with this method.
__________________
iPhone 5S, iOS 7, Verizon LTE
Xbox One (Titanfall Alpha!)
Competitive Call of Duty
adcx64 is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 10:03 AM   #7
ccross13126
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by adcx64 View Post
Agreed with Nameci. You can't hurt the computer with this method.
Great! I wanna get up to at least a gig or more. After that, I'll tackle the vid card and save the CPU upgrade for last
ccross13126 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 10:27 AM   #8
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Please take note that these machines are very picky about RAM. Low density, PC-100/133 SDRAM. I have the powermac G4 that precedes yours, the "Yikes" which is a PCI graphics.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 10:31 AM   #9
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
Please take note that these machines are very picky about RAM. Low density, PC-100/133 SDRAM. I have the powermac G4 that precedes yours, the "Yikes" which is a PCI graphics.
The B&W G3 and Yikes G4 (same logic board) are far more picky about RAM than the AGP towers. The memory controllers from the Sawtooth on are far more compatible with different timings.
zen.state is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 10:49 AM   #10
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Thanks for the info Zen.

Not to hijack the thread, I have those two, the B&W G3 and Yikes. Both are still working, both running OS 9.2.2. And they are picky with RAM.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 12:14 PM   #11
ccross13126
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
I found this while researching for the correct memory:

http://ask.metafilter.com/30018/Can-...-for-my-Mac-G4

According to them it shouldnt be that hard BUT, that was written in 2006 I believe

I have plenty of RAM to try. There should be something in there that will work. If not, PC100/133 is pretty cheap.
ccross13126 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 12:31 PM   #12
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
I believe for PC-133 it should be CL3 3-2-2 or PC-100 CL2 2-2-2...
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 12:36 PM   #13
ccross13126
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
I believe for PC-133 it should be CL3 3-2-2 or PC-100 CL2 2-2-2...
Tossed 4 Kingston 512mb sticks in and it booted right up. Reading 2GB of Memory. I was planning on at least half a day to get even 512mb total working
ccross13126 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 12:48 PM   #14
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Congratulations! Now you are on the road to become a weekend tinkerer, or you are already?
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 12:49 PM   #15
ccross13126
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
Congratulations! Now you are on the road to become a weekend tinkerer, or you are already?
Mostly a PC tinkerer BUT, I'm broadening my horizons
ccross13126 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 12:50 PM   #16
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Macs are Personal Computers. They use a lot of the same things in the same ways.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 12:52 PM   #17
ccross13126
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Macs are Personal Computers. They use a lot of the same things in the same ways.
They just cost 10x more
ccross13126 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 12:55 PM   #18
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccross13126 View Post
They just cost 10x more
Not always. In most cases when pricing out a Dell or HP with the same specs, Macs are usually cheaper.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 12:56 PM   #19
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccross13126 View Post
They just cost 10x more
Ah that would be a another discussion thread. Anyway, it is just a pity the machine is limited to 2GB max on the memory because of the firmware. I have seen 1GB sticks of PC-100 SDRAM. If it has 4 slots, 4 x 1GB sticks can be installed, would it still be read as 2GB or the mem controller would not read all?
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 12:59 PM   #20
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
Ah that would be a another discussion thread. Anyway, it is just a pity the machine is limited to 2GB max on the memory because of the firmware. I have seen 1GB sticks of PC-100 SDRAM. If it has 4 slots, 4 x 1GB sticks can be installed, would it still be read as 2GB or the mem controller would not read all?
Aren't the 1Gb PC100/PC133 ECC or high density ram?
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2012, 01:05 PM   #21
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
I have checked some from ebay and it doesn't state that it is of low density, but they are ECC's and server grade.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird freezing and display issues after ram upgrade and OS X upgrade. MobsterMac MacBook Pro 5 Jan 27, 2013 08:17 AM
High page outs after ram upgrade and Mtn lion upgrade Squiggles13 MacBook Pro 1 Dec 7, 2012 08:57 PM
13" MBP RAM upgrade = HD3000 VRAM upgrade? Doggman MacBook Pro 5 Aug 17, 2012 03:47 AM
Low on RAM - Should I go for SSD or RAM upgrade ? andy8 MacBook Pro 16 Aug 2, 2012 02:19 PM
RAM upgrade, now beeping even with old RAM Holgal iMac 4 Jun 29, 2012 10:10 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC