Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 2, 2012, 04:21 AM   #1
jjbrrr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
call of duty lagg low fps

Dear readers,

I bought a new macbook pro 15' previous week. 2.2 ghz quad core radeon 6750.

First of all, it already cost me a lot of time because i wanted to play cod1.
First i installed windows 7 with bootcamp but when i tried to play cod it gave me errors.

So then i decided to install Snow leopard and run the game on that.
Well that worked, but now when I'm playing cod1.

I get lagg and bad fps. around 60 fps which is in cod mp bad.
with these specs of the laptop it should easily reach 125 constant.
All settings are right, have played this game for ages.

Thank you in advance
jjbrrr is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 05:03 AM   #2
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
I don't know if you are trolling or not, but a normal LCD screen cannot display more than 60 fps (due to 60hz refresh rate)
That's why most games now are v-synced
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro i7-4790k, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.4
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 06:16 AM   #3
jjbrrr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
first of all, thank you for your response.
However i am not trolling at all.
its quite normal to get fps like 300. On new systems you even should be able to get more then 600 fps.

Even when a screen is 60hz its able to show more fps in call of duty1.
So hope anyone is able to help.
jjbrrr is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 06:25 AM   #4
swarleystinson
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
1st - Are you talking about the actual CoD 1? Or do you mean CoD Modern Warfare 1?
2nd - You cannot notice a difference >60 fps unless you had a 120 Hz monitor (which you don't).
3rd - Mac games are usually poorly optimized. Run in Windows proper and make sure you have all the latest drivers updated.
swarleystinson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 06:55 AM   #5
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjbrrr View Post
first of all, thank you for your response.
However i am not trolling at all.
its quite normal to get fps like 300. On new systems you even should be able to get more then 600 fps.

Even when a screen is 60hz its able to show more fps in call of duty1.
So hope anyone is able to help.
The only thing you do when passing 60 fps on a 60hz screen is making the machine heat up.

Also did you have a new MBP? It should not run SL, but Lion
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro i7-4790k, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.4
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 07:03 AM   #6
jjbrrr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by swarleystinson View Post
1st - Are you talking about the actual CoD 1? Or do you mean CoD Modern Warfare 1?
2nd - You cannot notice a difference >60 fps unless you had a 120 Hz monitor (which you don't).
3rd - Mac games are usually poorly optimized. Run in Windows proper and make sure you have all the latest drivers updated.
I'm running call of duty 1, first game.
Secondly i can, if i didn't have lagg because of the fps it wouldn't matter but the thing is the game is lagging which is not possible with this hardware in my opinion.

Well the new drivers of ati give new problems. I installed older ones but it didn't help because i couldn't delete the drivers which are installed by bootcamp.

I'm currently running lion and snow leopard. Second one only for cod.
jjbrrr is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 03:38 PM   #7
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
If I'm not mistaken CoD is a PPC app, PPC was the old mac system and PPC performance is not good on new macs.

There is however a Unversal Binary patch for it, which should make it a lot faster:
http://www.insidemacgames.com/forum/...howtopic=37332
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro i7-4790k, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.4
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 03:51 PM   #8
marzer
macrumors 65816
 
marzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Well something is definitely wrong. I used to play COD1 on a 2Ghz G5 with no lag whatsoever and high video settings.

As pointed out, if you are running in Mac OS X, you should try the universal patch. If on native Windows, you may need to ensure you load the boot camp drivers, else you're running in legacy VGA (SVGA?) compatibility mode, i.e. no video hardware acceleration.
marzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 04:53 PM   #9
jjbrrr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by marzer View Post
Well something is definitely wrong. I used to play COD1 on a 2Ghz G5 with no lag whatsoever and high video settings.

As pointed out, if you are running in Mac OS X, you should try the universal patch. If on native Windows, you may need to ensure you load the boot camp drivers, else you're running in legacy VGA (SVGA?) compatibility mode, i.e. no video hardware acceleration.
hmm maybe that gave me those errors in win7? how can i make sure the game runs by bootcamp drivers?
jjbrrr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 09:51 PM   #10
marzer
macrumors 65816
 
marzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjbrrr View Post
hmm maybe that gave me those errors in win7? how can i make sure the game runs by bootcamp drivers?
Load the drivers from the OS X install disks, or download the lastest boot camp drivers from Apple.
marzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 12:29 PM   #11
50548
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Currently in Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by cluthz View Post
If I'm not mistaken CoD is a PPC app, PPC was the old mac system and PPC performance is not good on new macs.

There is however a Unversal Binary patch for it, which should make it a lot faster:
http://www.insidemacgames.com/forum/...howtopic=37332
For those with Rosetta installed (Snow Leopard and under), I have already provided, in other threads, the most effective workaround for laggy performance in CoD 2. Just do a Get Info on the app file and tick the "Open with Rosetta" option.

You will see that GFX performance is greatly improved, the reason being: Aspyr did this port a long time ago and decided not to ensure that the application was compatible with newer GPUs.

The use of Rosetta somehow minimizes that limitation and provides a better experience for users not on Lion.
50548 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 03:39 PM   #12
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
You guys talking about the Mac App Store version?
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2013, 04:20 PM   #13
MagnusVonMagnum
macrumors 68040
 
MagnusVonMagnum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I don't think they are since it's been updated for Intel and modern GPUs. I get a perfectly smooth frame rate with Call of Duty 2 on native resolution and high settings here (1650x1050 resolution on my 22" widescreen monitor) with my 2012 Mac Mini Quad i7 Server edition. I do get some odd pause/jump/stutter effect every few minutes when something new loads, though and I'm not sure if that's the game, an OSX ML issue or my RAID0 boot drive setup (I'm planning on trying it from the bootable external backup and see if that makes any difference).

Edit:

I do see the same pauses with the external drive, but they do appear shorter. I may not have even noticed them had I not been looking for them. I do think the RAID0 setup is causing some kind of longer pause, despite it getting much faster load and copy times overall.
__________________
Mac Mini Server 2012 (2.3GHz Quad i7, 8GB, 2x1TB RAID 0) ; External 12x Memorex Blu-Ray USB3, External WD 3x3TB,1x2TB HD USB3)
15" Matte MBP 2.4GHz, 4GB/500GB, NVidia 8600M GT; 3 ATV; 2 iPod Touch

Last edited by MagnusVonMagnum; May 30, 2013 at 06:11 PM.
MagnusVonMagnum is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jittery/low FPS scrolling in Safari dingdongbubble MacBook Air 2 Jun 21, 2013 09:32 PM
OS-neutral: Low FPS with Upgraded 15 MBP and Monitor kylemerosi Mac and PC Games 2 Mar 4, 2013 06:11 AM
RMBP Low FPS on games? alyshehata MacBook Pro 3 Sep 21, 2012 04:28 PM
Low FPS in DayZ leekaiwei Mac and PC Games 14 Aug 23, 2012 10:52 AM
Battlefield 3 on MacbookPro 15" : very low fps mbpmbpmbp MacBook Pro 8 Jul 29, 2012 09:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC