Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 24, 2012, 10:01 AM   #1
tommyprevatt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
issue connecting to tv as extra monitor

I'm trying to connect my mid 2009 Macbook Pro (5,5) to a Vizio sv370xvt 1080 TV as an extra monitor. I'm connecting it via mini-display port to vga adapter. The adapter is the official apple brand, not a generic brand.

It's connecting fine, but it's only displaying on the TV at 640x480. No matter what settings I use it will not let me change the resolution. It lists 640x480 as the only compatible resolution for the TV.

It works fine in OS X. OS X gives every possible resolution up to 1920x1080 as compatible resolutions.

Anyone else experiencing similar issues? Anyone know how to resolve it?

Thanks.
tommyprevatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 11:06 AM   #2
henryhenryhenry
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Are you using the "mirroring" or "extension"
Try go the display-->"arrangement" and change it to extension
__________________
Macbook pro 2011, iPad2, Iphone, Ipod touch...
henryhenryhenry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 01:07 PM   #3
tommyprevatt
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by henryhenryhenry View Post
Are you using the "mirroring" or "extension"
Try go the display-->"arrangement" and change it to extension
It is set up as an extension. I've tried to see if using it as a mirror changes the resolution options, but it doesn't.
tommyprevatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 01:10 PM   #4
WRP
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Boston
What's the resolution you have your input on the TV set to? The tech specs specifically list it as "Computer Support:1920 x 1080, 1360 x 768, 800 x 600, 640 x 480 via VGA/HDMI"

Sounds like your tv isn't setup properly.
WRP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 03:17 PM   #5
tommyprevatt
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by WRP View Post
What's the resolution you have your input on the TV set to? The tech specs specifically list it as "Computer Support:1920 x 1080, 1360 x 768, 800 x 600, 640 x 480 via VGA/HDMI"

Sounds like your tv isn't setup properly.
My TV is set up properly. There are no native settings on the TV to change the resolution when connected to a computer. Besides, like I said earlier, it works fine under OS X. Just not Windows.

Thanks
tommyprevatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 03:21 PM   #6
WRP
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Boston
Well you should have specified. I use the "new posts" button and didn't see which forum I was in. Maybe specify for us dummies who don't pay attention?
WRP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 08:35 AM   #7
tommyprevatt
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by WRP View Post
Well you should have specified. I use the "new posts" button and didn't see which forum I was in. Maybe specify for us dummies who don't pay attention?
Sorry, didn't mean to come off as cheeky.

I am still having this issue, if anyone has any suggestions.

Thanks.
tommyprevatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 03:26 PM   #8
tommyprevatt
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
So, I never got this fixed, but I can now do it.

I just bought an October 2011 15 inch MacBook Pro, and it works fine when connecting to my TV.

Thanks.
tommyprevatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does Mac OS say 3 users are connected to my shares? I'm the only one connected? alexreich Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 7 Oct 2, 2011 02:16 PM
MBP to tv/monitor connections - please enlighten me sagnier Mac Peripherals 10 Feb 12, 2011 02:19 PM
1080p LCD TV as XP Monitor Issue barr08 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 5 Dec 25, 2009 04:34 PM
What cord to buy if i have a black macbook and want to connect to tv and monitor cjb695 Buying Tips and Advice 1 Jan 21, 2009 06:44 PM
Looking for a LCD TV to use as a Monitor/TV ted124b Buying Tips and Advice 2 Mar 1, 2006 01:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC