Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 2, 2012, 09:09 AM   #1
Towelie1288
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Question can you put apple tv to sleep from remote???

just puchased new apple tv over the weekend

can you put apple tv to sleep from remote???
if not i cant beleive this wasnt put in
i thought you would hold down the play pause button for a couple seconds but apprantly not
Towelie1288 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 09:12 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Hold the center select button down for 5 seconds and It'll go off.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 09:12 AM   #3
maturola
macrumors 68040
 
maturola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to maturola
Menu + Center Button
__________________
Sometime when I am alone I Google myself!!!
13'' Unibody MacBook / Made by , Fix by the Dev Team
LockedUSB Adapter - USB Charger Firewall and Power Optimizer
maturola is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 09:54 AM   #4
chenks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by maturola View Post
Menu + Center Button
that's incorrect.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Hold the center select button down for 5 seconds and It'll go off.
this is correct.
chenks is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 10:06 AM   #5
maturola
macrumors 68040
 
maturola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to maturola
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
that's incorrect.

----------



this is correct.
That may be the case, I had always used both, but maybe only the center button is required, It works for me, and I kind of used to it by now
__________________
Sometime when I am alone I Google myself!!!
13'' Unibody MacBook / Made by , Fix by the Dev Team
LockedUSB Adapter - USB Charger Firewall and Power Optimizer
maturola is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 10:18 AM   #6
whooleytoo
macrumors 603
 
whooleytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cork, Ireland.
Send a message via AIM to whooleytoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Towelie1288 View Post
just puchased new apple tv over the weekend

can you put apple tv to sleep from remote???
if not i cant beleive this wasnt put in
i thought you would hold down the play pause button for a couple seconds but apprantly not
Forgive me for moaning, but this is what I dislike about Apple's 'beautifully simple' remote control. A task like putting the device to sleep isn't intuitive, you either end up searching for the user-guide (if you still have it) or asking online, instead of just tapping a Power/Standby button as on any other remote.
__________________
Mac <- Macintosh <- McIntosh apples <- John McIntosh <- McIntosh surname <- "Mac an toshach" <- "Son of the Chief"
whooleytoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 10:21 AM   #7
chenks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by whooleytoo View Post
Forgive me for moaning, but this is what I dislike about Apple's 'beautifully simple' remote control. A task like putting the device to sleep isn't intuitive, you either end up searching for the user-guide (if you still have it) or asking online, instead of just tapping a Power/Standby button as on any other remote.
or here's a crazy idea... leaving it alone and letting it go to sleep automatically!
that's more intuitive than almost every other device I have that stays awake unless otherwise told to.
chenks is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 10:41 AM   #8
CocoaPuffs
macrumors 68010
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
or here's a crazy idea... leaving it alone and letting it go to sleep automatically!
that's more intuitive than almost every other device I have that stays awake unless otherwise told to.
Except that XBMC turns off auto sleep...
CocoaPuffs is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 10:46 AM   #9
imahawki
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
So the complaint is against the manufacturer but about a jail broken device???
imahawki is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 10:47 AM   #10
steve-p
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newbury, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
or here's a crazy idea... leaving it alone and letting it go to sleep automatically!
that's more intuitive than almost every other device I have that stays awake unless otherwise told to.
That's what I do. I used to turn it off with ATV1 because of the ridiculous heat, not that it made much difference, but I just don't bother with ATV2 and ATV3 since it draws so little power and goes to sleep of its own accord anyway.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by CocoaPuffs View Post
Except that XBMC turns off auto sleep...
The OP mentioned "new Apple TV" which I assume means ATV3, not jailbreakable, and therefore no XBMC.
steve-p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 10:49 AM   #11
whooleytoo
macrumors 603
 
whooleytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cork, Ireland.
Send a message via AIM to whooleytoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
or here's a crazy idea... leaving it alone and letting it go to sleep automatically!
that's more intuitive than almost every other device I have that stays awake unless otherwise told to.
Well, most devices these days have an auto-standby option. That is what I use with the ATV, (mostly because I just learned of the "hold Select for 5 seconds to sleep" option and keep forgetting it's there ). It's not just the sleep 'keystroke', it's the reset keystroke too. Over-simplification and style-over-function, IMO.
__________________
Mac <- Macintosh <- McIntosh apples <- John McIntosh <- McIntosh surname <- "Mac an toshach" <- "Son of the Chief"
whooleytoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 11:08 AM   #12
s15119
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
In settings you can determine an amount of time before it goes to sleep. It draws nearly no power. I just let it go to sleep after an hour of inactivity.
s15119 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad Mini: Is it better to power down my iPad than put it to sleep? iPodJedi iPad 37 Jan 19, 2014 09:45 AM
Apple remote and default sound after wake up from sleep hjoon Mac mini 1 May 13, 2013 03:36 AM
Apple logo on lid flickers when put to sleep... nostalg1a MacBook Air 2 Mar 25, 2013 01:43 AM
Put Apple Tv 3 to sleep with iphone remote app seniorchang Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Mar 18, 2013 06:22 PM
MBP won't wake from sleep using apple Remote and display recover from sleep in clamsh aoaaron MacBook Pro 1 Jan 10, 2013 10:33 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC